Vital F1 | In season testing to return?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

In season testing to return?

Could Formula One see a return to in season testing as soon as 2012?

FIA president Jean Todt would like to change the regulations to allow teams more track testing time which under the current regulations was banned in a bid to cut costs.

The money spent by teams on track testing was huge and some fear that if in season testing was to return, then teams expenditure would rapidly increase again.

One suggestion that has been made is to add a further 'Young Drivers Test' to the calendar.

Currently because rookies can gain no experience in Formula One other than Friday practice sessions, the teams run a 'Young Drivers Test' at the end of the year to give new drivers a feel for the cars.

'That is being reviewed in the sporting working group right now and we had a meeting at Silverstone about it. There has not been a vote yet. All they have done is put a few ideas out there about what you could potentially do, which might involve doing an extra young drivers' test during the season. Williams technical director Sam Michael told Autosport Magazine.

'It's just being discussed. There's not been any agreement or votes or anything. Now it's been discussed the teams will go away, discuss it internally and think about it. We haven't done anything more than that.' He concluded.

It is believed that the teams would favour a return to limited track testing during the season, but obviously in Formula One, even if everyone is in agreement, politics and arguments over how much time should be given will drag the process out until a decision will officially be reached.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 19 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1091
2. DJ 1050
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 559
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 184
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Are radio restrictions to tight?
Yes 67%
No 33%
No idea 0%