Vital F1 | F1 regulations too complex for Ferrari chairman
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 regulations too complex for Ferrari chairman

Formula One has become too complex according to Ferrari chairman Sergio Marchionne.

A question that is periodically asked, is what does Formula One stand for? Not necessarily the meaning of the title, but what it represents.

The most common answer is the pinnacle of world motorsport, this despite mainly being a European formula, whilst the USA remains far more interested in NASCAR and Indy Cars.

That market is changing and Formula One does have a legitimate claim being the only true global motor racing series.

Others claim that F1 represents the best in technology, with innovative designers both in safety, aerodynamics and mechanics. The technology developed on the track should and often does work its way towards the standard road cars.

But whilst all of that is important, Formula One will mostly see itself as a business and for that be right, then the companies involved within it, be it manufacturers, sponsors, promoters all have to see a return on their investment and for that to happen the sport has to be of interest to the spectators.

Ferrari chairman Sergio Marchionne believes that final aspect has been lost within the Formula One regulations designed by self interest from the dominant teams to continue their success.

“I like to see stands full of people, the highest number of spectators watching the sport and the sport to be a really interesting experience for people who are close to F1,” Marchionne told Sky Sports.

“The important thing is to remove the complexity that surrounds the sport, we have created a myriad of rules which have made everybody’s lives nearly impossible. You can speak to all the team managers and what they have to deal with in terms of the technical repercussions of any decision we make.”

“I think a lot it has been brought on by a defensive mechanism that is trying to protect people in certain positions, including Ferrari at a point in time when it was trying to preserve its period of dominance, It has been my experience running businesses that those kind of dominations always get taken out. We saw Mercedes come back last year with a vengeance; they have asserted themselves on the track which surprised Ferrari tremendously. But it tells you how feeble victory is unless you really manage it intelligently and I think we have gone too far. So I think we need to retrench, we need to go back to the real fundamental drive of the sport which is simplicity. We need to turn this into a spectator sport.”









Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday June 10 2015

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1133
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 583
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 203
10. VanGisbergen2013 153

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who are looking the best in 2017?
Mercedes 0%
Ferrari 100%
Red Bull Racing 0%
Someone else 0%