Vital F1 - Perez withdraws from Canada GP
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez withdraws from Canada GP

Having previously been passed fit by the FIA medical examiners, Sergio Perez returned to his Sauber for yesterday's first practice session.

However the Mexican who is in his first season of Formula One soon felt unwell and told his team he was feeling sick.

Due to the nature of his accident in qualifying at Monaco, the team and driver decided it was best if Perez sat out the race and Pedro de la Rosa will race in his place.

'This development hit us by surprise, because Sergio underwent thorough medical checks, first in the hospital in Monaco, then in a hospital in Zürich, and finally, the FIA doctors gave him the green light this Thursday in Montreal. Nobody could have foreseen that he would feel unwell. Maybe we are being overly cautious, but when it's about the health of our drivers we take zero risks.' Peter Sauber told Autosport Magazine.

Perez suffered concussion from his crash in Monaco and spent two evenings in hospital, missing the Grand Prix, but had insisted that he would be well enough to return to the car this weekend.

'Of course I wanted to drive and I had no doubt I was alright, But apparently this is unfortunately not the case. I am deeply disappointed.' Perez added.

'I spoke to the team after the session and told them that I'm not a hundred per cent fit. I only want to drive when I'm a hundred per cent well. I need some more time to recover.'

McLaren's reserve Pedro de la Rosa was drafted into the car just ten minutes prior to the second practice session getting under way on Friday.

Sauber and McLaren had organised the deal to see the veteran driver race during the week, but following Perez passing his medical de la Rosa was surprised to discover he would be racing after all.

'I was finishing lunch when [Sauber CEO] Monisha Kaltenborn showed up at McLaren and asked me, 'are you ready? It's very likely you will have to get in the car', I checked my watch and it was ten to two and I said 'but there's 10 minutes to the start of the session!'

'From then it was a crazy race to get my helmet, my overalls, my things at McLaren!'
de la Rosa said.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday June 11 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday March 31 2016)

CVC contemplating selling stake in F1 (Wednesday March 30 2016)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday March 29 2016)

F1 to drop behind paywall in 2019 (Monday March 28 2016)

Force India rues red flag (Friday March 25 2016)

Ferrari play down strategy error (Thursday March 24 2016)

Haas enjoy amazing debut (Wednesday March 23 2016)

Hamilton pleased with damage limitation (Wednesday March 23 2016)

F1 drops new qualifying format (Tuesday March 22 2016)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Sunday March 20 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 20 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP2 (Friday March 18 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP1 (Friday March 18 2016)

Australian Grand Prix could be messy (Thursday March 17 2016)

Aston Martin enter F1 with Red Bull (Thursday March 17 2016)

Lauda lambasts new rules (Thursday March 17 2016)

Channel 4 left red faced (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Di Resta set for busy 2016 (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Tuesday March 15 2016)

Who will win in Australia? (Tuesday March 15 2016)

Bernie killed the radio star (Wednesday March 9 2016)

Cash flow problems for Sauber (Wednesday March 9 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1033
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 472
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 180
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Hamilton 39%
Rosberg 21%
Vettel 14%
Raikkonen 6%
Ricciardo 14%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 6%