Vital F1 | A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 2

This is Part 2, if you haven't yet read Part 1, please click the link - A day at the (Monaco) races - Part 1

The engines began to start.

Then the first circuit with the safety car.

Then the start.

If you haven't been here for the race it’s difficult to imagine the sound that reverberates around the tiny streets. To me, one of the best noises I've ever heard, I took my earplugs out so I could get the full effect. As they all get to the far end of the track past Casino it all goes quiet but as they burst out of the tunnel for the first time, still together, the crescendo happens together with the air vibrating.

Better than sex!!

Well not quite. But thinking about it, there were a couple of my ex-wives..... Anyway back to the the race!

We walked along the quay to the tender port & Mary took a superb shot of the casino.



As the race progressed we sat on the steps of the quays chatting to other people about the race and just people-watching.



How lucky were we in comparison to the 67,000 in the stands rubber necking as the cars past and frying in the heat. The alternative, grand prix but ten times better and just a hint cheaper. Ours cost €20 including €10 off whatever you buy from SnB against minimum €400 in the stands. You have to be in thé know ;))

We returned to SnB and found a table outside by a screen and watched the dramatic chase between Vettel, Alonso and Button.

A piece of history being written and for us we could hear it too. When the crashes happened we all held our breath, with you, then realized the leaders had escaped. Then the long wait, obviously we're used to safety cars here but this was getting silly.

The only good thing that happened as far as I was concerned was that Petrov was out, if you remember the toe rag tried to run me over the other day!

The German table started asking me questions about the restart (hey I'm English so I'm an expert!??) so I rang a Dutch mate on a yacht in the harbour who IS an expert (god how many Dutch people do I know?) who told me it would be a safety car start. I announced this to the tables around us and I became a hero. A glass of Champagne gracefully offered for my genius? Sweet Fanny Adams; bugger.

So as you know the race finished with Vettel winning. While I bored a table of Belgians (almost impossible. I know but I succeeded) about tyre changes etc my mates slipped off to the media centre to wait for the drivers to pass through.



I arrived to they're disappointment to muscle my way in to the barricade which really upset a French guy who told me to go forth & multiply! The security guy told me to move, English against French?



No chance if I'd been Lewis maybe I'd have accused him of moving me on cos I was black ;)))



Anyway we moved back to the RBB to watch the conquering hero arrive to start partying.



The barge was buzzing and as the team members arrived they were cheered to the rafters, quite rightly they do a fantastic job. Newey arrived and was mobbed.



A long wait, then Vettel arrived and the barge went crazy, up the stairs to be thrown in the pool.



By now the track was open and we decided to walk up it to go home and for me to get some tyre marbles, yes I know body of a 63 year-old brain of a 12 year-old and was SO disappointed. They look more like animal droppings don't they??



So that was it for it for another year. Went home to get the right side of a bottle of local rosé.

Next year we've the Grand Prix Historique two weeks before the big one

've enjoyed doing these reports, hope you've enjoyed reading them a little.

Why not try it yourself if you live local to where the grand prix is for you. Silverstone being favourite I suppose?

Red Bull for championship? Many think it's written in stone.

Edward Underhill

For Villaininthemerde previous updates, click the links:

Monaco buzzing and gearing up - Tuesday May 24 2011

Blue Touch Paper Ready To Be Lit In Monaco - Thursday May 26 2011

More photos from Monaco - Saturday May 28 2011



Also look out for our Gossip from Monaco thread on the VitalF1.com forum for general discussion throughout the weekend.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Villaininthemerde Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 31 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

fantastic stuff there Villaininthemerde, no more than I'd expect from you though!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%