Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 is really cool, isn't it!

The new regulations for the 2011 Formula One World championship have made the sport really cool according to Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg has enjoyed a good start to the new F1 season, pundits often say you are judged by how you perform against your team-mate and there can be no greater pressure than having seven-time World champion Michael Schumacher as the man to beat in an identical car.

But that is exactly what Rosberg has done on a regular basis, his Mercedes car might not be as competitive compared to Red Bull and McLaren as they would have hoped, but Rosberg has so far out qualified Schumacher in Australia, Malaysia and China and is also ahead of him in the championship.

But the best part of the season to-date for the German has been the impact on the racing that the new Drag Reduction System [DRS - Driver enabled moveable rear wing] and the new tyre compounds developed by Pirelli.

'F1 has done a brilliant job. How exciting have the races been? They have been stunning.' Nico Rosberg told Autosport Magazine.

'There is nobody saying we are having boring races. There is overtaking left, right, and centre - everywhere. So, they have done a really, really good job and that is the most important thing that needs to be highlighted.

'The people in charge have made the sport from one year to the next so much more exciting, and that is awesome for the fans and everything. It is really cool, isn't it? It is the tyres and the rear wing.

'The rear wing best idea ever probably, for this sport. No? And tyres also. Pirelli, everybody has been criticising them, but they have made our sport spectacular. So that is cool.'


Do you agree that the DRS is the best ever idea in Formula One? Let us know your view by voting on our front page poll.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday April 20 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Singapore swings in Hamilton's favour (Monday September 22 2014)

Will reliability decide the F1 title? (Monday September 22 2014)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 22 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Race (Sunday September 21 2014)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 21 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Speculation bores Vettel (Friday September 5 2014)

Could Mercedes drop Rosberg or Hamilton (Friday September 5 2014)

Hass seal Ferrari deal (Thursday September 4 2014)

Renault join calls for engine freeze lift (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Ferrari frustration for Fernando (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Hamilton will not give up (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Rosberg finally takes responsibility (Monday September 1 2014)

Ferrari boss attempts to buy time (Monday September 1 2014)

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1022
2. DJ 887
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 521
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 149
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Singapore?
Rosberg 19%
Hamilton 45%
Ricciardo 16%
Vettel 4%
Bottas 8%
Massa 0%
Someone else 8%