Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Schumacher motivation receives a boost

Mercedes showed signs of improvement last time out in Turkey and that movement forward in development looks key to re-igniting the fire in the belly of Michael Schumacher.

Schumacher finished 12th in Istanbul, the second time this season the former seven-time Formula One World champion has finished outside of the points after his retirement in the opening round of the Australian Grand Prix.

But while his 12th placed finish was not as good as his 8th in China and 9th in Malaysia world championship wise, the performance of the Mercedes did show improvements against their rivals.

'there have been clear signs of improvements for the team, which push and re-boost my motivation even more.' Schumacher is quoted by the BBC.

Both Mercedes drivers made the top 10 shoot-out in Turkey, the first time Schumacher had made it through to Qualifying Three this season.

However Nico Rosberg did out qualify his team mate again to start the race third, before eventually finishing fifth.

Schumacher has been consistently beaten by Rosberg in both qualifying and in the races since his return to Formula One last season, but the German claims to remain upbeat, especially with Mercedes showing signs of improvement.

'The Spanish Grand Prix is traditionally where it really feels like the European season gets underway and holds a lot of good memories for me,'

'Of course, we know the Circuit de Catalunya very well from testing, but it will be interesting to see the effect of Kers, the DRS and the Pirelli tyres on a track where overtaking is always difficult.'
he added.

Rosberg/Schumacher Qualifying Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 15

Schumacher: 8

Rosberg/Schumacher Points Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 162

Schumacher: 78








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday May 18 2011

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel set to pay the penalty (Friday October 17 2014)

Caterham remain bullish (Friday October 17 2014)

Rosberg can swing momentum (Thursday October 16 2014)

Lotus dump Renault for Mercedes (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Button does not need to prove himself (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Hamilton contract talks on hold (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Mercedes win F1 constructors title (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Bianchi will not give up (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Pirelli make final selections (Monday October 13 2014)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday October 13 2014)

2014 - Russia - Race (Sunday October 12 2014)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP3 (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP2 (Friday October 10 2014)

Kvyat excited by home race (Friday October 10 2014)

Marussia to run one car in Russia (Friday October 10 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP1 (Friday October 10 2014)

Who will win in Russia (Thursday October 9 2014)

Bianchi family thankful for support (Wednesday October 8 2014)

Driver reaction from Suzuka (Tuesday October 7 2014)

Results in Japan inconsequential (Tuesday October 7 2014)

McLaren & Mercedes deny Alonso deals (Monday October 6 2014)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 5 2014)

Thoughts with Bianchi (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Race (Sunday October 5 2014)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Qualifying (Saturday October 4 2014)

What next for Alonso? (Saturday October 4 2014)

Vettel to replace Alonso at Ferrari (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP3 (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP2 (Friday October 3 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP1 (Friday October 3 2014)

Typhoon warning for Suzuka (Thursday October 2 2014)

Stevens to get F1 drive (Thursday October 2 2014)

Bailiffs seize goods at Caterham (Thursday October 2 2014)

Verstappen turns 17 and gets F1 drive (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Mercedes identify Rosberg fault (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 29 2014)

Button hints at new deal (Thursday September 25 2014)

No imminent announcement for McLaren (Wednesday September 24 2014)

Magnussen denies burns (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Red Bull not giving up on long shot (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Singapore swings in Hamilton's favour (Monday September 22 2014)

Will reliability decide the F1 title? (Monday September 22 2014)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 22 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Race (Sunday September 21 2014)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 21 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Speculation bores Vettel (Friday September 5 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1024
2. DJ 895
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 571
6. Druss_the_Legend 525
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 151
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Where will Alonso be in 2015?
Ferrari 22%
McLaren 66%
Mercedes 6%
Somewhere else 0%
Not in F1 6%