Vital F1 | A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2

This is Part 2, if you haven't yet read Part 1, please click the link - A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 1

The engines began to start.

Then the first circuit with the safety car.

Then the start.

If you haven't been here for the race it’s difficult to imagine the sound that reverberates around the tiny streets. To me, one of the best noises I've ever heard, I took my earplugs out so I could get the full effect. As they all get to the far end of the track past Casino it all goes quiet but as they burst out of the tunnel for the first time, still together, the crescendo happens together with the air vibrating.

Better than sex!!

Well not quite. But thinking about it, there were a couple of my ex-wives..... Anyway back to the the race!

We walked along the quay to the tender port & Mary took a superb shot of the casino.



As the race progressed we sat on the steps of the quays chatting to other people about the race and just people-watching.



How lucky were we in comparison to the 67,000 in the stands rubber necking as the cars past and frying in the heat. The alternative, grand prix but ten times better and just a hint cheaper. Ours cost €20 including €10 off whatever you buy from SnB against minimum €400 in the stands. You have to be in thé know ;))

We returned to SnB and found a table outside by a screen and watched the dramatic chase between Vettel, Alonso and Button.

A piece of history being written and for us we could hear it too. When the crashes happened we all held our breath, with you, then realized the leaders had escaped. Then the long wait, obviously we're used to safety cars here but this was getting silly.

The only good thing that happened as far as I was concerned was that Petrov was out, if you remember the toe rag tried to run me over the other day!

The German table started asking me questions about the restart (hey I'm English so I'm an expert!??) so I rang a Dutch mate on a yacht in the harbour who IS an expert (god how many Dutch people do I know?) who told me it would be a safety car start. I announced this to the tables around us and I became a hero. A glass of Champagne gracefully offered for my genius? Sweet Fanny Adams; bugger.

So as you know the race finished with Vettel winning. While I bored a table of Belgians (almost impossible. I know but I succeeded) about tyre changes etc my mates slipped off to the media centre to wait for the drivers to pass through.



I arrived to they're disappointment to muscle my way in to the barricade which really upset a French guy who told me to go forth & multiply! The security guy told me to move, English against French?



No chance if I'd been Lewis maybe I'd have accused him of moving me on cos I was black ;)))



Anyway we moved back to the RBB to watch the conquering hero arrive to start partying.



The barge was buzzing and as the team members arrived they were cheered to the rafters, quite rightly they do a fantastic job. Newey arrived and was mobbed.



A long wait, then Vettel arrived and the barge went crazy, up the stairs to be thrown in the pool.



By now the track was open and we decided to walk up it to go home and for me to get some tyre marbles, yes I know body of a 63 year-old brain of a 12 year-old and was SO disappointed. They look more like animal droppings don't they??



So that was it for it for another year. Went home to get the right side of a bottle of local rosé.

Next year we've the Grand Prix Historique two weeks before the big one

've enjoyed doing these reports, hope you've enjoyed reading them a little.

Why not try it yourself if you live local to where the grand prix is for you. Silverstone being favourite I suppose?

Red Bull for championship? Many think it's written in stone.

Edward Underhill

For Villaininthemerde previous updates, click the links:

Monaco buzzing and gearing up - Tuesday May 24 2011

Blue Touch Paper Ready To Be Lit In Monaco - Thursday May 26 2011

More photos from Monaco - Saturday May 28 2011



Also look out for our Gossip from Monaco thread on the VitalF1.com forum for general discussion throughout the weekend.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 31 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

fantastic stuff there Villaininthemerde, no more than I'd expect from you though!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel's future is clear (Wednesday December 7 2016)

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 592
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 44%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 56%