Vital F1 | Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore

The Formula One teams and drivers have made their tyre selections for the Singapore Grand Prix weekend.

The new three compound tyre regulations from Formula One and Pirelli have worked brilliantly this season.

The drivers and teams have to secretly make their selections weeks in advance and are then locked in with their selections, this has made for some interesting tyre strategies highlighted most recently at the Austrian Grand Prix and Belgian Grand Prix.

Although in Italy the choices proved disappointing as the degradation prevented Hamilton from ever having a chance of chasing down Rosberg.

For Singapore, the Pirelli compounds available are the yellow striped soft tyre, the red striped super-soft tyre and the new for 2016 purple marked ultra-soft compound.

Once again there are various combinations of compounds that the drivers have opted for with some drivers going for just one set of soft tyres, whilst others have gone for four sets of those tyres.

Selections for super-soft vary from two sets to five, whilst ultra-soft vary from six sets to nine, indicating that the purple ultra-soft tyre could be the tyre of choice for the race.

For this race 6 teams have gone for the same selection of tyres for both drivers, whilst 5 teams including both Mercedes and Ferrari have gone for different selections per driver.

At Mercedes, their drivers are now separated by just two points in the 2016 Formula One World Championship.

Hamilton holds that tiny lead and he has gone for 3 sets of soft, 3 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft, team-mate Rosberg has gone for one extra set of softs and one less super-soft.

At Ferrari, Sebastian Vettel 2 sets of soft, 2 sets of super-soft and 9 sets of ultra-soft with Kimi Raikkonen one less soft tyre and one extra super-soft tyre.

At Williams, Felipe Massa has 1 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 8 sets of ultra-soft and Valterri Bottas has one extra set of softs and one less of the super-softs.

McLaren have gone for the same combination for both Button and Alonso as Bottas.

Red Bull Racing, who have gone with 2 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft for both Ricciardo and Verstappen.

At Force India, both Perez and Hulkenberg have got 4 sets of soft, 3 sets of super-soft and 6 sets of ultra-soft and at Renault both drivers have 1 sets of soft, 5 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft.

At Toro Rosso, both drivers have the same combination as Felipe Massa of 1 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 8 sets of ultra-soft.

The same combo applies for Nasr at Sauber, while team-mate Ericsson has gone for the same combo as Kimi Raikkonen.

Manor are the only team to have gone for three sets of the soft tyre complimented by 4 sets of super-soft and 6 sets of ultra-soft.

Whilst Haas have gone with the same combination as Vettel for Grosjean, whilst Gutierrez has gone down the same path as Ericsson and Raikkonen.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday September 13 2016

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1155
2. Red5 1119
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 588
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 210
10. VanGisbergen2013 167

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Hamilton 0%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Vettel 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Verstappen 0%
Someone else 0%