Vital F1 | British GP fate being discussed with F1 bosses
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

British GP fate being discussed with F1 bosses

BRDC chief Derek Warwick believes there is too much will for a British Grand Prix at Silverstone for the event to not take place in the future.

The owners of the Silverstone race circuit the British Racing Drivers Club are considering activating their break clause with Formula One.

Silverstone has a contract in place with Formula One until 2026, however both the promoters and Formula One themselves are able to activate a break clause over the coming months.

If that were to be triggered, the final British Grand Prix at Silverstone would take place in 2019.

The reason behind the consideration is said to be the high hosting fees that the promoters have to pay Formula One to host the race.

The fees are so high that despite running a very successful event, the financial risks are still too great to commit towards.

Especially as its been reported that the current deal includes a 5% escalator fee which has seen costs rise to £17million for the 2017 British Grand Prix.

With an incoming new owner of Formula One in the form of Liberty Media and a sympathetic British government it would seem there is potential for new negotiations.

“I’ve just got a feeling…we can’t do without the British GP, we can’t do without Silverstone, some compromise will be made, either with Bernie [Ecclestone] or the new people who are taking over F1, which is Liberty. Warwick said at the Autosport International Show as quoted by Sky Sports.

“We’ve had meetings with Liberty and [F1 chairman] Chase Carey. He understands our dilemma and we understand he has to make money because that’s what these guys are doing, but I just feel there is light at the end of the tunnel.

“I think we will have a grand prix past 2019.”

“We’re talking to Liberty and even Bernie now is calling us and saying ‘let’s set up a meeting and talk about it’. We’re feeling very positive at the minute and there’s a lot of good things happening at Silverstone.”








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday January 17 2017

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 16%
Fair 0%
Lenient 84%