Vital F1 | DRS banned in Monaco tunnel
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

DRS banned in Monaco tunnel

It would appear that common sense has prevailed in Formula One, I'm not entirely sure when that last happened, but thankfully on this occasion it has done.

The FIA have now agreed to an outright banning of the driver enabled moveable rear wing in the tunnel section throughout this weekend's Monaco Grand Prix, following safety concerns from drivers.

The decision comes following a U-Turn from FIA race director Charlie Whiting.

Whiting consulted with teams back in Turkey and at that time teams and drivers were split over the best way forward, so with no general consensus, Whiting told F1 teams that DRS would be used.

The decision upset Grand Prix Drivers' Association chairman Rubens Barrichello who told the press: 'In my opinion, they are waiting for something bad to happen. And when it happens, they will just say, 'oh, next year we will not have it for Monaco.' The drivers have not been listened to right now and I think it is the wrong decision.'

'You are going to try to use it there, I can see a race with safety cars a long way. If they could listen still: I think Monaco is what it is. It is not overtaking territory.

'Do they think they can introduce overtaking through the DRS? They possibly can, but they might hurt someone. That is a voice from experience.'


Charlie Whiting defended the decision at a media briefing last week, claiming there was no evidence of a safety issue: 'I've spoken to the drivers a few times about it and it was quite clear that the majority of them did not want to use it in Monaco, However, there is no evidence to support the theory that it is unsafe in Monaco.

'Obviously, we are not waiting for an accident to happen, but there is simply no evidence to support the theory that it is going to be dangerous. So as it has been introduced as an overtaking aid, it would be somewhat perverse not to allow it in the place where you need overtaking the most.

'So there is no reason not to use it in Monaco as far as we can see. That is the long and the short of it. As far as we are concerned it's a device that's open to anyone to use legally at any race. That is what it is there for.'


Following that initial decision VitalF1.com

sked: Should DRS be banned in Monaco? The result was pretty clear with our users, 67% voting Yes 67% and 33% voting No.

The result amongst the drivers was pretty clear too and they continued to pile on the pressure on to Whiting over the past week.

So a compromise has now been settled, with Whiting writing to the Grand Prix Drivers' Association members on Monday to tell them he agreed that it could be dangerous.

With the Monaco tunnel section being the area of most concern, the use of DRS will be banned in this section during Practice and Qualifying (in the race the DRS zone will be the start-finish straight).










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 24 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

Good news. It would have been sheer folly for it to have been used
Villaininthemerde
I remember Jackie Stewart tell a story about a safety meeting with the drivers and the BRA (?) at silverstone, about some trees that had been planted on the side of track. The drivers pointed out the danger, the answer they got was 'Well there only little trees' Stupid and naive But As you've probably noticed I've a bee in my bonnet About the tunnel + the use of DRS as I could see somebody getting killed. There's not enough room to overtake as you can see from the pics it's only 2 cars width as you exit. Maybe the FIA and the Monaco Club de Automobile were looking for another death to add to this races history. Knowing some of the mercenery swine it would suprise me
Villaininthemerde
Meant wouldn't ofcourse
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1129
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 513
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 220
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 23%
Hamilton 42%
Verstappen 14%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 7%
Someone else 7%