Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes confident

Mercedes had a disappointing showing at the Singapore Grand Prix.

The characteristics of the Singapore street circuit did not suit the Mercedes car which works best on high speed tracks.

An example of this was at the Italian Grand Prix, when former seven-time Formula One champions Michael Schumacher enjoyed a great battle with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

Schumacher was able to keep ahead of the McLaren due to the Mercedes straight line speed, which made it virtually impossible for Hamilton to complete an overtaking manoeuvre despite being faster in the slower sections of the track.

In Singapore most of the track was lower speed corners, so Mercedes failed to take advantage of a recent update to the car.

'I don't think we advertised it as a big upgrade, but it was an upgrade. It seemed okay, It may not look as though our relative position has changed, but if you think back to Hungary, which was the last high downforce track, we struggled. Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn told Autosport Magazine.

With the Formula One circus now heading to tracks in Japan and Korea, the Mercedes should be a lot more competitive over the final races of the season.

'So far the numbers look like we have moved forward and I think we will see the benefit in the next couple of races in particular, so it looks okay.

'We are reasonably happy with it, but it is a very difficult track to assess these things on. When we get to the next couple of tracks it should be better.'

'There were several detailed aerodynamic improvements - with bodywork and tuning, It was nothing radical just going through the loop of floor and bodywork, those sorts of things.'


Mercedes GP are currently fourth in the Formula 1 constructors world championship table.

The Silver Arrows are 154-points behind third placed Ferrari and 44-points ahead of Renault.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday September 29 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

this is the main problem for me, the lack of overtaking possibilities, then when one does try and causes an accident, it is blow out of all proportion that the driver is aggressive, ffs, they are meant to be aggressive!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Trio depart Ferrari (Friday December 19 2014)

Ecclestone to propose v8 return (Thursday December 18 2014)

20 stolen Red Bull trophies recovered (Wednesday December 17 2014)

Gutierrez joins Ferrari (Tuesday December 16 2014)

Hamilton wins SPOTY (Monday December 15 2014)

McLaren confirm Alonso return (Thursday December 11 2014)

McLaren confirm Button on multi-year deal (Thursday December 11 2014)

Button stays at McLaren (Thursday December 11 2014)

Ricciardo surprised himself (Wednesday December 10 2014)

Red Bull factory ram-raided (Monday December 8 2014)

McLaren board meeting fails to decide (Friday December 5 2014)

2015 - Formula One's biggest season yet (Thursday December 4 2014)

FIA file report on Bianchi crash (Thursday December 4 2014)

Virtual Safety Car to get debut in 2015 (Wednesday December 3 2014)

Vettel completes first day at Ferrari (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Caterham could run old cars in 2015 (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Toro Rosso announce Sainz Jr for 2015 (Monday December 1 2014)

Formula One scrap double points round (Friday November 28 2014)

Problems for McLaren Honda continue (Thursday November 27 2014)

Successful season for Williams (Wednesday November 26 2014)

McLaren Honda manage 3 laps (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Caterham takeover complete 'in weeks' (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Audio: Abu Dhabi Recap (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Force India confirm Perez place (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Wolff praises Mercedes team-mates (Monday November 24 2014)

Greatest day for Hamilton (Monday November 24 2014)

Rosberg wins friends in defeat (Monday November 24 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Sunday November 23 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Race (Sunday November 23 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

Red Bull DQ'd from Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP3 (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP2 (Friday November 21 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP1 (Friday November 21 2014)

Audio: Hamilton v Rosberg - The Decider (Friday November 21 2014)

Caterham receive helping hand from Bernie (Thursday November 20 2014)

Grosjean to remain with Lotus (Thursday November 20 2014)

Bianchi 'out of coma' (Wednesday November 19 2014)

McLaren delay line-up announcement (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Ecclestone to hold talks with teams (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Force India hands Palmer chance to impress (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Chilton to join Caterham? (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Carlos Sainz Jr to test for Red Bull (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Kobayashi retains seat for Abu Dhabi (Monday November 17 2014)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 17 2014)

Caterham will return in Abu Dhabi (Friday November 14 2014)

Wolff plays down engine war fears (Friday November 14 2014)

Honda to debut new engine (Friday November 14 2014)

Ericsson terminates Caterham deal (Thursday November 13 2014)

Button not chasing big bucks (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Horner threatens engine war (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Alonso to sign 25million deal (Tuesday November 11 2014)

Record setting day for Mercedes (Monday November 10 2014)

Hamilton reflective (Monday November 10 2014)

Fantastic weekend for Rosberg (Monday November 10 2014)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 10 2014)

2014 - Brazil - Race (Sunday November 9 2014)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 9 2014)

2014 - Brazil - Qualifying (Saturday November 8 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP3 (Saturday November 8 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP2 (Friday November 7 2014)

Marussia cease trading (Friday November 7 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP1 (Friday November 7 2014)

Button on the brink (Friday November 7 2014)

All change at Sauber as Nasr joins (Thursday November 6 2014)

Caterham aiming for Abu Dhabi return (Thursday November 6 2014)

Formula One's financial crisis (Wednesday November 5 2014)

Blog: The perils of the Party of Five (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Ericsson makes Sauber switch (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Blog: United States GP Report (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Alonso edges closer to McLaren return (Monday November 3 2014)

Hamilton proud to hold British record (Monday November 3 2014)

Perez handed seven-place grid drop (Monday November 3 2014)

Rosberg not giving up on title quest (Monday November 3 2014)

Vergne demoted to tenth (Monday November 3 2014)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 3 2014)

2014 - United States - Race (Sunday November 2 2014)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday November 2 2014)

2014 - United States - Qualifying (Saturday November 1 2014)

2014 - United States - FP3 (Saturday November 1 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1029
2. DJ 907
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 573
6. Druss_the_Legend 528
7. Push The Button 441
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 155
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who holds the best driver pairing in 2015?
Mercedes: Hamilton & Rosberg 54%
Red Bull: Ricciardo & Kvyat 0%
Ferrari: Vettel & Raikkonen 13%
McLaren: Alonso & Button 33%
Williams: Massa & Bottas 0%