Vital F1 | Vettel wins eventful Monaco race
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Vettel wins eventful Monaco race

It may well have been the same old winner, but once again the new Formula One regulations served up a treat for F1 fans.

With the laps ticking down, the watching public was in for a treat, three previous Formula One World champions, in three different cars, all fighting for the win at the most prestigious race of the year, the Monaco Grand Prix.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel's mistake in the pits left him out in the lead on old tyres after just one stop, Ferrari's Fernando Alonso having made two stops was crawling over the back of the defending World champion, while McLaren's Jenson Button was just beginning to get involved in the mix after his three-stop strategy had put all three cars in with a shot of the win.

But as the leading three caught up with a gaggle of back-markers a multi-car incident brought out the safety car and ultimately the red flag with just six laps to go.

The incident at the Swimming Pool involved Vitaly Petrov's Renault, Jaime Alguersuari's Toro Rosso and Lewis Hamilton's McLaren, it left Alguersuari out of the race, Petrov in a medical vehicle on the way to the medical centre (thankfully he's fine) and Lewis Hamilton with a broken rear wing.

But while the red flag was of benefit for Hamilton as his team was able to fix his stricken McLaren, it ended both Alonso and Button's chances of the race win as Vettel was able to get rid of his very old and used tyres and when the race re-started the Red Bull cruised to yet another victory.

The win, Vettel's fifth from the opening six races of the season leaves him with a 58 point lead at the top of the current standings.

The Formula One circus next stops in Canada in two weeks time.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday May 29 2011

Time: 9:41PM

Your Comments

Crazy rule that allows a tyre change after a stop. Guarrenteed vetel win when it could havé meant either drivers behind him could havé won
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1095
2. DJ 1059
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 562
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Hamilton 49%
Rosberg 8%
Verstappen 27%
Ricciardo 4%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 3%
Someone else 3%