Vital F1 | Ferrari's wait set to end
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ferrari's wait set to end

Ferrari's wait for a race win is almost at an end according to Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo.

It's hard to see how he has come to that conclusion as there has certainly been no evidence of that on the track from the opening two races of the season.

Fernando Alonso finished 4th in Australia and 6th in Malaysia, while team-mate Felipe Massa finished 7th in Australia and 5th in Malaysia.

Both drivers have been well off the pace in comparison to both Red Bull and McLaren, especially in qualifying.

'It is clear that we need to have a better car, because if we want to match the qualifying pace of the other competitors that is what we need,' Ferrari team principal Stefano Domenicali told Autosport Magazine after the race in Malaysia on Sunday.

'it is clear that the main thing we have to focus on is how to work better in qualifying because the gap we saw on Saturday was too big.'

In the races in Australia and Malaysia Ferrari have looked stronger than they did in Qualifying, the Ferrari appears to be easy on its tyres, which brings a good advantage and its overall race pace hasn't been too far away from McLaren and Red Bull, illustrated in Malaysia by Alonso racing Hamilton without the advantage of the DRS system working (until the moment he drove into him of course).

But despite the positives and only being two races into the new 2011 Formula One season, the pressure is already on Ferrari and team principal Stefano Domenicali, technical director Aldo Costa and assistant Pat Fry all changed their travel arrangements this week, returning back to Italy yesterday rather than flying straight to Shanghai.

Ferrari hope to speed up development on an upgrade package for the car, which could be ready in time for China and that certainly seems to have appeased Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo, who remains confident that his team will improve soon when he told the BBC: 'I am certainly not happy with how the season has started but I have extraordinary confidence in people who, in difficult times, know how to react,'

'I know they are working hard and I have complete faith in both the human and technical capacity of our people. I think the period where we can only hope for a podium at the most will end.'


So either expect to see Fernando Alonso on the top step of the podium soon or see a very unhappy Luca di Montezemolo.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday April 12 2011

Time: 9:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 24 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 24 2017)

Expanded calendar for Formula 2 and GP3 (Friday November 24 2017)

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1129
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 513
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 23%
Hamilton 42%
Verstappen 14%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 7%
Someone else 7%