Vital F1 | A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2

This is Part 2, if you haven't yet read Part 1, please click the link - A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 1

The engines began to start.

Then the first circuit with the safety car.

Then the start.

If you haven't been here for the race it’s difficult to imagine the sound that reverberates around the tiny streets. To me, one of the best noises I've ever heard, I took my earplugs out so I could get the full effect. As they all get to the far end of the track past Casino it all goes quiet but as they burst out of the tunnel for the first time, still together, the crescendo happens together with the air vibrating.

Better than sex!!

Well not quite. But thinking about it, there were a couple of my ex-wives..... Anyway back to the the race!

We walked along the quay to the tender port & Mary took a superb shot of the casino.



As the race progressed we sat on the steps of the quays chatting to other people about the race and just people-watching.



How lucky were we in comparison to the 67,000 in the stands rubber necking as the cars past and frying in the heat. The alternative, grand prix but ten times better and just a hint cheaper. Ours cost €20 including €10 off whatever you buy from SnB against minimum €400 in the stands. You have to be in thé know ;))

We returned to SnB and found a table outside by a screen and watched the dramatic chase between Vettel, Alonso and Button.

A piece of history being written and for us we could hear it too. When the crashes happened we all held our breath, with you, then realized the leaders had escaped. Then the long wait, obviously we're used to safety cars here but this was getting silly.

The only good thing that happened as far as I was concerned was that Petrov was out, if you remember the toe rag tried to run me over the other day!

The German table started asking me questions about the restart (hey I'm English so I'm an expert!??) so I rang a Dutch mate on a yacht in the harbour who IS an expert (god how many Dutch people do I know?) who told me it would be a safety car start. I announced this to the tables around us and I became a hero. A glass of Champagne gracefully offered for my genius? Sweet Fanny Adams; bugger.

So as you know the race finished with Vettel winning. While I bored a table of Belgians (almost impossible. I know but I succeeded) about tyre changes etc my mates slipped off to the media centre to wait for the drivers to pass through.



I arrived to they're disappointment to muscle my way in to the barricade which really upset a French guy who told me to go forth & multiply! The security guy told me to move, English against French?



No chance if I'd been Lewis maybe I'd have accused him of moving me on cos I was black ;)))



Anyway we moved back to the RBB to watch the conquering hero arrive to start partying.



The barge was buzzing and as the team members arrived they were cheered to the rafters, quite rightly they do a fantastic job. Newey arrived and was mobbed.



A long wait, then Vettel arrived and the barge went crazy, up the stairs to be thrown in the pool.



By now the track was open and we decided to walk up it to go home and for me to get some tyre marbles, yes I know body of a 63 year-old brain of a 12 year-old and was SO disappointed. They look more like animal droppings don't they??



So that was it for it for another year. Went home to get the right side of a bottle of local rosé.

Next year we've the Grand Prix Historique two weeks before the big one

've enjoyed doing these reports, hope you've enjoyed reading them a little.

Why not try it yourself if you live local to where the grand prix is for you. Silverstone being favourite I suppose?

Red Bull for championship? Many think it's written in stone.

Edward Underhill

For Villaininthemerde previous updates, click the links:

Monaco buzzing and gearing up - Tuesday May 24 2011

Blue Touch Paper Ready To Be Lit In Monaco - Thursday May 26 2011

More photos from Monaco - Saturday May 28 2011



Also look out for our Gossip from Monaco thread on the VitalF1.com forum for general discussion throughout the weekend.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 31 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

fantastic stuff there Villaininthemerde, no more than I'd expect from you though!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamilton’s takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1155
2. Red5 1119
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 588
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 210
10. VanGisbergen2013 167

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British Grand Prix?
Bottas 3%
Vettel 35%
Ricciardo 0%
Hamilton 42%
Raikkonen 5%
Verstappen 15%
Someone else 0%