Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Herbert defends Massa penalty

Former Formula One racer Johny Herbert has defended the Indian stewards decision to penalise Felipe Massa for the collision with Lewis Hamilton.

The two drivers once again collided and became the major talking point from the Indian Grand Prix weekend.

Hamilton had tried to overtake the Ferrari of Massa, but as has been the case on numerous occasions this season, it wasn't too much of a surprise to the see the two cars coming together.

What was a surprise on this occasion however was to see the penalty for once handed to Massa following a string of penalties handed to the McLaren driver.

On this occasion the Indian race stewards, helped by former Formula One driver Johny Herbert decided to give a drive-thru penalty to Massa for causing a collision.

The Brazilian could quite clearly be seen on the replays looking into his mirrors and knowing exactly where Hamilton was at all times before opting to turn in on the McLaren driver.

Hamilton had got virtually side by side on the inside of Massa, before pulling out of the move and breaking earlier, but the Ferrari decided to brake late and cut across the McLaren giving him no room before the inevitable contact.

'The decision to penalise Felipe Massa for his contact with Lewis Hamilton came down to one simple fact - it could have been avoided,' Johny Herbert wrote in his column for The National newspaper as quoted by Autosport Magazine.

'I know Massa was upset by our decision, but I believe we made the right call. After looking at it from different camera angles and studying all the data available to us, it was clear that Massa knew where Hamilton was before he chose to turn across him.

'There was nothing Hamilton could have done to avoid it. He did try to get out of the move, but it was too late and the contact was made.'


Our current Vital F1 poll asks: Who was at fault in India?

Currently 80% believe the collision was Felipe Massa's fault and agree that the drive thru penalty was fair.

Whilst 20% believe it was simply a racing incident, at time of writing, currently no votes have put the fault with Lewis Hamilton.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday November 2 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

No doubt the votes will change over the coming days.
red5
it was a fair decision imho
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2014 - Singapore - Race (Sunday September 21 2014)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 21 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Speculation bores Vettel (Friday September 5 2014)

Could Mercedes drop Rosberg or Hamilton (Friday September 5 2014)

Hass seal Ferrari deal (Thursday September 4 2014)

Renault join calls for engine freeze lift (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Ferrari frustration for Fernando (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Hamilton will not give up (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Rosberg finally takes responsibility (Monday September 1 2014)

Ferrari boss attempts to buy time (Monday September 1 2014)

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1022
2. DJ 887
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 521
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 149
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Singapore?
Rosberg 19%
Hamilton 45%
Ricciardo 16%
Vettel 4%
Bottas 8%
Massa 0%
Someone else 8%