Vital F1 | Renault pleased with Senna debut
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Renault pleased with Senna debut

It may have been a controversial decision and with impending legal wrangling's we might not have heard the end of it, but Bruno Senna enjoyed an eventful debut for the Renault team at the weekend.

An impressive qualifying session meant that the Brazilian started the race from seventh on the grid.

His race however was severely hampered after a poor start.

Having only driven the Renault in practice and qualifying, the first corner was the first time Senna had attempted the first turn under a heavy fuel load. The result was the Renault crashing into Toro Rosso's Jaime Alguersuari at the start, which resulted in a drive-through penalty.

'Unfortunately I misjudged the braking point a little bit and the grip on the inside and I ended up hitting Jaime, It was very unfortunate and I'm sorry for him. Then it was unfortunate with the penalty and I tried to push as hard as possible from the back and see what I could get.' Senna told the BBC.



He added: 'It was a tough task to ask for the perfect weekend on my first race in the middle of the season,' he said. 'But I think I managed to pull it off pretty well.

Renault boss Eric Boullier agreed adding: 'He needs to improve on this [starts] but a good race, If he can deliver like he did this weekend in every race I think he will be good enough to bring points home.'

With German driver Nick Heidfeld pursuing legal action, it isn't clear just how many races Senna will drive for Renault this season.

Previous reports had indicated that Senna would complete the remainder of the 2011 Formula One calendar, but Renault have yet to make a further statement on the matter.

It has been suggested that court proceedings will be concluded in around three weeks time.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 30 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

Heidfeld will get a pay off if he wins the case surely. Putting my lawyer hat on, instead of the one with D on it, Renault would have taken advice before sacking him and have already taken the financial consequences into the equation
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1140
2. Red5 1114
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 156

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 40%
Vettel 33%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 16%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%