Vital F1 - Alonso wins British Grand Prix
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Alonso wins British Grand Prix

You can always trust Silverstone to serve up a good race.

The British fans as ever were out in force and although it wasn't the winner they would have hoped for, they still had a great race to watch, something that Formula One needed after the dull affair at Valencia and the politics of Saturday.

The start of the race would have seemed bizarre to anyone turning over to BBC 1 bang on 1pm, all the drivers lined up on the grid on wet intermediate tyres despite the new Silverstone start line being bone dry!

The early morning rain had left half the track soaking wet and half the track completely dry, it certainly made for an interesting start to the race.

So the lights went out in front of the brand new Wing complex and Vettel jumped into the lead past Red Bull team-mate Webber, while Massa lost fourth to Button.

Lewis Hamilton had a storming opening two laps, a disappointing qualifying left the British favourite tenth on the grid, but by lap two he had passed Button and was beginning to race with the Ferrari's and Red Bull's.

By lap 15 Lewis Hamilton showed why he is an exciting and aggressive racing driver by getting passed both Massa and Alonso to take third position.

Further back down the pack and Michael Schumacher was once again using his Mercedes as a battering ram as he crashed into Kobayashi. Due to the short pit lane, FIA Steward Nigel Mansell decided to give Schumacher a stop/go penalty for the incident.

The first round of pit stops came with Ferrari being the big winners, with Alonso not only getting past Hamilton but also taking the lead after mistakes for Webber and Vettel's stops.

Hamilton also benefited from those mistakes with the McLaren getting into second position and this gave Lewis the chance to show what a good driver he is defending a position as well as the gun-ho attacking manoeuvres keeping Vettel behind for numerous laps.

The writing was on the wall that the faster Red Bull's would get passed the McLaren on the next set of pit stops, but the amount of time Hamilton kept Vettel behind him enabled Alonso to pull out a significant lead.

Soon after Vettel got passed Hamilton the McLaren driver was told to go into fuel saving mode, while it was even worse news for team-mate Jenson Button' whose front right wheel was missing a wheel nut and he was forced to immediately retire.

Webber soon got past the helpless Hamilton who was beginning to lose around three seconds a lap to the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

In the closing stages of the race Mark Webber was also closing in on Red Bull team mate Vettel and was clearly the faster man, but despite Red Bull's defending World champion enjoying an 80 point in this seasons championship, Red Bull boss Horner said on the radio 'Mark maintain the gap', the Australian driver appeared to ignore those instructions but in the end they finished second and third without incident.

That couldn't be said for the battle for fourth with Hamilton and Massa. The Ferrari driver fired his car down the outside and cutting in across Hamilton, Hamilton took to the curb but couldn't avoid the collision with little room, both cars got around the final corners side-by-side almost wheel banging coming to the line and Lewis took the photo finish for fourth by 0.024 seconds.

Rosberg, Perez, Heidfeld, Schumacher and Alguersuari rounded out the points positions.

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 10 2011

Time: 4:08PM

Your Comments

OK, Alonso had some luck, but still a great race to watch right up to the last lap.
What did anyone think of the shui incident

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Ecclestone expects F1 to be sold (Wednesday October 7 2015)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday October 5 2015)

Manor secure Mercedes power for 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Button to stay at McLaren in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Grosjean to join Haas in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Letter of intent signed for Lotus buy-out (Tuesday September 29 2015)

Where were Mercedes in Japan? (Monday September 28 2015)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday September 27 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Race (Sunday September 27 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP- FP3 (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP2 (Friday September 25 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP1 (Friday September 25 2015)

Perez to stay with Force India (Thursday September 24 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday September 24 2015)

McLaren ready for financial shortfall (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Button expected to announce retirement (Wednesday September 23 2015)

It's Ferrari or Bust for Red Bull Racing (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Maldonado to stay, Grosjean to leave? (Tuesday September 22 2015)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 21 2015)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 21 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 20 2015)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015- Singapore GP - FP3 (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 18 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 18 2015)

Rosberg will keep believing (Friday September 18 2015)

Merhi & Rossi to share Manor Marussia seat (Thursday September 17 2015)

Another new deal for Melbourne (Thursday September 17 2015)

It's over says Renault (Thursday September 17 2015)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Who will win in Singpore? (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Williams may not take Mercedes upgrade (Tuesday September 15 2015)

Big hopes for Ferrari in 2016 (Friday September 11 2015)

Button's wait nearly over? (Thursday September 10 2015)

Webber slams pay drivers (Wednesday September 9 2015)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 8 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday September 6 2015)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 6 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday September 4 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday September 4 2015)

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1062
2. DJ 980
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 544
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 170
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Russian GP?
Hamilton 79%
Rosberg 5%
Vettel 16%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 0%