Vital F1 | Pirelli annouce tyre choices
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli annouce tyre choices

Who would have thought the tyre choices that Pirelli would be making throughout the 2011 season would prove to be so interesting.

But with the impact that tyre strategy has had on the season to-date, it's hard to ignore these announcements when they come around.

Even after four races, we still have teams running different strategies to their rivals, even amongst team-mates, with McLaren being the prime example last Sunday with Lewis Hamilton pitting four times to take fourth, with Jenson Button pitting three times to limp home in sixth.

The tyre strategy and the introduction of KERS and DRS has really added to the spectacle of Formula One this season, so lets hope Pirelli have made the right decisions for which PZero tyre compounds will be heading too Montreal, Valencia and Silverstone.

'When calculating which tyres we will bring to every circuit, we bear a number of factors in mind such as the weather conditions and the nature of the surface,' Pirelli's motorsport director Paul Hembery told formula1.com.

'We then make sure that we select two tyres that will complement each other in terms of racing spectacle and potential strategies as well.

'So we've come up with tyre nominations that should not only be well suited to the characteristics of each circuit but also provide a great race for the drivers and spectators, with plenty of scope for the teams to exercise their strategic skills. Selecting the tyres is a very tough job for us, as in Montreal, Valencia and Silverstone we have no historical data, but we're feeling confident that the choices we have made, in close consultation with the teams and the FIA, should continue the Pirelli tradition of close racing that we have seen so far this year.'


Tyre compounds selected for the Canadian Grand Prix will be soft and super-soft, which are the same compounds which will also be used at Monaco.

For the European Grand Prix, Pirelli have selected a combination of medium and super-soft, which will be the first time the teams will have to work with this combination of rubber on a race weekend.

For the British Grand Prix the teams will return to the most frequently used combination of tyres which are the hard and soft compounds which were also used in Australia, Malaysia, China, Turkey and at the next race in Spain.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 10 2011

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1095
2. DJ 1059
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 562
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Hamilton 49%
Rosberg 8%
Verstappen 27%
Ricciardo 4%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 3%
Someone else 3%