Vital F1 - Perez withdraws from Canada GP
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez withdraws from Canada GP

Having previously been passed fit by the FIA medical examiners, Sergio Perez returned to his Sauber for yesterday's first practice session.

However the Mexican who is in his first season of Formula One soon felt unwell and told his team he was feeling sick.

Due to the nature of his accident in qualifying at Monaco, the team and driver decided it was best if Perez sat out the race and Pedro de la Rosa will race in his place.

'This development hit us by surprise, because Sergio underwent thorough medical checks, first in the hospital in Monaco, then in a hospital in Zürich, and finally, the FIA doctors gave him the green light this Thursday in Montreal. Nobody could have foreseen that he would feel unwell. Maybe we are being overly cautious, but when it's about the health of our drivers we take zero risks.' Peter Sauber told Autosport Magazine.

Perez suffered concussion from his crash in Monaco and spent two evenings in hospital, missing the Grand Prix, but had insisted that he would be well enough to return to the car this weekend.

'Of course I wanted to drive and I had no doubt I was alright, But apparently this is unfortunately not the case. I am deeply disappointed.' Perez added.

'I spoke to the team after the session and told them that I'm not a hundred per cent fit. I only want to drive when I'm a hundred per cent well. I need some more time to recover.'

McLaren's reserve Pedro de la Rosa was drafted into the car just ten minutes prior to the second practice session getting under way on Friday.

Sauber and McLaren had organised the deal to see the veteran driver race during the week, but following Perez passing his medical de la Rosa was surprised to discover he would be racing after all.

'I was finishing lunch when [Sauber CEO] Monisha Kaltenborn showed up at McLaren and asked me, 'are you ready? It's very likely you will have to get in the car', I checked my watch and it was ten to two and I said 'but there's 10 minutes to the start of the session!'

'From then it was a crazy race to get my helmet, my overalls, my things at McLaren!'
de la Rosa said.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday June 11 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1057
2. DJ 970
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 541
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 167
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Belgium?
Hamilton 45%
Rosberg 8%
Vettel 2%
Raikkonen 35%
Bottas 2%
Massa 0%
Someone else 8%