Vital F1 | Vettel edges closer to title
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Vettel edges closer to title

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel's eighth win of the season edged the German closer to claiming back-to-back Formula One World Championships.

Vettel started from pole position in Monza, but lost the lead of the Italian Grand Prix to Ferrari's Fernando Alonso at the first corner much to the delight of the Tifosi.

An early safety car extended the Ferrari fans enjoyment. A first corner crash which was caused by the HRT of Liuzzi.

Liuzzi lost control heading towards the first corner under-breaking, stepped out on to the grass lost control and slid into the first corner backwards crashing into Petrov and Rosberg.

Despite being penned in Barrichello managed to escape relatively unharmed and continued the race.

Once the safety car was back in, racing continued at the front of the pack with Vettel taking to the outside to over-take Alonso.

The Red Bull stepped out onto the grass and wobbled momentarily, but rather than colliding with the Ferrari, Vettel completed the pass to take the lead in a breath-taking overtaking manoeuvre.

Team-mate Mark Webber wasn't haven't such a good time, a collision with Felipe Massa broke the Red Bull's front wing and on the final corner before the pits, the Australian lost control and drove off through the gravel and into the wall, ending his race.

With Vettel leading from Alonso and Schumacher over-taking Hamilton on the re-start after the safety car in third ahead of both McLaren's, that meant that five world champions were in the top five positions, with two of them putting on a great show for the spectators.

Schumacher was putting on a master-class of defensive driving in the Mercedes, while Hamilton attacked full of aggression in a bid to get past.

The former seven-time F1 champion arguably over-stepped the mark on a number of occasions, Hamilton had certainly been penalised for far less in terms of double blocking and aggressive driving, but the two drivers avoided contact.

Hamilton eventually over-took the German, but the Mercedes straight line speed enabled Schumacher to re-take the lead within a few corners.

With Hamilton and Schumacher battling, Jenson Button was able to catch up the pair and join the battle.

An incident on lap 18 would completely change the dynamics of the race for both Hamilton and Button.

Hamilton got the run on Schumacher and took a tighter line going into the corner, an aggressive Schumacher slammed the door shut giving Hamilton two options, stay on the throttle and hit the wall, or go on the grass and slow down. Hamilton took the second option which allowed Button passed.

That then meant that McLaren would give preference to Button at the pit-stop, while Hamilton would have to wait two laps to pit for new tyres.

Once the trio had completed their tyre stops, Button was third ahead of Schumacher, while Hamilton was once again stuck behind the German.

The battle continued with Schumacher appearing to make two defensive blocks on one area of the track lap after lap, with one incident proving so obvious that Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn began to give the radio messages to Schumacher to leave a gap.

With Hamilton losing around a second a lap behind the Mercedes his race for a podium was over, around 10 laps later he managed to finally get passed Schumacher. For once Schumacher stayed on the inside rather than sweeping back to the outside lane, everyone expected some kind of investigation by the stewards and possible penalties applied to Schumacher, but nothing was forthcoming by the race stewards, the incident wasn't even investigated.

With that scrap out of the way the race could concentrate on who would be where on the podium.

Button got passed Alonso to take second and while Hamilton closed the gap to Alonso in the closing stages of the race, the Ferrari held on to the final place on the podium to give Ferrari a third placed finish at the Italian Grand Prix.

The result leaves Vettel 112-points clear of second place Alonso and with a chance of clinching the title as early as the next race in Singapore.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 12 2011

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 17%
Fair 15%
Lenient 68%