Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 is really cool, isn't it!

The new regulations for the 2011 Formula One World championship have made the sport really cool according to Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg has enjoyed a good start to the new F1 season, pundits often say you are judged by how you perform against your team-mate and there can be no greater pressure than having seven-time World champion Michael Schumacher as the man to beat in an identical car.

But that is exactly what Rosberg has done on a regular basis, his Mercedes car might not be as competitive compared to Red Bull and McLaren as they would have hoped, but Rosberg has so far out qualified Schumacher in Australia, Malaysia and China and is also ahead of him in the championship.

But the best part of the season to-date for the German has been the impact on the racing that the new Drag Reduction System [DRS - Driver enabled moveable rear wing] and the new tyre compounds developed by Pirelli.

'F1 has done a brilliant job. How exciting have the races been? They have been stunning.' Nico Rosberg told Autosport Magazine.

'There is nobody saying we are having boring races. There is overtaking left, right, and centre - everywhere. So, they have done a really, really good job and that is the most important thing that needs to be highlighted.

'The people in charge have made the sport from one year to the next so much more exciting, and that is awesome for the fans and everything. It is really cool, isn't it? It is the tyres and the rear wing.

'The rear wing best idea ever probably, for this sport. No? And tyres also. Pirelli, everybody has been criticising them, but they have made our sport spectacular. So that is cool.'


Do you agree that the DRS is the best ever idea in Formula One? Let us know your view by voting on our front page poll.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday April 20 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1018
2. DJ 881
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 147
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Rosberg face a penalty for failing to avoid Hamilton collision?
Yes - He has confessed! 84%
No 16%