Vital F1 | Jordan doubts Murdoch bid
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Jordan doubts Murdoch bid

Eddie Jordan who was previously a F1 team owner and now works for the BBC as a Formula One pundit, believes there are just too many hurdles for Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation to takeover the sport.

A number of changes would have to be made to the up-for-review Concorde Agreement by all the Formula One teams to enable a fully blown takeover to even be considered by current owner CVC Capital Partners.

One of the issues would be Italian investment firm Exor's links to Ferrari. Under the current agreement a company is not allowed to have a financial interest in both the sport and a team for obvious competition issues that such a conflict could bring.

Exor's potential involvement with Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation over a potential takeover would cause questions in this area.

Another area would be the sports television broadcasting rights, with a potential change from the current plan that F1 should be on free-to-air television.

'If News Corp can find a way around that (free-to-air debate), then possibly I'll take this more seriously.' Eddie Jordan told the BBC.

But not only is there the argument over pay-tv, but also the knock on affect that would have on sponsorship deals for the teams.

If Formula One was to move into an exclusive deal with a subscription sports channel such as Sky Sports, then the sports audience reach would be instantly reduced in a country where F1 is no longer free-to-air, this then causes problems for sponsors who want to see their product advertised to larger television audiences.

If Formula One is watched in a regular basis by far fewer people, then the demand on sponsorship declines and the money that teams can earn declines with it.

Jordan added: 'If I was a team [boss], then I'd be looking to see where the revenues are coming from. The public and sponsors want the maximum number of people watching the race.

'There is not a commercial operation in F1 at this moment who can disregard the numbers of viewers, because that's what triggers the costs and also the income.'


Who will win in Turkey?

Please vote on our poll to let us know who you are backing and why not visit our forum and join in the debates leading into this weekends action.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday May 5 2011

Time: 2:00PM

Your Comments

I agree, changing F1 to a channel like sky sports would ruin it, Rupert Murdochs takeover should be halted for the sake especially of Ferrari and their involvement with Exor.
BSCC racer
Just a bit of kite flying by Rupert to distract fro a very poor fiscal result by NewsCorp. Bernie has said that F1 is not for sale.
johnkelv
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 24 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 24 2017)

Expanded calendar for Formula 2 and GP3 (Friday November 24 2017)

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1129
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 513
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 23%
Hamilton 42%
Verstappen 14%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 7%
Someone else 7%