Vital F1 | Alonso & Button happy with McLaren progress
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Alonso & Button happy with McLaren progress

Between them they have won three Formula One World Championships and 47 Grand Prix.

The partnership of Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button is one of the most experienced on the grid and arguably the strongest pairing in Formula One.

Both have bought into the project at McLaren. After dropping the dominant engine power of Mercedes, McLaren teamed back up with Honda.

McLaren Honda is a partnership engrained in the history of Formula One and together again McLaren hope that the longer team future will be stronger paired with the Japanese manufacturer rather than being a customer of Mercedes.

It's a long term project, one that 33-year-old Fernando Alonso believed in enough to cancel his contract at Ferrari early to join and one that 35-year-old Jenson Button fought tooth and nail for with his career on the line.

But it hasn't started well, winter testing was a disaster. The team was slow and unreliable, whilst a bizarre accident left Alonso in hospital.

The Spaniard was forced to not only sit out the final winter test session but also the opening race of the season in Australia.

Button was joined by last seasons team-mate Kevin Magnussen and the pair qualified at the back of the grid. Magnussen then suffered a reliability issue on route to the grid and never started the race.

Button did finish the race, but was well off the pace.

In Malaysia, Alonso returned, but whilst an improvement was made the McLaren's were still only capable of beating a Manor Marussia which was turning a wheel for the first time since the team fell into administration at the end of 2014.

That said it was progress and for Alonso and Button that appears to be enough to keep the pair positive.

'That sort of progress really gives the whole team belief and confidence in the path we're taking, The steps we took between Australia and Malaysia were extremely impressive.' Alonso told the BBC.

Button added: 'There is definitely progress being made. I hope we can build upon our pace and performance in Malaysia.'

But according to McLaren racing director Eric Boullier the duo should be prepared for less visible progress in both China and Bahrain later this month.

According to the McLaren boss the team are not taking steps in a manner that will show development at every Grand Prix.

'We are fully aware that the next two races probably won't show quite the same rate of improvement as we witnessed at Sepang.

'That's a natural consequence of the fact that the performance gains we're finding aren't linear in fashion - some will be for performance, some for efficiency, and others for reliability.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday April 8 2015

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%