Vital F1 | Formula One is a team sport
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Formula One is a team sport

The 2016 Formula One World Championship season has seem multiple changes in regards to team radio regulations.

Formula One went through a phase of wanting to clamp down on radio communications between the driver and the team.

On too many occasions in the past the Formula One world feed had broadcast instructions from the team to the driver to basically coach them through the race.

Everything from breaking points in the corner, to gear shifting and racing lines were discussed, to aid a driver and give them information that many believed should be a racers instinct.

So radio restrictions were put in place, but this brought complications in regards to the complexity of modern day F1 cars with the V6 Turbo-Hybrid power units.

Those complications were highlighted even further when the race stewards had to make their first decision in regards to a race penalty.

During the final stages of the race at Silverstone for the British Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg had an issue with his gearbox. Mercedes told the German driver the problem and explained that he had to avoid a certain gear.

The race stewards had no problem with this as the problem was a critical one for the car.

The problem came when Rosberg asked 'what does that mean?' and the team told him he had to push through the gear.

This instruction broke the regulations and Rosberg was handed a 10-second time penalty post race, dropping him from second to third, costing him three world championship points.

It was the second weekend where teams were left wondering what would happen if they were to break the new radio communications rules with both Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen struggling to get their cars to perform to their optimum at Baku, as the teams could not relay which setting they needed to change for fear of a penalty.

If they had known they would have been handed a 10 second race penalty, they may have instructed their drivers differently, as it appeared they lost far more time not being able to resolve their issues.

For the Austrian Grand Prix the FIA clarified the regulations, with a clear revision of what the teams are allowed to do.

But by the German Grand Prix the restrictions were completed lifted and drivers and teams were allowed to openly discuss everything once again.

It's fair to say it is a decision that Williams's Head of Vehicle Performance Rob Smedley agreed with.

ďI think from an engineering point of view, itís absolutely the right thing to open up the radios again, The cars are incredibly complicated now with these power units, and to be able to drive the car at 200mph and manage the power unit or any other problems that arise was just asking too much.Ē he told motorsport.com.

Smedley added: 'It's a team sport, and we have 500 people who work in the team.

ďIf you take this inane argument that the drivers are alone in the car, then why donít we take a step back and get rid of all the engineers, because 'itís the drivers and drivers alone'?

ďAnd we'll bring two cars here and we'll bolt them together... or we donít even have to do that. We can bring a bag of bits and they can bolt them together and they can get into them and drive them and they can get out and talk between themselves in that truck there.

ďWhere do you stop? Itís an inane argument, to be honest. Itís a team sport, whether or not itís called the drivers' championship, whether or not it's called a championship from the moon, itís a team sport.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday August 19 2016

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 29%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 19%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%