Vital F1 | Alonso wins British Grand Prix
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Alonso wins British Grand Prix

You can always trust Silverstone to serve up a good race.

The British fans as ever were out in force and although it wasn't the winner they would have hoped for, they still had a great race to watch, something that Formula One needed after the dull affair at Valencia and the politics of Saturday.

The start of the race would have seemed bizarre to anyone turning over to BBC 1 bang on 1pm, all the drivers lined up on the grid on wet intermediate tyres despite the new Silverstone start line being bone dry!

The early morning rain had left half the track soaking wet and half the track completely dry, it certainly made for an interesting start to the race.

So the lights went out in front of the brand new Wing complex and Vettel jumped into the lead past Red Bull team-mate Webber, while Massa lost fourth to Button.

Lewis Hamilton had a storming opening two laps, a disappointing qualifying left the British favourite tenth on the grid, but by lap two he had passed Button and was beginning to race with the Ferrari's and Red Bull's.

By lap 15 Lewis Hamilton showed why he is an exciting and aggressive racing driver by getting passed both Massa and Alonso to take third position.

Further back down the pack and Michael Schumacher was once again using his Mercedes as a battering ram as he crashed into Kobayashi. Due to the short pit lane, FIA Steward Nigel Mansell decided to give Schumacher a stop/go penalty for the incident.

The first round of pit stops came with Ferrari being the big winners, with Alonso not only getting past Hamilton but also taking the lead after mistakes for Webber and Vettel's stops.

Hamilton also benefited from those mistakes with the McLaren getting into second position and this gave Lewis the chance to show what a good driver he is defending a position as well as the gun-ho attacking manoeuvres keeping Vettel behind for numerous laps.

The writing was on the wall that the faster Red Bull's would get passed the McLaren on the next set of pit stops, but the amount of time Hamilton kept Vettel behind him enabled Alonso to pull out a significant lead.

Soon after Vettel got passed Hamilton the McLaren driver was told to go into fuel saving mode, while it was even worse news for team-mate Jenson Button' whose front right wheel was missing a wheel nut and he was forced to immediately retire.

Webber soon got past the helpless Hamilton who was beginning to lose around three seconds a lap to the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

In the closing stages of the race Mark Webber was also closing in on Red Bull team mate Vettel and was clearly the faster man, but despite Red Bull's defending World champion enjoying an 80 point in this seasons championship, Red Bull boss Horner said on the radio 'Mark maintain the gap', the Australian driver appeared to ignore those instructions but in the end they finished second and third without incident.

That couldn't be said for the battle for fourth with Hamilton and Massa. The Ferrari driver fired his car down the outside and cutting in across Hamilton, Hamilton took to the curb but couldn't avoid the collision with little room, both cars got around the final corners side-by-side almost wheel banging coming to the line and Lewis took the photo finish for fourth by 0.024 seconds.

Rosberg, Perez, Heidfeld, Schumacher and Alguersuari rounded out the points positions.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 10 2011

Time: 4:08PM

Your Comments

OK, Alonso had some luck, but still a great race to watch right up to the last lap.
johnkelv
What did anyone think of the shui incident
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1160
2. Red5 1120
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 590
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 211
10. VanGisbergen2013 168

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Hamilton right to move over for Bottas?
No 9%
Yes - It was a team order 33%
Yes - But naive team order 58%