Vital F1 | DRS banned in Monaco tunnel
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

DRS banned in Monaco tunnel

It would appear that common sense has prevailed in Formula One, I'm not entirely sure when that last happened, but thankfully on this occasion it has done.

The FIA have now agreed to an outright banning of the driver enabled moveable rear wing in the tunnel section throughout this weekend's Monaco Grand Prix, following safety concerns from drivers.

The decision comes following a U-Turn from FIA race director Charlie Whiting.

Whiting consulted with teams back in Turkey and at that time teams and drivers were split over the best way forward, so with no general consensus, Whiting told F1 teams that DRS would be used.

The decision upset Grand Prix Drivers' Association chairman Rubens Barrichello who told the press: 'In my opinion, they are waiting for something bad to happen. And when it happens, they will just say, 'oh, next year we will not have it for Monaco.' The drivers have not been listened to right now and I think it is the wrong decision.'

'You are going to try to use it there, I can see a race with safety cars a long way. If they could listen still: I think Monaco is what it is. It is not overtaking territory.

'Do they think they can introduce overtaking through the DRS? They possibly can, but they might hurt someone. That is a voice from experience.'


Charlie Whiting defended the decision at a media briefing last week, claiming there was no evidence of a safety issue: 'I've spoken to the drivers a few times about it and it was quite clear that the majority of them did not want to use it in Monaco, However, there is no evidence to support the theory that it is unsafe in Monaco.

'Obviously, we are not waiting for an accident to happen, but there is simply no evidence to support the theory that it is going to be dangerous. So as it has been introduced as an overtaking aid, it would be somewhat perverse not to allow it in the place where you need overtaking the most.

'So there is no reason not to use it in Monaco as far as we can see. That is the long and the short of it. As far as we are concerned it's a device that's open to anyone to use legally at any race. That is what it is there for.'


Following that initial decision VitalF1.com

sked: Should DRS be banned in Monaco? The result was pretty clear with our users, 67% voting Yes 67% and 33% voting No.

The result amongst the drivers was pretty clear too and they continued to pile on the pressure on to Whiting over the past week.

So a compromise has now been settled, with Whiting writing to the Grand Prix Drivers' Association members on Monday to tell them he agreed that it could be dangerous.

With the Monaco tunnel section being the area of most concern, the use of DRS will be banned in this section during Practice and Qualifying (in the race the DRS zone will be the start-finish straight).










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 24 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

Good news. It would have been sheer folly for it to have been used
Villaininthemerde
I remember Jackie Stewart tell a story about a safety meeting with the drivers and the BRA (?) at silverstone, about some trees that had been planted on the side of track. The drivers pointed out the danger, the answer they got was 'Well there only little trees' Stupid and naive But As you've probably noticed I've a bee in my bonnet About the tunnel + the use of DRS as I could see somebody getting killed. There's not enough room to overtake as you can see from the pics it's only 2 cars width as you exit. Maybe the FIA and the Monaco Club de Automobile were looking for another death to add to this races history. Knowing some of the mercenery swine it would suprise me
Villaininthemerde
Meant wouldn't ofcourse
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1155
2. Red5 1119
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 588
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 210
10. VanGisbergen2013 167

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British Grand Prix?
Bottas 3%
Vettel 35%
Ricciardo 0%
Hamilton 42%
Raikkonen 5%
Verstappen 15%
Someone else 0%