Vital F1 | di Resta joins Hamilton over steward decisions
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

di Resta joins Hamilton over steward decisions

Force India driver Paul di Resta has joined McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton over complaining about recent race stewards decisions.

Hamilton expressed his opinions following the Monaco Grand Prix, however he was forced to quickly retract his comments after he made a joke in regards to his race.

Fellow Brit di Resta however thought he had a legitimate reason to complain following the Canadian Grand Prix and has asked his team to discuss the incident with F1 bosses.

The incident resulted in di Resta losing his front wing and then incurring a drive through penalty from race control.

'It's not even harsh, it's ridiculous, I'd had a chance of passing Heidfeld the lap before the incident but thought I'd bide my time.

'I got another run on him, got alongside him, but where he was trying to brake and what he was trying to do, he was never going to make the chicane and he took my front wing off,'
di Resta told the BBC.

The Scottish driver believes having to go into the pits to replace his front wing would have been penalty enough, but the rookie driver argues that he wasn't actually at fault for the accident.

He continued: 'So I had to stop for a wing change and I got a drive-through penalty, which again I thought was harsh.

'I don't see how I was at fault for that. He came in front of me, yet I still made the corner and he didn't and all that happened was the front-wing end plate came off, so I didn't batter him.'


The di Resta/Heidfeld incident was just one of a number of incidents that race control reviewed during the race, with many of the more high profile incidents involving Lewis Hamilton, Mark Webber, Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso going unpunished and classified as racing incidents.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday June 15 2011

Time: 8:20PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday August 30 2017)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 29 2017)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 28 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Race (Sunday August 27 2017)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - Qualifying (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP3 (Saturday August 26 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP2 (Friday August 25 2017)

2017 Belgium GP - FP1 (Friday August 25 2017)

Kimi gets new Ferrari contract (Thursday August 24 2017)

F1 Prediction Comp open for Belgium (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Who will win in Belgium? (Wednesday August 23 2017)

Blog: Spa Preview (Tuesday August 22 2017)

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1170
2. Red5 1122
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 593
7. Push The Button 507
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 214
10. VanGisbergen2013 173

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who was at fault for Singapore crash?
Vettel 68%
Raikkonen 8%
Verstappen 16%
Racing Incident 8%