Vital F1 | Mateschitz slams F1 engine suppliers
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mateschitz slams F1 engine suppliers

Never one to mix his words Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitz has slammed all four of Formula One engine manufacturers.

Red Bull Racing is in crisis.

It appears to have just days remaining to resolve it's engine problems or Mateschitz could potentially pull the plug on the whole operation.

It's a stance that Red Bull Racing have been very clear about for months, either they secure a competitive engine for the 2016 Formula One World Championship or they could withdraw from the sport.

It's not a stance that has won them very many supporters, with many Formula One fans seeing it as a team that has enjoyed years of success threatening to take their ball home with them now that they've stopped winning.

Caught in the middle are the thousands of employees at Milton Keynes who as yet do not know what their future holds.

Red Bull team principal Christian Horner has been trying to put as many options on the table as possible, but it is Mateschitz who makes the final decision.

He has ruled out a reconciliation with current engine partner Renault, Red Bull Racing have served noticed on Renault to end their contract at the end of the season, cutting short a deal which was set to run until the end of 2016.

It was thought that this could possibly be rescued, but that does not appear to be an option for Mateschitz.

'We have cancelled the contract [with Renault].' Mateschitz told Red Bull owned Speedweek publication.

This leaves the team looking for a new engine.

Red Bull Racing have been rejected by Mercedes, whilst Ferrari have offered to supply RBR with 2015 spec engines and not their latest design.

'The factory racing teams fear us and know that we are faster than their factory team,' Mateschitz said.

That just leaves Honda, who Speedweek publication suggest would leave Red Bull in a worse situation than if they stuck with Renault.

So what next for Red Bull? 'without a competitive engine demanded by Mateschitz, the project is not meaningful' Speedweek concluded.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday November 4 2015

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1140
2. Red5 1114
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 585
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 157

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 35%
Vettel 30%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 20%
Verstappen 15%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%