Vital F1 | Toro Rosso set for Renault rebrand?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Toro Rosso set for Renault rebrand?

Could Red Bull Racing's sister team Toro Rosso drop their Red Bull branding in favour of Renault livery?

French manufacturer Renault appear to be at a crossroads.

Renault have numerous Formula One titles to their name, they've won both the drivers and constructors championships as an engine supplier for Williams, Benetton and Red Bull Racing in the past and have also won both titles twice as a manufacturer in their own right.

Overall they have powered 11 Formula One World Champions to the title and taken 12 constructors titles, with over 160 Grand Prix wins making them one of the most successful engine suppliers in the history of Formula One.

But despite being just one year removed from one of their most dominant periods through their partnership with Red Bull Racing, Renault now find themselves under immense pressure.

Since the introduction of the new era of Formula One, with the aspirated v8 engines dumped in favour of v6 turbo-hybrid power Renault have been left behind by rivals Mercedes and Ferrari.

This despite being heavily involved in the talks regarding the new engine regulations from their inception and playing a major role in the development of the new Formula One regulations.

Red Bull powered by Renault won three Grand Prix with Daniel Ricciardo in 2014, but only once Mercedes had suffered problems.

In 2015 they appear to be even further adrift much to the frustration of Red Bull Racing, who have fired numerous criticisms at their French partners.

This criticism has left Renault contemplating their future in Formula One, a move which would leave Red Bull Racing and sister team Toro Rosso in limbo as neither Mercedes or Ferrari are likely to be keen to supply them with engines.

'We are looking at a lot of options, including getting out of Formula 1 if it's bad for Renault's reputation,' Managing Director of Renault Sport F1 Cyril Abiteboul said prior to the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Another option is the polar opposite, instead of pulling out of F1, Renault could invest more by purchasing a team, potentially Toro Rosso which appeared to be welcomed by Toro Rosso's team principal Franz Tost: 'To be owned by a manufacturer would be exactly the step forward which the team needs,' he said whilst sitting next to Abiteboul in Malaysia.

That move would bring even further problems for Red Bull Racing as they, like McLaren did whilst using Mercedes engines would find themselves as a customer team and potentially at a disadvantage to their once smaller sister team.

In fact Red Bull Racing team principal Christian Horner suggested that such a move would ultimately force Red Bull out of Formula One altogether.

Red Bull consultant Helmut Marko however has another idea.

He has suggested that Toro Rosso rebrand their team to Renault livery, giving Renault greater visibility within the sport but without selling the team out.

'Renault are spending a lot of money on this power unit not as much as Mercedes but a significant amount and are confronted with the same issues that we (Red Bull) have: their F1 involvement has to pay off,' Marko told Formula1.com.

'Add to that that Renault feels under-represented on the marketing side so there are considerations to either buy Toro Rosso or more likely give them a yellow livery to have a better marketing platform.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday April 3 2015

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 29%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 19%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%