Vital F1 | Focus on the Red Bull driver programme
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Focus on the Red Bull driver programme

The Red Bull young driver programme would appear to be a very successful set-up, you don't have to look very far to see their most successful graduate, reigning F1 champion Sebastian Vettel.

Part of the programme sees young promising drivers get their chance at Toro Rosso.

Sebastian Vettel was given that chance and he managed to drive to victory to win the team their first ever Grand Prix in Monza in 2008.

Now the team have Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari, while reserve driver Daniel Ricciardo is also getting his first taste of F1 with his 'loan' move to HRT.

So how does the programme work? How do they appear to manage to scout the best drivers?

'There will never be another Sebastian Vettel, just as there will never be another Michael Schumacher or Ayrton Senna. What I think is crucial in the development of a driver from rookie to serious podium contender is that the driver discovers himself. There is no such thing as the unerring talent scout. Toro Rosso team principal Franz Tost told formula1.com.

So it would seem it's all about development, something which these days is hugely restricted with the in-season testing ban. Young drivers simply do not get much time in the car. Some are lucky and get one Friday practice session with a team. Others gain no experience of the cars or the tracks other than in simulators.

Then of course there are all the other factors that come with modern day Formula One. The technical aspect, tracks from every single corner of the world, media, sponsors, all things that are part of the working day for an F1 driver.

So what timeframe do the drivers have to impress?

'Maximum three years. Or let’s put it this way: if you are not sure after three years whether he’s going to make it, I would bluntly say forget him, period.'

It sums up the general cut and thrust of the competitive world of F1.

So what does he think about the drivers currently with Toro Rosso? Sebastien Buemi is currently in his third full season in F1 having started 47 races, while Jaime Alguersuari is in his second full season having started 38 Grand Prix's.

Using Tost's three season guide, both drivers head into a critical period of their careers.

He added: 'I think Sebastien [Buemi] and Jaime [Alguersuari] are doing a good job and I am also really looking forward working together with the other Red Bull youngsters, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne. Both have done the young drivers’ days with Toro Rosso last year in Abu Dhabi and Daniel was our third man before he got the opportunity to race for HRT. I expect him to best Liuzzi after not more than three or four races.'

Ricciardo would certainly appear to be the next "big star" from the programme, where that leaves Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari? Time will tell.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday August 19 2011

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 204
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%