Vital F1 - Schumacher/Hamilton pure racing
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Schumacher/Hamilton pure racing

One of the highlights from the Italian Grand Prix last weekend was the battle between the Mercedes of Michael Schumacher and the McLaren of Lewis Hamilton.

In the absence of any competition for championship leader Vettel, attention quickly moved away from his Red Bull disappearing into the distance at the front of the race and moved to the battle between the seven-time F1 champion and the 2008 F1 champion.

In an intriguing battle, Hamilton had the quicker car on most areas of the track, but with the McLaren reaching its rev limit, the Mercedes was quicker down the straights.

This combination lead to a monumental battle between the two over a number of laps.

At times it would appear that Schumacher would make two moves to block Hamilton, something that is forbidden under FIA guidelines, one incident of this was very clear, while others were more subtle.

Schumacher also slammed the door shut on the aggressive Brit at one stage forcing the McLaren onto the grass.

The BBC commentary team certainly expected some of the incidents to be reviewed by the race stewards, while many in the media would indicate that Lewis Hamilton had been punished for far less obvious infringements this season.

But Schumacher was not investigated by the stewards and Hamilton was quick to play down the incidents.

That has left it as a big talking point following the race. Did Schumacher break the rules? And why was it acceptable at this race when in previous races similar moves were punished?

At the Frankfurt Motor Show chairman of Daimler Dieter Zetsche was quizzed on what he thought of the race and he told the press: 'Michael did a great job with a car that is still not yet quite at the same level as our best competitors,' as quoted by Autosport Magazine.

'It was a thrilling battle over twenty laps; it was pure racing. I was so excited that I almost wanted to climb inside the TV! It was absolutely of the highest class.

'And if Nico [Rosberg] hadn't been crashed out by another car on lap one, we could even have seen two drivers in that position. It was a great race.'


The current poll on VF1 asks: Did Schumacher over step the mark in battle with Hamilton?

The results couldn't be closer at the time of writing this article with a complete 50%-50% split.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday September 18 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

He's a cheat. Everyone knows he's a cheat. But at Monza he played the rules almost to perfection. Only once did he make a double move which was almost knee-jerk. Maybe it was good therapy for Lewis. Schumacher is a dieing ember. Think the rest of the drivers should treat him with the contempt he deserves. Just feel sorry for Nico who should have a more deserved partner
Villaininthemerde
He's just becoming an entertainment booth in the circus we love
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1055
2. DJ 962
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 540
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 165
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British GP?
Hamilton 51%
Rosberg 6%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 25%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 12%