Vital F1 | Schumacher motivation receives a boost
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Schumacher motivation receives a boost

Mercedes showed signs of improvement last time out in Turkey and that movement forward in development looks key to re-igniting the fire in the belly of Michael Schumacher.

Schumacher finished 12th in Istanbul, the second time this season the former seven-time Formula One World champion has finished outside of the points after his retirement in the opening round of the Australian Grand Prix.

But while his 12th placed finish was not as good as his 8th in China and 9th in Malaysia world championship wise, the performance of the Mercedes did show improvements against their rivals.

'there have been clear signs of improvements for the team, which push and re-boost my motivation even more.' Schumacher is quoted by the BBC.

Both Mercedes drivers made the top 10 shoot-out in Turkey, the first time Schumacher had made it through to Qualifying Three this season.

However Nico Rosberg did out qualify his team mate again to start the race third, before eventually finishing fifth.

Schumacher has been consistently beaten by Rosberg in both qualifying and in the races since his return to Formula One last season, but the German claims to remain upbeat, especially with Mercedes showing signs of improvement.

'The Spanish Grand Prix is traditionally where it really feels like the European season gets underway and holds a lot of good memories for me,'

'Of course, we know the Circuit de Catalunya very well from testing, but it will be interesting to see the effect of Kers, the DRS and the Pirelli tyres on a track where overtaking is always difficult.'
he added.

Rosberg/Schumacher Qualifying Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 15

Schumacher: 8

Rosberg/Schumacher Points Record as team-mates for Mercedes:

Races: 23

Rosberg: 162

Schumacher: 78








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday May 18 2011

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday March 31 2016)

CVC contemplating selling stake in F1 (Wednesday March 30 2016)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday March 29 2016)

F1 to drop behind paywall in 2019 (Monday March 28 2016)

Force India rues red flag (Friday March 25 2016)

Ferrari play down strategy error (Thursday March 24 2016)

Haas enjoy amazing debut (Wednesday March 23 2016)

Hamilton pleased with damage limitation (Wednesday March 23 2016)

F1 drops new qualifying format (Tuesday March 22 2016)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Sunday March 20 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 20 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP2 (Friday March 18 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP1 (Friday March 18 2016)

Australian Grand Prix could be messy (Thursday March 17 2016)

Aston Martin enter F1 with Red Bull (Thursday March 17 2016)

Lauda lambasts new rules (Thursday March 17 2016)

Channel 4 left red faced (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Di Resta set for busy 2016 (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Tuesday March 15 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1035
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 472
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 180
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Hamilton 38%
Rosberg 20%
Vettel 16%
Raikkonen 6%
Ricciardo 14%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 6%