Vital F1 | Vettel edges closer to title
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Vettel edges closer to title

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel's eighth win of the season edged the German closer to claiming back-to-back Formula One World Championships.

Vettel started from pole position in Monza, but lost the lead of the Italian Grand Prix to Ferrari's Fernando Alonso at the first corner much to the delight of the Tifosi.

An early safety car extended the Ferrari fans enjoyment. A first corner crash which was caused by the HRT of Liuzzi.

Liuzzi lost control heading towards the first corner under-breaking, stepped out on to the grass lost control and slid into the first corner backwards crashing into Petrov and Rosberg.

Despite being penned in Barrichello managed to escape relatively unharmed and continued the race.

Once the safety car was back in, racing continued at the front of the pack with Vettel taking to the outside to over-take Alonso.

The Red Bull stepped out onto the grass and wobbled momentarily, but rather than colliding with the Ferrari, Vettel completed the pass to take the lead in a breath-taking overtaking manoeuvre.

Team-mate Mark Webber wasn't haven't such a good time, a collision with Felipe Massa broke the Red Bull's front wing and on the final corner before the pits, the Australian lost control and drove off through the gravel and into the wall, ending his race.

With Vettel leading from Alonso and Schumacher over-taking Hamilton on the re-start after the safety car in third ahead of both McLaren's, that meant that five world champions were in the top five positions, with two of them putting on a great show for the spectators.

Schumacher was putting on a master-class of defensive driving in the Mercedes, while Hamilton attacked full of aggression in a bid to get past.

The former seven-time F1 champion arguably over-stepped the mark on a number of occasions, Hamilton had certainly been penalised for far less in terms of double blocking and aggressive driving, but the two drivers avoided contact.

Hamilton eventually over-took the German, but the Mercedes straight line speed enabled Schumacher to re-take the lead within a few corners.

With Hamilton and Schumacher battling, Jenson Button was able to catch up the pair and join the battle.

An incident on lap 18 would completely change the dynamics of the race for both Hamilton and Button.

Hamilton got the run on Schumacher and took a tighter line going into the corner, an aggressive Schumacher slammed the door shut giving Hamilton two options, stay on the throttle and hit the wall, or go on the grass and slow down. Hamilton took the second option which allowed Button passed.

That then meant that McLaren would give preference to Button at the pit-stop, while Hamilton would have to wait two laps to pit for new tyres.

Once the trio had completed their tyre stops, Button was third ahead of Schumacher, while Hamilton was once again stuck behind the German.

The battle continued with Schumacher appearing to make two defensive blocks on one area of the track lap after lap, with one incident proving so obvious that Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn began to give the radio messages to Schumacher to leave a gap.

With Hamilton losing around a second a lap behind the Mercedes his race for a podium was over, around 10 laps later he managed to finally get passed Schumacher. For once Schumacher stayed on the inside rather than sweeping back to the outside lane, everyone expected some kind of investigation by the stewards and possible penalties applied to Schumacher, but nothing was forthcoming by the race stewards, the incident wasn't even investigated.

With that scrap out of the way the race could concentrate on who would be where on the podium.

Button got passed Alonso to take second and while Hamilton closed the gap to Alonso in the closing stages of the race, the Ferrari held on to the final place on the podium to give Ferrari a third placed finish at the Italian Grand Prix.

The result leaves Vettel 112-points clear of second place Alonso and with a chance of clinching the title as early as the next race in Singapore.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 12 2011

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel's future is clear (Wednesday December 7 2016)

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 592
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 43%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 57%