Vital F1 | Renault have no problem with Red Bull
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Renault have no problem with Red Bull

Following the Australian Grand Prix, Red Bull Racing made a threat to quit Formula One.

It followed a disappointing season in 2014, which despite three Grand Prix victories, saw their four year dominance ended by Mercedes.

The Red Bull era was ended by regulation changes. The introduction of the new v6 turbo-hybrid power-units saw Red Bull Racing left behind due to Renault being soundly beaten by the development of Mercedes.

With those regulations remaining in place for 2015, Red Bull Racing and Renault knew they would be playing catch-up.

The problem for them was that Mercedes and Ferrari have both improved from their 2014 levels.

The new Mercedes AMG power-unit has a higher performance level, creates more horse power and if testing is anything to go by could be more reliable.

Ferrari have also taken major gains forward, the Italian side buoyed by Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen were the best of the rest in Australia and won in Malaysia.

This has left Red Bull frustrated, to the point that Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitz's advisor Helmut Marko suggested that Red Bull could quit Formula One as Mateschitz grows disillusioned with the sport following the end of the teams dominance.

'We will evaluate the situation again [in the summer] as every year and look into costs and revenues, If we are totally dissatisfied we could contemplate an F1 exit. The danger is there that Mr Mateschitz loses his passion for F1.' Marko told Sky Sports.

'These power units are the wrong solution for F1, and we would say this even if Renault were in the lead, A designer like Adrian Newey is castrated by this engine formula. These rules will kill the sport.'

This left Renault also contemplating their future in Formula One.

Renault have numerous Formula One titles to their name, they've won both the drivers and constructors championships as an engine supplier for Williams, Benetton and Red Bull Racing in the past and have also won both titles twice as a manufacturer in their own right.

Overall they have powered 11 Formula One World Champions to the title and taken 12 constructors titles, with over 160 Grand Prix wins making them one of the most successful engine suppliers in the history of Formula One.

The last thing the French manufacturers want is their reputation smeared by their closest partner in Formula One.

'We are looking at a lot of options, including getting out of Formula 1 if it's bad for Renault's reputation,' Managing Director of Renault Sport F1 Cyril Abiteboul said prior to the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Clearly Red Bull and Renault had to improve their lines of communication and since then, there appears to have been an improvement.

Red Bull have suggested greater branding for Renault on the sister teams car of Toro Rosso, whilst there has also been talk of Renault buying the team.

But in the immediate future, there now appears to be a desire to push forward.

'There are a lot of talented people in Viry [Renault headquarters]], They have a great heritage and they are better than what we are seeing. It's a question of how you respond to the situation you're in.' Red Bull team principal Christian Horner told the BBC.

'It's a long season but hopefully at the end we will look back and say this is a low point but we recovered that situation,'

While Abiteboul added: 'There is no issue with Red Bull, in the sense that they are a team that wants to be extremely successful. They are impatient to be back in a winning position, as we were two years ago.

'So we understand that, and their frustration. We are a supplier but we are also racers and also extremely frustrated.

'It is about supporting each other, not dragging each other down, but we want to deal with it together.'










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday April 14 2015

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 29%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 19%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%