Vital F1 | Monaco buzzing and gearing up
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Monaco buzzing and gearing up

Well, here we go. My first stab at an article for VitalF1.

Your (kind) comments would be welcome. Not supposed to be technical, just an insight into the 'must be there' gp of the circuit.

I arrived at Monte Carlo train station around ten, if you try to drive it at this time of year you are strangely mad as Monaco and the approaches are gridlocked.

As I walked down the hill I started to feel the frenzy of activity. The stands have been up for a couple of weeks and 90% of safety barriers are in place.

Here's a view looking towards the swimming pool bend, in porte Hercule, where the paddock is being built as I write.



I Passed the statue of Fangio, on the hairpin before the start/finish & pits, surrounded by a TV camera tower at the moment.



This is a view of the track as it rises to the same



Then I had a gentle meander down to porte. Well I am getting on a bit y'know!!! The Red Bull barge has been towed into position and the 'gin palace' bit is now being constructed on it. I'll take another pic from the same position next Sunday & you'll see what I mean



So now after all my hardwork I (ho) I decided to have the first beer of the day at Stars'n'Bars the world renowned bar on the porte and pick up my tickets from Patrice, the general manager, a really fine man



The rich & famous, oh, and me, flock here as I hope you can see





Dragging myself away from an empty glass I started to walk about half the track/roads. First part of the half finished pitstop



To prove that I'm in dire need of psychiatric help some of the pics are taken in the middle of the still open road with Monagasc drivers throwing insults at me, it's ok they don't know what two fingers means here.

Ok, these are three pics of the tunnel, all from the drivers view. The first the entrance, the bend and then exiting it. The bit that always worries me is that you hurtle out of semi darkness into strong sunlight where the track narrows even more. Things like this make the Monaco the greatest race on the calender, that and it's fantastic history & razzmatazz. AND of course the hot babes!!!







There is actually a Tobac still at Le Tabac corner. To prove it here's me with yet another beer and a cigarette



Enough for this week. If you can stay awake long enough I'll send another report after race day next Sunday As a reward to you guys who stuck with this, here's the first hot babe. For the ladies I promise hot guys for you in the next report, I'll have a girl choose them








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 24 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

Great story of from a local . Looking forward to the next story, with pictures from the race.
MoC
Pictures really are fantastic, gives a great feel of the occasion.
red5
I'll be there on sunday for the race cant wait thx for a nice inside view before all the madness starts.
timd
maybe we should pay you to go to all the races?!?! Hang on, maybe I should pay myself to do it! Last picture is racey, who is she?!?!
The Fear
Fraid I don't know fear. Just a hot babe gossiping to another. Probably telling eachother how much they hate men!!!! The best I could do on the day
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1160
2. Red5 1120
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 590
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 211
10. VanGisbergen2013 168

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Hamilton right to move over for Bottas?
No 9%
Yes - It was a team order 30%
Yes - But naive team order 61%