Vital F1 | Wehrlein reveals severity of neck injury
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Wehrlein reveals severity of neck injury

Pascal Wehrlein crashed into the back of Felipe Massa during January's Race of Champions event in Miami.

In a bizarre crash, after losing to Felipe Massa, Wehrlein crashed into the back of Massa flipping the car into the barriers.

The German driver would go on to miss winter testing for his new team Sauber and whilst travelling to the opening rounds of the 2017 Formula One World Championship in Australia and China he also did not race in those Grand Prix, choosing instead to return in Bahrain.

At the time the severity of his injury was not known, but now it has been revealed that he suffered a compression fracture of a neck vertebra, with the German tweeting some images of his rehabilitation prior to his return.

'I think I'm not someone who likes to share everything in public.

'My social media I use it more as a race driver where I do my job and then I like to have a private life as well, so I don't share a lot of my private life on social media. And this injury was something private. In the end it was something serious.
Wehrlein told

Should Sauber have been more open about the injury to prevent some of the mis-informed rumours that had circulated around the paddock?

'Everyone knew that I was injured. Everyone knew that I had to get the green light from the doctors, I had to be cleared by the FIA, so normally that doesn't happen if you have muscle pain.

'We said it's a back injury and it will be fine with some time. That's what we said. We didn't lie to anyone, we didn't hide anything. We always said I had a back injury. It's not a problem because we knew I would come back soon.

'That's what we said. Then people started to create their own fantasy.'

Speaking about the Race Of Champions event, also speaking to he added: 'I will go again to the Race Of Champions. Maybe not this year, and maybe I won't drive a car with three wheels...

'But for sure I will go again. I think this year I will skip it once. Maybe I will go there just for the party.'

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday April 27 2017

Time: 11:00AM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

McLaren will be strong in Australia (Thursday March 22 2018)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Wednesday March 21 2018)

Who will win in Australia 2018? (Tuesday March 20 2018)

Brawn wants F1 league table for tracks (Friday February 23 2018)

Mercedes uncertain on who will be a threat (Thursday February 22 2018)

Verstappen dreading Halo introduction (Wednesday February 21 2018)

Haas want to close the gap to Ferrari (Tuesday February 20 2018)

Williams defend inexperienced line-up (Monday February 19 2018)

Renault still looking to change the rules (Thursday February 15 2018)

London double-decker bus could sit on Halo (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Could Hamilton return to McLaren? (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Massa gave no guidance to Stroll (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Wehrlein returns to DTM (Monday February 12 2018)

Grid Girls to be replaced by Grid Kids (Monday February 12 2018)

Former champ calls for 26 car grids (Friday February 9 2018)

Alonso to compete at Le Mans (Tuesday February 6 2018)

Force India & Sauber withdraw EU complaint (Wednesday January 31 2018)

F1 set to jump on Verstappen bandwagon (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Lauda takes dig at Red Bull (Friday January 26 2018)

Cosworth keen on F1 return (Thursday January 25 2018)

Former champs back Hamilton (Wednesday January 24 2018)

All you need to know for F1 in 2018 (Tuesday January 23 2018)

Full Formula One line-up for 2018 set (Monday January 22 2018)

Could Red Bull be favourites for 2018? (Wednesday January 17 2018)

Force India sign F2 race winner (Friday January 12 2018)

Massa backing Williams in 2018 (Thursday January 11 2018)

F1 regulations unreasonable says Honda (Wednesday January 10 2018)

Pirelli receive Red Bull backing (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Aston Martin in demand (Monday January 8 2018)

Haas positive 2018 car will be better (Thursday January 4 2018)

Wehrlein set to bid goodbye to F1 (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Hamilton critical of French GP return (Tuesday January 2 2018)

Liberty get backing from Horner (Saturday December 30 2017)

F1 attendance figures on the rise (Wednesday December 27 2017)

Tost concentraing in Honda positives (Wednesday December 27 2017)

Merry Christmas from VitalF1 (Monday December 25 2017)

Todt to enjoy 12 years as FIA president (Sunday December 24 2017)

What's in a number? (Wednesday December 20 2017)

Grid penalty change for 2018 (Tuesday December 19 2017)

Hamilton and Vettel clash (Monday December 18 2017)

Ocon eyes Mercedes seat for 2019 (Friday December 15 2017)

Alonso targets race wins in 2018 (Thursday December 14 2017)

Hamilton and Alonso praise Pirelli (Monday December 11 2017)

All female racing series to support F1? (Wednesday December 6 2017)

Alfa Romeo name returns to F1 (Monday December 4 2017)

Hamilton poor form down to partying (Thursday November 30 2017)

More change in F1, but this one is positive (Wednesday November 29 2017)

Liberty Media alienating F1 fans? (Tuesday November 28 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 27 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 26 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 24 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 24 2017)

Expanded calendar for Formula 2 and GP3 (Friday November 24 2017)

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1213
2. Red5 1130
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 518
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 183

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who is going to win in Australia?
Hamilton 34%
Bottas 0%
Vettel 38%
Raikkonen 7%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 7%