Vital F1 | Perez withdraws from Canada GP
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez withdraws from Canada GP

Having previously been passed fit by the FIA medical examiners, Sergio Perez returned to his Sauber for yesterday's first practice session.

However the Mexican who is in his first season of Formula One soon felt unwell and told his team he was feeling sick.

Due to the nature of his accident in qualifying at Monaco, the team and driver decided it was best if Perez sat out the race and Pedro de la Rosa will race in his place.

'This development hit us by surprise, because Sergio underwent thorough medical checks, first in the hospital in Monaco, then in a hospital in Zürich, and finally, the FIA doctors gave him the green light this Thursday in Montreal. Nobody could have foreseen that he would feel unwell. Maybe we are being overly cautious, but when it's about the health of our drivers we take zero risks.' Peter Sauber told Autosport Magazine.

Perez suffered concussion from his crash in Monaco and spent two evenings in hospital, missing the Grand Prix, but had insisted that he would be well enough to return to the car this weekend.

'Of course I wanted to drive and I had no doubt I was alright, But apparently this is unfortunately not the case. I am deeply disappointed.' Perez added.

'I spoke to the team after the session and told them that I'm not a hundred per cent fit. I only want to drive when I'm a hundred per cent well. I need some more time to recover.'

McLaren's reserve Pedro de la Rosa was drafted into the car just ten minutes prior to the second practice session getting under way on Friday.

Sauber and McLaren had organised the deal to see the veteran driver race during the week, but following Perez passing his medical de la Rosa was surprised to discover he would be racing after all.

'I was finishing lunch when [Sauber CEO] Monisha Kaltenborn showed up at McLaren and asked me, 'are you ready? It's very likely you will have to get in the car', I checked my watch and it was ten to two and I said 'but there's 10 minutes to the start of the session!'

'From then it was a crazy race to get my helmet, my overalls, my things at McLaren!'
de la Rosa said.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday June 11 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 16%
Fair 0%
Lenient 84%