Vital F1 | Incident was brainless - But let them race!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Incident was brainless - But let them race!

The last lap collision between Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton was branded as brainless by Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff.

The Austrian, speaking immediately after the end of his own personal home race was clearly angry when he made the comments.

It wasn't clear if he had seen all the angles of the collision, so it wouldn't be fair to state definitively if he was aiming his anger solely at the perpetrator Nico Rosberg or if at this stage he also believed Lewis Hamilton had an element of blame.

'It was brainless, Cars colliding seems a deja-vu. It's absolutely not what we want.

'We are looking like a bunch of idiots and it's disrespectful to 1500 people who work their nuts off to prepare the cars and this is why it needs to end.
Wolff told Sky Sports.

The podium celebrations were ruined by boos ringing out towards Hamilton, something Formula One has unfortunately seen in the past aimed towards Sebastian Vettel.

It wasn't really clear why so much hate was being thrown towards Hamilton as it was pretty clear to the naked eye that Rosberg was at fault, once the other angles of the incident had been shown and detailed analysis which was published on formula1.com by James Allen, shows the differing lines Rosberg took on the lap of the incident and the lap prior.

The major difference between the two is obviously, the German attempting to defend against the much quicker car of Lewis Hamilton on the outside, but it does highlight that Rosberg failed to leave Hamilton any room on the circuit by driving him off the road rather than attempting to take the corner.

But what will happen at Mercedes once the dust settles?

Wolff has declared that team-orders will have to be a point of discussion.

'It seems that talking doesn't bring us any further so we need to think about all possible solutions and go as far as implementing the not very popular team orders.

'This is on the table now. This is what we are going to discuss, because maybe it's the only way we can manage the situation.

'I hate team orders, we owe it to the fans to let them race but if every race ends up in a collision between team-mates, it's not what we want.'


Speaking to Sky Sports three times Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton said: 'The great thing is that Toto and Niki [Lauda] have been great these last three years and allowed us to race and that's what racing is about.

'It's not always going to be blue skies and perfect - but that's motor racing. Every engineer and mechanic has been through Formula Ford, Formula Renault, all the different categories and seen the good and the bad and know these things can happen.

'We are driving at 200-plus miles an hour. You expect us to drive around and never, ever have a problem? I doubt it. So I hope that it doesn't change and we can continue to race. That's just my honest opinion from a love of this sport.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 5 2016

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1145
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 586
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 206
10. VanGisbergen2013 159

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Azerbaijan?
Hamilton 26%
Bottas 3%
Vettel 55%
Raikkonen 3%
Verstappen 7%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 3%