Vital F1 | Disqualifying Merc would have been the easy call
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Disqualifying Merc would have been the easy call

As soon as the FIA announced that Mercedes were being investigated following the Italian Grand Prix, Formula One was in a no-win situation.

What ever decision was made someone, somewhere, would have contested it.

It was a difficult decision for the race stewards and one that took over twice as long as the race itself.

The easy decision for the race stewards would have been to disqualify Mercedes, that decision would have pleased the majority.

It would have handed the race victory to Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari could have celebrated a famous home win at Monza, the global Ferrari brand would have rejoiced.

Formula One Management would have liked to have seen this result too as what's good for Ferrari is good for FOM, but also if Hamilton had lost the race victory he would also have lost 25 points in the Formula One World Championship, dramatically closing the gap to team-mate Nico Rosberg.

A DQ for the reigning champion would have closed the 2015 title hunt back up, extending the potential intrigue later in the season, improving future global television figures at a time when figures are dropping.

On a point of simplicity, a precedent had already been set in F1 feeder series GP2 with drivers being disqualified and the point could have been very black and white, a rule was broken and here is the standard penalty.

It was after all a technical infringement not a sporting infringement, which was why the Williams incident with Bottas running three tyres from one compound and one tyre from another was not a comparable incident.

So how did the Italian race stewards end up making the harder call and to actually allow the result to stand?

The Mercedes team were summoned to the race stewards as both cars were found to have their left rear tyre pressures below the minimum pressure guidelines set by Pirelli.

Pirelli stated that teams must start the race with tyre pressures of 19.5psi or above.

Pole sitter Lewis Hamilton was found to be 0.3psi below that threshold, whilst Nico Rosberg was 1.1 psi under.

The fact that the same tyre on both cars was found to be under could have proved a pattern, an advantage could have been made with a lower pressure on the left rear on a clockwise circuit.

Not only was it a performance decision, although the actual benefit Hamilton would have seen would have been minimal, it was more important a safety issue.

Tyre pressures had been under the media spotlight following Sebastian Vettel's dramatic blow-out in the closing stages of the race in Belgium. Due to this Italian tyre manufacturer Pirelli increased the minimum tyre pressure that teams were allowed to race under this weekend.

It seemed following Sky Sports F1's live coverage that all the teams in the paddock believed it was an open and shut case and Mercedes would be disqualified.

But this was before all the details had come to light.

Under the supervision of the Pirelli Team Tyre engineer, Mercedes had actually complied with the regulations.

At the time of fitting the tyres to the car in the garage the tyres were at the minimum start pressure recommended by Pirelli.

What had happened was that Mercedes had disconnected the tyre warming blankets from their power source, due to this the tyres were significantly below the maximum permitted tyre blanket temperature at the time of the FIA’s measurement on the grid was taken.

This meant that the tyre pressure fell, prior to the race. But as this followed procedure and was supervised by Pirelli, Mercedes had done nothing wrong.

The argument will undoubtedly continue over what guidance should be given to the teams regarding measurement protocols, but Mercedes proved their innocence, even if some would call it a technicality.

"We followed the procedure established with Pirelli, which was to have the tyres in the blankets, check the pressures together with Pirelli," Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff said to the media.

"The pressures were well above the minimum because safety is important for us. The tyres on the car - for whatever reason, maybe because the tyres cooled down - a different pressure was found on one of the tyres. It was a tiny discrepancy."








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 7 2015

Time: 10:26AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1140
2. Red5 1114
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 585
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 157

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 33%
Vettel 36%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 18%
Verstappen 13%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%