Vital F1 | Disqualifying Merc would have been the easy call
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Disqualifying Merc would have been the easy call

As soon as the FIA announced that Mercedes were being investigated following the Italian Grand Prix, Formula One was in a no-win situation.

What ever decision was made someone, somewhere, would have contested it.

It was a difficult decision for the race stewards and one that took over twice as long as the race itself.

The easy decision for the race stewards would have been to disqualify Mercedes, that decision would have pleased the majority.

It would have handed the race victory to Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari could have celebrated a famous home win at Monza, the global Ferrari brand would have rejoiced.

Formula One Management would have liked to have seen this result too as what's good for Ferrari is good for FOM, but also if Hamilton had lost the race victory he would also have lost 25 points in the Formula One World Championship, dramatically closing the gap to team-mate Nico Rosberg.

A DQ for the reigning champion would have closed the 2015 title hunt back up, extending the potential intrigue later in the season, improving future global television figures at a time when figures are dropping.

On a point of simplicity, a precedent had already been set in F1 feeder series GP2 with drivers being disqualified and the point could have been very black and white, a rule was broken and here is the standard penalty.

It was after all a technical infringement not a sporting infringement, which was why the Williams incident with Bottas running three tyres from one compound and one tyre from another was not a comparable incident.

So how did the Italian race stewards end up making the harder call and to actually allow the result to stand?

The Mercedes team were summoned to the race stewards as both cars were found to have their left rear tyre pressures below the minimum pressure guidelines set by Pirelli.

Pirelli stated that teams must start the race with tyre pressures of 19.5psi or above.

Pole sitter Lewis Hamilton was found to be 0.3psi below that threshold, whilst Nico Rosberg was 1.1 psi under.

The fact that the same tyre on both cars was found to be under could have proved a pattern, an advantage could have been made with a lower pressure on the left rear on a clockwise circuit.

Not only was it a performance decision, although the actual benefit Hamilton would have seen would have been minimal, it was more important a safety issue.

Tyre pressures had been under the media spotlight following Sebastian Vettel's dramatic blow-out in the closing stages of the race in Belgium. Due to this Italian tyre manufacturer Pirelli increased the minimum tyre pressure that teams were allowed to race under this weekend.

It seemed following Sky Sports F1's live coverage that all the teams in the paddock believed it was an open and shut case and Mercedes would be disqualified.

But this was before all the details had come to light.

Under the supervision of the Pirelli Team Tyre engineer, Mercedes had actually complied with the regulations.

At the time of fitting the tyres to the car in the garage the tyres were at the minimum start pressure recommended by Pirelli.

What had happened was that Mercedes had disconnected the tyre warming blankets from their power source, due to this the tyres were significantly below the maximum permitted tyre blanket temperature at the time of the FIA’s measurement on the grid was taken.

This meant that the tyre pressure fell, prior to the race. But as this followed procedure and was supervised by Pirelli, Mercedes had done nothing wrong.

The argument will undoubtedly continue over what guidance should be given to the teams regarding measurement protocols, but Mercedes proved their innocence, even if some would call it a technicality.

"We followed the procedure established with Pirelli, which was to have the tyres in the blankets, check the pressures together with Pirelli," Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff said to the media.

"The pressures were well above the minimum because safety is important for us. The tyres on the car - for whatever reason, maybe because the tyres cooled down - a different pressure was found on one of the tyres. It was a tiny discrepancy."








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 7 2015

Time: 10:26AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1177
2. Red5 1125
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 512
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 217
10. VanGisbergen2013 179

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in the USA?
Hamilton - And he will be Champion 16%
Hamilton - Title race continues 21%
Vettel 21%
Verstappen 34%
Ricciardo 8%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%