Vital F1 | Button wins, Vettel is champ
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Button wins, Vettel is champ

Jenson Button won the Japanese Grand Prix as Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel finally clinched the Formula One World Championship.

Vettel celebrated back-to-back titles with a podium finish while Button enjoyed winning at the famous Suzuka track.

The race started with Vettel and Button both enjoying good starts, with Vettel on pole drifting over to the right to block Button who was attempting to squeeze down the inside, with two wheels on the grass Button was forced to lift off to allow Vettel into the first corner in the lead, while McLaren's Lewis Hamilton took second place around the outside of Button.

The move from Vettel was investigated by the race stewards, but no action was taken.

After just eight laps Lewis Hamilton was beginning to lose grip and performance from his tyres and Button re-took second place before Hamilton headed for his first pit-stop of the race which started the ball rolling as all the leaders drifted into the pits over the next few laps for new boots.

It was a case of as you were for the next ten or so laps as Vettel was unable to pull away from the chasing pack of Button and Alonso, while rather predictably following all the talk during the week, Hamilton and Massa once again found themselves getting closer and closer on the race track.

On lap 20 the leaders began to filter in for the second round of pit-stops, Vettel was the first to blink which ultimately lost him the lead of the race to Button who pitted one lap later and came out in front of the Red Bull.



With Hamilton waiting for his turn to pit, the Brit began to struggle with his tyres and on the entrance to the chicane at the end of the lap Massa took the outside line, with Hamilton drifting over to the racing line to take the corner, the two cars touched, with Massa's car shedding parts as Hamilton headed immediately for the pit-lane.

Just like the incident between Vettel and Button at the start of the race, this incident was also investigated by the race stewards, with no action taken against either driver.

Hamilton and Massa were not the only drivers getting in a tangle as Mark Webber and Michael Schumacher also managed to collide and while all four drivers escaped with minimal damage, the safety car was brought out to clear up the debris from the various places on the track, some drivers in the midfield managed to take advantage and pit under the safety car, but at the front, Button just backed the pack up before racing away to re-start the race.

Within three laps the leaders were pitting once again and Hamilton managed to gain back the place that he lost from the previous round of pit stops with a nice and clean move on Massa.

All the leaders had swapped from the softer compound tyre to the harder rubber and this would be their last scheduled stop and while Vettel threatened Alonso for a couple of laps and then Alonso threatened Button as the Ferrari hunted down the McLaren, there would be no more action amongst the leaders and Button took the victory.

The race ended with Button celebrating the win and Vettel celebrating the championship.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday October 9 2011

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

was a classy performance from Button as well, if they can get the car sorted for the start, not half way through, the season, next season could be great
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1146
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 159

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Azerbaijan?
Hamilton 26%
Bottas 3%
Vettel 55%
Raikkonen 3%
Verstappen 7%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 3%