Vital F1 | What do we now know about Haas in 2018?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

What do we now know about Haas in 2018?

Formula One was back last week.

All ten teams that will enter the 2018 Formula One World Championship showed off their cars for the first time during the first winter test session of the year in Spain.

The weather offered everything, sun, rain and even snow.

The temperatures meant that it's unlikely that we can read too much into everyone's performances as cars behave differently when a few degree's alters in an afternoon let alone, cold and icy conditions in Spain compared to the desert heat in the Middle East.

But none the less all the cars have had their first outings so what did we learn?

Sauber Alfa Romeo

With a new and closer technical partnership with Ferrari, Sauber, who finished bottom of the constructors table in 2017 have a new livery and title sponsor.

The blue is gone for the white and red of Italian car manufacturer Alfa Romeo, owned by Fiat.

Team Principal Frédéric Vasseur remains in place as does Marcus Ericsson.

The second seat is now the home of Charles Leclerc.

You'll notice from the photos that the most obvious change in 2018 is the addition of the Halo. All the cars will have this fitted for every session, so they have now been fully incorporated into the livery schemes.

But whilst it is obvious the new Sauber Alfa Romeo looks very nice (Halo ignored), how did it run?

Will they find themselves regularly on the back row of the grid once again in 2018?

Charles Leclerc set the fastest time of the day for the team on Day Two, using the Soft compound.

His 1minute 22.721s lap was good enough to be the best the team could muster, but it was 0.880s behind the fasted time set by Force India immediately in front of them in the timing sheets.

Sauber however completed 283 laps in Spain, a total of 818.4miles.

That was more mileage than Williams, Renault, McLaren, Red Bull Racing, Haas and Force India.

So things are looking good on a reliability stand point.

Ericsson believes that Sauber will be the team with the most to learn from the session, with some much change from their 2017 challenger.

“Obviously some teams have changed power unit manufacturer so they will have had to change some things, but I think just looking purely at the car side I think we have made the biggest change because we have changed so much both mechanically and aerodynamically,”

“And we have a two-year newer engine, so we’re probably the ones that have the newest or most different package.”
he told

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 5 2018

Time: 11:00AM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Wednesday March 21 2018)

Who will win in Australia 2018? (Tuesday March 20 2018)

Brawn wants F1 league table for tracks (Friday February 23 2018)

Mercedes uncertain on who will be a threat (Thursday February 22 2018)

Verstappen dreading Halo introduction (Wednesday February 21 2018)

Haas want to close the gap to Ferrari (Tuesday February 20 2018)

Williams defend inexperienced line-up (Monday February 19 2018)

Renault still looking to change the rules (Thursday February 15 2018)

London double-decker bus could sit on Halo (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Could Hamilton return to McLaren? (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Massa gave no guidance to Stroll (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Wehrlein returns to DTM (Monday February 12 2018)

Grid Girls to be replaced by Grid Kids (Monday February 12 2018)

Former champ calls for 26 car grids (Friday February 9 2018)

Alonso to compete at Le Mans (Tuesday February 6 2018)

Force India & Sauber withdraw EU complaint (Wednesday January 31 2018)

F1 set to jump on Verstappen bandwagon (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Lauda takes dig at Red Bull (Friday January 26 2018)

Cosworth keen on F1 return (Thursday January 25 2018)

Former champs back Hamilton (Wednesday January 24 2018)

All you need to know for F1 in 2018 (Tuesday January 23 2018)

Full Formula One line-up for 2018 set (Monday January 22 2018)

Could Red Bull be favourites for 2018? (Wednesday January 17 2018)

Force India sign F2 race winner (Friday January 12 2018)

Massa backing Williams in 2018 (Thursday January 11 2018)

F1 regulations unreasonable says Honda (Wednesday January 10 2018)

Pirelli receive Red Bull backing (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Aston Martin in demand (Monday January 8 2018)

Haas positive 2018 car will be better (Thursday January 4 2018)

Wehrlein set to bid goodbye to F1 (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Hamilton critical of French GP return (Tuesday January 2 2018)

Liberty get backing from Horner (Saturday December 30 2017)

F1 attendance figures on the rise (Wednesday December 27 2017)

Tost concentraing in Honda positives (Wednesday December 27 2017)

Merry Christmas from VitalF1 (Monday December 25 2017)

Todt to enjoy 12 years as FIA president (Sunday December 24 2017)

What's in a number? (Wednesday December 20 2017)

Grid penalty change for 2018 (Tuesday December 19 2017)

Hamilton and Vettel clash (Monday December 18 2017)

Ocon eyes Mercedes seat for 2019 (Friday December 15 2017)

Alonso targets race wins in 2018 (Thursday December 14 2017)

Hamilton and Alonso praise Pirelli (Monday December 11 2017)

All female racing series to support F1? (Wednesday December 6 2017)

Alfa Romeo name returns to F1 (Monday December 4 2017)

Hamilton poor form down to partying (Thursday November 30 2017)

More change in F1, but this one is positive (Wednesday November 29 2017)

Liberty Media alienating F1 fans? (Tuesday November 28 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 27 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 26 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 25 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 24 2017)

2017 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 24 2017)

Expanded calendar for Formula 2 and GP3 (Friday November 24 2017)

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1213
2. Red5 1130
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 518
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 183

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who is going to win in Australia?
Hamilton 32%
Bottas 0%
Vettel 43%
Raikkonen 8%
Verstappen 13%
Ricciardo 4%
Someone else 0%