Vital F1 | Jordan doubts Murdoch bid
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Jordan doubts Murdoch bid

Eddie Jordan who was previously a F1 team owner and now works for the BBC as a Formula One pundit, believes there are just too many hurdles for Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation to takeover the sport.

A number of changes would have to be made to the up-for-review Concorde Agreement by all the Formula One teams to enable a fully blown takeover to even be considered by current owner CVC Capital Partners.

One of the issues would be Italian investment firm Exor's links to Ferrari. Under the current agreement a company is not allowed to have a financial interest in both the sport and a team for obvious competition issues that such a conflict could bring.

Exor's potential involvement with Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation over a potential takeover would cause questions in this area.

Another area would be the sports television broadcasting rights, with a potential change from the current plan that F1 should be on free-to-air television.

'If News Corp can find a way around that (free-to-air debate), then possibly I'll take this more seriously.' Eddie Jordan told the BBC.

But not only is there the argument over pay-tv, but also the knock on affect that would have on sponsorship deals for the teams.

If Formula One was to move into an exclusive deal with a subscription sports channel such as Sky Sports, then the sports audience reach would be instantly reduced in a country where F1 is no longer free-to-air, this then causes problems for sponsors who want to see their product advertised to larger television audiences.

If Formula One is watched in a regular basis by far fewer people, then the demand on sponsorship declines and the money that teams can earn declines with it.

Jordan added: 'If I was a team [boss], then I'd be looking to see where the revenues are coming from. The public and sponsors want the maximum number of people watching the race.

'There is not a commercial operation in F1 at this moment who can disregard the numbers of viewers, because that's what triggers the costs and also the income.'


Who will win in Turkey?

Please vote on our poll to let us know who you are backing and why not visit our forum and join in the debates leading into this weekends action.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday May 5 2011

Time: 2:00PM

Your Comments

I agree, changing F1 to a channel like sky sports would ruin it, Rupert Murdochs takeover should be halted for the sake especially of Ferrari and their involvement with Exor.
BSCC racer
Just a bit of kite flying by Rupert to distract fro a very poor fiscal result by NewsCorp. Bernie has said that F1 is not for sale.
johnkelv
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1096
2. DJ 1062
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Germany?
Hamilton 50%
Rosberg 26%
Raikkonen 7%
Vettel 11%
Ricciardo 3%
Verstappen 3%
Someone else 0%