Vital F1 | Alonso wins British Grand Prix
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Alonso wins British Grand Prix

You can always trust Silverstone to serve up a good race.

The British fans as ever were out in force and although it wasn't the winner they would have hoped for, they still had a great race to watch, something that Formula One needed after the dull affair at Valencia and the politics of Saturday.

The start of the race would have seemed bizarre to anyone turning over to BBC 1 bang on 1pm, all the drivers lined up on the grid on wet intermediate tyres despite the new Silverstone start line being bone dry!

The early morning rain had left half the track soaking wet and half the track completely dry, it certainly made for an interesting start to the race.

So the lights went out in front of the brand new Wing complex and Vettel jumped into the lead past Red Bull team-mate Webber, while Massa lost fourth to Button.

Lewis Hamilton had a storming opening two laps, a disappointing qualifying left the British favourite tenth on the grid, but by lap two he had passed Button and was beginning to race with the Ferrari's and Red Bull's.

By lap 15 Lewis Hamilton showed why he is an exciting and aggressive racing driver by getting passed both Massa and Alonso to take third position.

Further back down the pack and Michael Schumacher was once again using his Mercedes as a battering ram as he crashed into Kobayashi. Due to the short pit lane, FIA Steward Nigel Mansell decided to give Schumacher a stop/go penalty for the incident.

The first round of pit stops came with Ferrari being the big winners, with Alonso not only getting past Hamilton but also taking the lead after mistakes for Webber and Vettel's stops.

Hamilton also benefited from those mistakes with the McLaren getting into second position and this gave Lewis the chance to show what a good driver he is defending a position as well as the gun-ho attacking manoeuvres keeping Vettel behind for numerous laps.

The writing was on the wall that the faster Red Bull's would get passed the McLaren on the next set of pit stops, but the amount of time Hamilton kept Vettel behind him enabled Alonso to pull out a significant lead.

Soon after Vettel got passed Hamilton the McLaren driver was told to go into fuel saving mode, while it was even worse news for team-mate Jenson Button' whose front right wheel was missing a wheel nut and he was forced to immediately retire.

Webber soon got past the helpless Hamilton who was beginning to lose around three seconds a lap to the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

In the closing stages of the race Mark Webber was also closing in on Red Bull team mate Vettel and was clearly the faster man, but despite Red Bull's defending World champion enjoying an 80 point in this seasons championship, Red Bull boss Horner said on the radio 'Mark maintain the gap', the Australian driver appeared to ignore those instructions but in the end they finished second and third without incident.

That couldn't be said for the battle for fourth with Hamilton and Massa. The Ferrari driver fired his car down the outside and cutting in across Hamilton, Hamilton took to the curb but couldn't avoid the collision with little room, both cars got around the final corners side-by-side almost wheel banging coming to the line and Lewis took the photo finish for fourth by 0.024 seconds.

Rosberg, Perez, Heidfeld, Schumacher and Alguersuari rounded out the points positions.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 10 2011

Time: 4:08PM

Your Comments

OK, Alonso had some luck, but still a great race to watch right up to the last lap.
johnkelv
What did anyone think of the shui incident
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 39%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 61%