Vital F1 | Schumacher motivation receives a boost
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Schumacher motivation receives a boost

Mercedes showed signs of improvement last time out in Turkey and that movement forward in development looks key to re-igniting the fire in the belly of Michael Schumacher.

Schumacher finished 12th in Istanbul, the second time this season the former seven-time Formula One World champion has finished outside of the points after his retirement in the opening round of the Australian Grand Prix.

But while his 12th placed finish was not as good as his 8th in China and 9th in Malaysia world championship wise, the performance of the Mercedes did show improvements against their rivals.

'there have been clear signs of improvements for the team, which push and re-boost my motivation even more.' Schumacher is quoted by the BBC.

Both Mercedes drivers made the top 10 shoot-out in Turkey, the first time Schumacher had made it through to Qualifying Three this season.

However Nico Rosberg did out qualify his team mate again to start the race third, before eventually finishing fifth.

Schumacher has been consistently beaten by Rosberg in both qualifying and in the races since his return to Formula One last season, but the German claims to remain upbeat, especially with Mercedes showing signs of improvement.

'The Spanish Grand Prix is traditionally where it really feels like the European season gets underway and holds a lot of good memories for me,'

'Of course, we know the Circuit de Catalunya very well from testing, but it will be interesting to see the effect of Kers, the DRS and the Pirelli tyres on a track where overtaking is always difficult.'
he added.

Rosberg/Schumacher Qualifying Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 15

Schumacher: 8

Rosberg/Schumacher Points Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 162

Schumacher: 78








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday May 18 2011

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1167
2. Red5 1122
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 593
7. Push The Button 507
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 214
10. VanGisbergen2013 173

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who was at fault for Singapore crash?
Vettel 60%
Raikkonen 0%
Verstappen 40%
Racing Incident 0%