Vital F1 | Mercedes confident
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes confident

Mercedes had a disappointing showing at the Singapore Grand Prix.

The characteristics of the Singapore street circuit did not suit the Mercedes car which works best on high speed tracks.

An example of this was at the Italian Grand Prix, when former seven-time Formula One champions Michael Schumacher enjoyed a great battle with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

Schumacher was able to keep ahead of the McLaren due to the Mercedes straight line speed, which made it virtually impossible for Hamilton to complete an overtaking manoeuvre despite being faster in the slower sections of the track.

In Singapore most of the track was lower speed corners, so Mercedes failed to take advantage of a recent update to the car.

'I don't think we advertised it as a big upgrade, but it was an upgrade. It seemed okay, It may not look as though our relative position has changed, but if you think back to Hungary, which was the last high downforce track, we struggled. Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn told Autosport Magazine.

With the Formula One circus now heading to tracks in Japan and Korea, the Mercedes should be a lot more competitive over the final races of the season.

'So far the numbers look like we have moved forward and I think we will see the benefit in the next couple of races in particular, so it looks okay.

'We are reasonably happy with it, but it is a very difficult track to assess these things on. When we get to the next couple of tracks it should be better.'

'There were several detailed aerodynamic improvements - with bodywork and tuning, It was nothing radical – just going through the loop of floor and bodywork, those sorts of things.'


Mercedes GP are currently fourth in the Formula 1 constructors world championship table.

The Silver Arrows are 154-points behind third placed Ferrari and 44-points ahead of Renault.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday September 29 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

this is the main problem for me, the lack of overtaking possibilities, then when one does try and causes an accident, it is blow out of all proportion that the driver is aggressive, ffs, they are meant to be aggressive!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 39%
Rosberg 10%
Ricciardo 15%
Verstappen 36%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%