Vital F1 | Mercedes confident
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes confident

Mercedes had a disappointing showing at the Singapore Grand Prix.

The characteristics of the Singapore street circuit did not suit the Mercedes car which works best on high speed tracks.

An example of this was at the Italian Grand Prix, when former seven-time Formula One champions Michael Schumacher enjoyed a great battle with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

Schumacher was able to keep ahead of the McLaren due to the Mercedes straight line speed, which made it virtually impossible for Hamilton to complete an overtaking manoeuvre despite being faster in the slower sections of the track.

In Singapore most of the track was lower speed corners, so Mercedes failed to take advantage of a recent update to the car.

'I don't think we advertised it as a big upgrade, but it was an upgrade. It seemed okay, It may not look as though our relative position has changed, but if you think back to Hungary, which was the last high downforce track, we struggled. Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn told Autosport Magazine.

With the Formula One circus now heading to tracks in Japan and Korea, the Mercedes should be a lot more competitive over the final races of the season.

'So far the numbers look like we have moved forward and I think we will see the benefit in the next couple of races in particular, so it looks okay.

'We are reasonably happy with it, but it is a very difficult track to assess these things on. When we get to the next couple of tracks it should be better.'

'There were several detailed aerodynamic improvements - with bodywork and tuning, It was nothing radical just going through the loop of floor and bodywork, those sorts of things.'


Mercedes GP are currently fourth in the Formula 1 constructors world championship table.

The Silver Arrows are 154-points behind third placed Ferrari and 44-points ahead of Renault.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday September 29 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

this is the main problem for me, the lack of overtaking possibilities, then when one does try and causes an accident, it is blow out of all proportion that the driver is aggressive, ffs, they are meant to be aggressive!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1039
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 182
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Verstappen 46%
Ricciardo 17%
Rosberg 11%
Hamilton 5%
Vettel 2%
Raikkonen 14%
Someone else 5%