Vital F1 | Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore

The Formula One teams and drivers have made their tyre selections for the Singapore Grand Prix weekend.

The new three compound tyre regulations from Formula One and Pirelli have worked brilliantly this season.

The drivers and teams have to secretly make their selections weeks in advance and are then locked in with their selections, this has made for some interesting tyre strategies highlighted most recently at the Austrian Grand Prix and Belgian Grand Prix.

Although in Italy the choices proved disappointing as the degradation prevented Hamilton from ever having a chance of chasing down Rosberg.

For Singapore, the Pirelli compounds available are the yellow striped soft tyre, the red striped super-soft tyre and the new for 2016 purple marked ultra-soft compound.

Once again there are various combinations of compounds that the drivers have opted for with some drivers going for just one set of soft tyres, whilst others have gone for four sets of those tyres.

Selections for super-soft vary from two sets to five, whilst ultra-soft vary from six sets to nine, indicating that the purple ultra-soft tyre could be the tyre of choice for the race.

For this race 6 teams have gone for the same selection of tyres for both drivers, whilst 5 teams including both Mercedes and Ferrari have gone for different selections per driver.

At Mercedes, their drivers are now separated by just two points in the 2016 Formula One World Championship.

Hamilton holds that tiny lead and he has gone for 3 sets of soft, 3 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft, team-mate Rosberg has gone for one extra set of softs and one less super-soft.

At Ferrari, Sebastian Vettel 2 sets of soft, 2 sets of super-soft and 9 sets of ultra-soft with Kimi Raikkonen one less soft tyre and one extra super-soft tyre.

At Williams, Felipe Massa has 1 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 8 sets of ultra-soft and Valterri Bottas has one extra set of softs and one less of the super-softs.

McLaren have gone for the same combination for both Button and Alonso as Bottas.

Red Bull Racing, who have gone with 2 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft for both Ricciardo and Verstappen.

At Force India, both Perez and Hulkenberg have got 4 sets of soft, 3 sets of super-soft and 6 sets of ultra-soft and at Renault both drivers have 1 sets of soft, 5 sets of super-soft and 7 sets of ultra-soft.

At Toro Rosso, both drivers have the same combination as Felipe Massa of 1 sets of soft, 4 sets of super-soft and 8 sets of ultra-soft.

The same combo applies for Nasr at Sauber, while team-mate Ericsson has gone for the same combo as Kimi Raikkonen.

Manor are the only team to have gone for three sets of the soft tyre complimented by 4 sets of super-soft and 6 sets of ultra-soft.

Whilst Haas have gone with the same combination as Vettel for Grosjean, whilst Gutierrez has gone down the same path as Ericsson and Raikkonen.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday September 13 2016

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1133
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 583
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 203
10. VanGisbergen2013 153

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 30%
Hamilton 28%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 21%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%