Vital F1 | Hamilton having a mental meltdown?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton having a mental meltdown?

One of the many reasons why Lewis Hamilton is both loved and hated is that he carries his emotions around heavily on his sleeve and his shoulders and practically anywhere visible.

If things are going well, its visible for all to see and if things are going bad its probably even more clear.

That's why, following two bad weekends in Malaysia and Japan, the media have jumped on three-time Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton.

His title bid for 2016 has taken a massive knock, some might even call it a knock out blow.

And some believe Hamilton has not taken it well.

With 16 laps of the Malaysia Grand Prix remaining, Lewis Hamilton was looking set to take charge of the Formula One World Championship.

But just one lap later, the latest in a season of reliability issues on the Hamilton side of the Mercedes garage struck.

His brand new Mercedes engine, one of many he took as a penalty following a host of failures earlier in the season gave up the ghost, exploding on the start/finish straight.

That placed a theoretical Rosberg hand on the Formula One trophy and then a poor start in Japan, with Rosberg returning to the top step of the podium has almost put a second hand on it just one week later.

The German now has a 33-point lead over his Mercedes team-mate with just four races remaining.

A race victory for Hamilton and a DNF for Rosberg would still see a 8 point advantage for the German.

Four consecutive victories for Hamilton with Rosberg finishing in second, would see the German win the title by 5 points.

Hamilton has come out fighting, mainly with the media, hence why he is now the subject of such negative headlines.

But one man has moved to defend him and that's Mercedes team-mate and 2016 Formula One World Champion elect Nico Rosberg.

Whilst discussing the notion that Hamilton was 'fragile' and in 'meltdown', Rosberg told Sky Sports: 'It's complete rubbish, He's on it like ever before, fully motivated and does massive work hours also. I've seldom seen that from him in the last few years, such a large amount.

He continued: 'For sure it's going to be a great battle with him, every race until the end of the championship.'

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff added: 'It's clear that the media needs to produce headlines, It's going both directions, you're being built up and being dropped. Lewis had a couple of bad weekends but if he recovers in Austin he will be the hero again.

'He's one of Britain's greatest heroes. He's won world titles in Formula 1 and this is not easy.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday October 12 2016

Time: 12:32PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1177
2. Red5 1125
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 512
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 217
10. VanGisbergen2013 179

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Mexico?
Hamilton 100%
Vettel 0%
Verstappen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%