Vital F1 | A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2

This is Part 2, if you haven't yet read Part 1, please click the link - A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 1

The engines began to start.

Then the first circuit with the safety car.

Then the start.

If you haven't been here for the race it’s difficult to imagine the sound that reverberates around the tiny streets. To me, one of the best noises I've ever heard, I took my earplugs out so I could get the full effect. As they all get to the far end of the track past Casino it all goes quiet but as they burst out of the tunnel for the first time, still together, the crescendo happens together with the air vibrating.

Better than sex!!

Well not quite. But thinking about it, there were a couple of my ex-wives..... Anyway back to the the race!

We walked along the quay to the tender port & Mary took a superb shot of the casino.



As the race progressed we sat on the steps of the quays chatting to other people about the race and just people-watching.



How lucky were we in comparison to the 67,000 in the stands rubber necking as the cars past and frying in the heat. The alternative, grand prix but ten times better and just a hint cheaper. Ours cost €20 including €10 off whatever you buy from SnB against minimum €400 in the stands. You have to be in thé know ;))

We returned to SnB and found a table outside by a screen and watched the dramatic chase between Vettel, Alonso and Button.

A piece of history being written and for us we could hear it too. When the crashes happened we all held our breath, with you, then realized the leaders had escaped. Then the long wait, obviously we're used to safety cars here but this was getting silly.

The only good thing that happened as far as I was concerned was that Petrov was out, if you remember the toe rag tried to run me over the other day!

The German table started asking me questions about the restart (hey I'm English so I'm an expert!??) so I rang a Dutch mate on a yacht in the harbour who IS an expert (god how many Dutch people do I know?) who told me it would be a safety car start. I announced this to the tables around us and I became a hero. A glass of Champagne gracefully offered for my genius? Sweet Fanny Adams; bugger.

So as you know the race finished with Vettel winning. While I bored a table of Belgians (almost impossible. I know but I succeeded) about tyre changes etc my mates slipped off to the media centre to wait for the drivers to pass through.



I arrived to they're disappointment to muscle my way in to the barricade which really upset a French guy who told me to go forth & multiply! The security guy told me to move, English against French?



No chance if I'd been Lewis maybe I'd have accused him of moving me on cos I was black ;)))



Anyway we moved back to the RBB to watch the conquering hero arrive to start partying.



The barge was buzzing and as the team members arrived they were cheered to the rafters, quite rightly they do a fantastic job. Newey arrived and was mobbed.



A long wait, then Vettel arrived and the barge went crazy, up the stairs to be thrown in the pool.



By now the track was open and we decided to walk up it to go home and for me to get some tyre marbles, yes I know body of a 63 year-old brain of a 12 year-old and was SO disappointed. They look more like animal droppings don't they??



So that was it for it for another year. Went home to get the right side of a bottle of local rosé.

Next year we've the Grand Prix Historique two weeks before the big one

've enjoyed doing these reports, hope you've enjoyed reading them a little.

Why not try it yourself if you live local to where the grand prix is for you. Silverstone being favourite I suppose?

Red Bull for championship? Many think it's written in stone.

Edward Underhill

For Villaininthemerde previous updates, click the links:

Monaco buzzing and gearing up - Tuesday May 24 2011

Blue Touch Paper Ready To Be Lit In Monaco - Thursday May 26 2011

More photos from Monaco - Saturday May 28 2011



Also look out for our Gossip from Monaco thread on the VitalF1.com forum for general discussion throughout the weekend.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 31 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

fantastic stuff there Villaininthemerde, no more than I'd expect from you though!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 35%
Rosberg 11%
Ricciardo 16%
Verstappen 38%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%