Vital F1 | Rosberg reflects
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Rosberg reflects

Nico Rosberg could only wish what might have been when gearbox problems forced him to retire whilst in the lead of the British Grand Prix.

Whilst Lewis Hamilton was clearly the fastest driver around the Silverstone track, the Brit was also the fastest driver in Austria a couple of weeks ago, but despite his pace advantage it was Nico Rosberg who held on to take the victory following a poor qualifying for Hamilton.

It had appeared that history could be repeating this weekend and Rosberg was looking at extending his lead in the Formula One World Championship to 36 points.

Even if Rosberg had been unable to prevent Hamilton catching and passing him, a second place finish would have left Rosberg with a 22 point lead going into Germany.

But a retirement left the gap at just 4 points.

“It's a pity what happened today as I lost a lot of points in the Championship. We are always aiming for 100 percent reliability but unfortunately that didn't work out for me today. I had a small issue in the installation lap but the car felt great in the beginning. By lap 20, though, the gearbox started to become a serious problem and from then it got worse. I tried to get it into some safety settings, let Lewis through and just keep going until the end of the race. But there was nothing we could do so I had to stop the car. Rosberg told formula1.com.

Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Toto Wolff said: 'Lewis drove a faultless race today. He made up positions at the start and in the opening laps after the restart, then it was shaping up to be a big battle until Nico started to suffer the gearbox problems. But what I want to praise most of all is Lewis' approach today. He had a bad qualifying session but he arrived at the circuit this morning in such a positive frame of mind and determined to perform - and he did that for his home fans. It was a great performance that showed his mental strength. Nico was doing a great job leading the race today and handled his retirement like the professional he is.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday July 7 2014

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamilton’s takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1176
2. Red5 1125
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 595
7. Push The Button 512
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 217
10. VanGisbergen2013 176

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in the USA?
Hamilton - And he will be Champion 16%
Hamilton - Title race continues 21%
Vettel 21%
Verstappen 34%
Ricciardo 8%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%