Vital F1 - Alonso wins British Grand Prix
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Alonso wins British Grand Prix

You can always trust Silverstone to serve up a good race.

The British fans as ever were out in force and although it wasn't the winner they would have hoped for, they still had a great race to watch, something that Formula One needed after the dull affair at Valencia and the politics of Saturday.

The start of the race would have seemed bizarre to anyone turning over to BBC 1 bang on 1pm, all the drivers lined up on the grid on wet intermediate tyres despite the new Silverstone start line being bone dry!

The early morning rain had left half the track soaking wet and half the track completely dry, it certainly made for an interesting start to the race.

So the lights went out in front of the brand new Wing complex and Vettel jumped into the lead past Red Bull team-mate Webber, while Massa lost fourth to Button.

Lewis Hamilton had a storming opening two laps, a disappointing qualifying left the British favourite tenth on the grid, but by lap two he had passed Button and was beginning to race with the Ferrari's and Red Bull's.

By lap 15 Lewis Hamilton showed why he is an exciting and aggressive racing driver by getting passed both Massa and Alonso to take third position.

Further back down the pack and Michael Schumacher was once again using his Mercedes as a battering ram as he crashed into Kobayashi. Due to the short pit lane, FIA Steward Nigel Mansell decided to give Schumacher a stop/go penalty for the incident.

The first round of pit stops came with Ferrari being the big winners, with Alonso not only getting past Hamilton but also taking the lead after mistakes for Webber and Vettel's stops.

Hamilton also benefited from those mistakes with the McLaren getting into second position and this gave Lewis the chance to show what a good driver he is defending a position as well as the gun-ho attacking manoeuvres keeping Vettel behind for numerous laps.

The writing was on the wall that the faster Red Bull's would get passed the McLaren on the next set of pit stops, but the amount of time Hamilton kept Vettel behind him enabled Alonso to pull out a significant lead.

Soon after Vettel got passed Hamilton the McLaren driver was told to go into fuel saving mode, while it was even worse news for team-mate Jenson Button' whose front right wheel was missing a wheel nut and he was forced to immediately retire.

Webber soon got past the helpless Hamilton who was beginning to lose around three seconds a lap to the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

In the closing stages of the race Mark Webber was also closing in on Red Bull team mate Vettel and was clearly the faster man, but despite Red Bull's defending World champion enjoying an 80 point in this seasons championship, Red Bull boss Horner said on the radio 'Mark maintain the gap', the Australian driver appeared to ignore those instructions but in the end they finished second and third without incident.

That couldn't be said for the battle for fourth with Hamilton and Massa. The Ferrari driver fired his car down the outside and cutting in across Hamilton, Hamilton took to the curb but couldn't avoid the collision with little room, both cars got around the final corners side-by-side almost wheel banging coming to the line and Lewis took the photo finish for fourth by 0.024 seconds.

Rosberg, Perez, Heidfeld, Schumacher and Alguersuari rounded out the points positions.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 10 2011

Time: 4:08PM

Your Comments

OK, Alonso had some luck, but still a great race to watch right up to the last lap.
johnkelv
What did anyone think of the shui incident
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1056
2. DJ 967
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 540
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 166
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary
Hamilton 24%
Rosberg 3%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 67%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 0%