Vital F1 - Rain leaves teams guessing
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Rain leaves teams guessing

Friday practice in Korea gave the teams plenty of chance for some wet weather running.

The first session saw teams struggling for lap times with HRT's Narian Karthikeyan and Daniel Ricciardo being the busiest drivers, completing 14 laps each, while a number of drivers didn't even complete a timed lap.

Neither Kovalainen or Button completed a lap, as did neither driver for Ferrari and Renault.

Double World Champion Sebastian Vettel completed 8 laps but surprisingly found himself slower than seven-time former champion Michael Schumacher's Mercedes.

The gap was just 0.056 seconds and while Vettel would have been disappointed to be behind his compatriot, there was more disappointment to come in the second practice session.

Free Practice Two offered a lot more running time for drivers, with every car getting out on track.

Nico Rosberg completed the least laps with 18, whilst Paul di Resta completed 32 laps.

The conditions best suited McLaren with both Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button topping the timing charts.

Remarkably the gap between Hamilton and Vettel was virtually two seconds.

Vettel played down the gap, perhaps indicating that different fuel loads or tyres played a factor in the times.

ďIt was an interesting day. For Saturday and Sunday the weather forecast is dry, so whatever we learned today might not be worth a lot this weekend, although we can use it for future races when itís damp or wet.' Vettel told formula1.com.

'Unfortunately the track didnít dry out at all today, so we didnít get a chance to try the slick tyres, so weíll find out in the race I guess. Itís a tough track for tyres here, even though you have a long straight, thereís hardly any rest after that, so itís not easy. The car feels okay though and thatís important.Ē

Lewis Hamilton added: 'Todayís times donít really give us a relevant read on pace and set-up, particularly as I hear that the weather will be better for the next two days. Still, if it rains on Sunday then I think weíre in a good position - which is a positive.

Jenson Button agreed with his team-mate when he said: ďOur car was quick in todayís conditions - but itís difficult to say how it will be in the dry. I hope itíll be the same: itíd be nice to have the same gap back to the cars behind, but thatís unlikely.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday October 14 2011

Time: 1:42PM

Your Comments

ended up a great qualifying, bodes well for the race
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday March 31 2016)

CVC contemplating selling stake in F1 (Wednesday March 30 2016)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday March 29 2016)

F1 to drop behind paywall in 2019 (Monday March 28 2016)

Force India rues red flag (Friday March 25 2016)

Ferrari play down strategy error (Thursday March 24 2016)

Haas enjoy amazing debut (Wednesday March 23 2016)

Hamilton pleased with damage limitation (Wednesday March 23 2016)

F1 drops new qualifying format (Tuesday March 22 2016)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Sunday March 20 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 20 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP2 (Friday March 18 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP1 (Friday March 18 2016)

Australian Grand Prix could be messy (Thursday March 17 2016)

Aston Martin enter F1 with Red Bull (Thursday March 17 2016)

Lauda lambasts new rules (Thursday March 17 2016)

Channel 4 left red faced (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Di Resta set for busy 2016 (Wednesday March 16 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Tuesday March 15 2016)

Who will win in Australia? (Tuesday March 15 2016)

Bernie killed the radio star (Wednesday March 9 2016)

Cash flow problems for Sauber (Wednesday March 9 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1033
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 472
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 180
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Hamilton 39%
Rosberg 21%
Vettel 14%
Raikkonen 6%
Ricciardo 14%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 6%