Vital F1 | Hamilton having a mental meltdown?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton having a mental meltdown?

One of the many reasons why Lewis Hamilton is both loved and hated is that he carries his emotions around heavily on his sleeve and his shoulders and practically anywhere visible.

If things are going well, its visible for all to see and if things are going bad its probably even more clear.

That's why, following two bad weekends in Malaysia and Japan, the media have jumped on three-time Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton.

His title bid for 2016 has taken a massive knock, some might even call it a knock out blow.

And some believe Hamilton has not taken it well.

With 16 laps of the Malaysia Grand Prix remaining, Lewis Hamilton was looking set to take charge of the Formula One World Championship.

But just one lap later, the latest in a season of reliability issues on the Hamilton side of the Mercedes garage struck.

His brand new Mercedes engine, one of many he took as a penalty following a host of failures earlier in the season gave up the ghost, exploding on the start/finish straight.

That placed a theoretical Rosberg hand on the Formula One trophy and then a poor start in Japan, with Rosberg returning to the top step of the podium has almost put a second hand on it just one week later.

The German now has a 33-point lead over his Mercedes team-mate with just four races remaining.

A race victory for Hamilton and a DNF for Rosberg would still see a 8 point advantage for the German.

Four consecutive victories for Hamilton with Rosberg finishing in second, would see the German win the title by 5 points.

Hamilton has come out fighting, mainly with the media, hence why he is now the subject of such negative headlines.

But one man has moved to defend him and that's Mercedes team-mate and 2016 Formula One World Champion elect Nico Rosberg.

Whilst discussing the notion that Hamilton was 'fragile' and in 'meltdown', Rosberg told Sky Sports: 'It's complete rubbish, He's on it like ever before, fully motivated and does massive work hours also. I've seldom seen that from him in the last few years, such a large amount.

He continued: 'For sure it's going to be a great battle with him, every race until the end of the championship.'

Mercedes boss Toto Wolff added: 'It's clear that the media needs to produce headlines, It's going both directions, you're being built up and being dropped. Lewis had a couple of bad weekends but if he recovers in Austin he will be the hero again.

'He's one of Britain's greatest heroes. He's won world titles in Formula 1 and this is not easy.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday October 12 2016

Time: 12:32PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 204
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%