Vital F1 | Australia prepares for 2017 F1
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Australia prepares for 2017 F1

The Australian Grand Prix organisers have had to make new preparations for the 2017 Formula One World Championship curtain raiser.

The new specification Formula One cars may have yet made their debut in testing, but based on simulations the FIA have suggested that some alterations should be made to the Albert Park circuit and they have duly obliged.

This includes new lay-outs for tyre walls and $100,000 worth of Tecpro high-speed barriers to be installed.

“The FIA gave us instructions, based on the simulations they’ve done, on which turns would need additional tyre buffers, or in the case of Turn 12 inclusion of a high-speed barrier,” Craig Moca, Division Manager of Infrastructure at the AGPC told motorsport.com.

“We took all the information we received from the FIA, and being a temporary circuit we had to manufacture additional tyre buffers and purchase 80 metres worth of the Tec Pro barrier.

“That’s a big step for us from being an old-school track where we’ve got tyres and conveyor belts, to having these high-speed barriers.”


With new aerodynamic regulations and wider profile tyres the Formula One cars are expected to be 20 and 50 km/h faster on mid-to-high speed corners at Albert Park with the lap times to also be three to four seconds faster.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday January 13 2017

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamilton’s takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1170
2. Red5 1122
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 593
7. Push The Button 507
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 214
10. VanGisbergen2013 173

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Malaysia?
Hamilton 40%
Vettel 0%
Bottas 20%
Raikkonen 40%
Ricciardo 0%
Verstappen 0%
Someone else 0%