Vital F1 | Button wins, Vettel is champ
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Button wins, Vettel is champ

Jenson Button won the Japanese Grand Prix as Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel finally clinched the Formula One World Championship.

Vettel celebrated back-to-back titles with a podium finish while Button enjoyed winning at the famous Suzuka track.

The race started with Vettel and Button both enjoying good starts, with Vettel on pole drifting over to the right to block Button who was attempting to squeeze down the inside, with two wheels on the grass Button was forced to lift off to allow Vettel into the first corner in the lead, while McLaren's Lewis Hamilton took second place around the outside of Button.

The move from Vettel was investigated by the race stewards, but no action was taken.

After just eight laps Lewis Hamilton was beginning to lose grip and performance from his tyres and Button re-took second place before Hamilton headed for his first pit-stop of the race which started the ball rolling as all the leaders drifted into the pits over the next few laps for new boots.

It was a case of as you were for the next ten or so laps as Vettel was unable to pull away from the chasing pack of Button and Alonso, while rather predictably following all the talk during the week, Hamilton and Massa once again found themselves getting closer and closer on the race track.

On lap 20 the leaders began to filter in for the second round of pit-stops, Vettel was the first to blink which ultimately lost him the lead of the race to Button who pitted one lap later and came out in front of the Red Bull.



With Hamilton waiting for his turn to pit, the Brit began to struggle with his tyres and on the entrance to the chicane at the end of the lap Massa took the outside line, with Hamilton drifting over to the racing line to take the corner, the two cars touched, with Massa's car shedding parts as Hamilton headed immediately for the pit-lane.

Just like the incident between Vettel and Button at the start of the race, this incident was also investigated by the race stewards, with no action taken against either driver.

Hamilton and Massa were not the only drivers getting in a tangle as Mark Webber and Michael Schumacher also managed to collide and while all four drivers escaped with minimal damage, the safety car was brought out to clear up the debris from the various places on the track, some drivers in the midfield managed to take advantage and pit under the safety car, but at the front, Button just backed the pack up before racing away to re-start the race.

Within three laps the leaders were pitting once again and Hamilton managed to gain back the place that he lost from the previous round of pit stops with a nice and clean move on Massa.

All the leaders had swapped from the softer compound tyre to the harder rubber and this would be their last scheduled stop and while Vettel threatened Alonso for a couple of laps and then Alonso threatened Button as the Ferrari hunted down the McLaren, there would be no more action amongst the leaders and Button took the victory.

The race ended with Button celebrating the win and Vettel celebrating the championship.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday October 9 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

was a classy performance from Button as well, if they can get the car sorted for the start, not half way through, the season, next season could be great
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1101
2. DJ 1074
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 568
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 192
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix?
Rosberg 27%
Hamilton 31%
Ricciardo 18%
Verstappen 6%
Vettel 12%
Raikkonen 6%
Someone else 0%