Vital F1 | A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2

This is Part 2, if you haven't yet read Part 1, please click the link - A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 1

The engines began to start.

Then the first circuit with the safety car.

Then the start.

If you haven't been here for the race it’s difficult to imagine the sound that reverberates around the tiny streets. To me, one of the best noises I've ever heard, I took my earplugs out so I could get the full effect. As they all get to the far end of the track past Casino it all goes quiet but as they burst out of the tunnel for the first time, still together, the crescendo happens together with the air vibrating.

Better than sex!!

Well not quite. But thinking about it, there were a couple of my ex-wives..... Anyway back to the the race!

We walked along the quay to the tender port & Mary took a superb shot of the casino.



As the race progressed we sat on the steps of the quays chatting to other people about the race and just people-watching.



How lucky were we in comparison to the 67,000 in the stands rubber necking as the cars past and frying in the heat. The alternative, grand prix but ten times better and just a hint cheaper. Ours cost €20 including €10 off whatever you buy from SnB against minimum €400 in the stands. You have to be in thé know ;))

We returned to SnB and found a table outside by a screen and watched the dramatic chase between Vettel, Alonso and Button.

A piece of history being written and for us we could hear it too. When the crashes happened we all held our breath, with you, then realized the leaders had escaped. Then the long wait, obviously we're used to safety cars here but this was getting silly.

The only good thing that happened as far as I was concerned was that Petrov was out, if you remember the toe rag tried to run me over the other day!

The German table started asking me questions about the restart (hey I'm English so I'm an expert!??) so I rang a Dutch mate on a yacht in the harbour who IS an expert (god how many Dutch people do I know?) who told me it would be a safety car start. I announced this to the tables around us and I became a hero. A glass of Champagne gracefully offered for my genius? Sweet Fanny Adams; bugger.

So as you know the race finished with Vettel winning. While I bored a table of Belgians (almost impossible. I know but I succeeded) about tyre changes etc my mates slipped off to the media centre to wait for the drivers to pass through.



I arrived to they're disappointment to muscle my way in to the barricade which really upset a French guy who told me to go forth & multiply! The security guy told me to move, English against French?



No chance if I'd been Lewis maybe I'd have accused him of moving me on cos I was black ;)))



Anyway we moved back to the RBB to watch the conquering hero arrive to start partying.



The barge was buzzing and as the team members arrived they were cheered to the rafters, quite rightly they do a fantastic job. Newey arrived and was mobbed.



A long wait, then Vettel arrived and the barge went crazy, up the stairs to be thrown in the pool.



By now the track was open and we decided to walk up it to go home and for me to get some tyre marbles, yes I know body of a 63 year-old brain of a 12 year-old and was SO disappointed. They look more like animal droppings don't they??



So that was it for it for another year. Went home to get the right side of a bottle of local rosé.

Next year we've the Grand Prix Historique two weeks before the big one

've enjoyed doing these reports, hope you've enjoyed reading them a little.

Why not try it yourself if you live local to where the grand prix is for you. Silverstone being favourite I suppose?

Red Bull for championship? Many think it's written in stone.

Edward Underhill

For Villaininthemerde previous updates, click the links:

Monaco buzzing and gearing up - Tuesday May 24 2011

Blue Touch Paper Ready To Be Lit In Monaco - Thursday May 26 2011

More photos from Monaco - Saturday May 28 2011



Also look out for our Gossip from Monaco thread on the VitalF1.com forum for general discussion throughout the weekend.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 31 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

fantastic stuff there Villaininthemerde, no more than I'd expect from you though!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1129
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 513
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 23%
Hamilton 42%
Verstappen 14%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 7%
Someone else 7%