Vital F1 | Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton won his third race of the 2011 season in Abu Dhabi beating Fernando Alonso to the chequered flag.

Hamilton had shown all weekend that he had the pace and form to win the race and once back-to-back World Champion Sebastian Vettel was forced to retire with a puncture, Hamilton commanded the race in style.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso did his best to match Hamilton's pace, keeping the gap to around the three to five seconds mark, but it turned out that Hamilton was simply pacing himself to look after his tyres.

Once the final pit-stops were made and Alonso missed out on any chance of leapfrogging Hamilton to create an exciting finish, the game was up for Ferrari as they simply had nothing to offer Hamilton.

Hamilton's McLaren team-mate Jenson Button unfortunately didn't have such a comfortable run, starting from third on the grid he lost out to Alonso and was then forced into a battle with Red Bull's Mark Webber after his KERS had failed on lap 12.

The two diced for the position with Webber taking the spot under the first DRS zone, only for Button to regain the position on the second DRS Zone.

At least it was an improvement on last season when overtaking in Abu Dhabi was virtually impossible, but it did all feel a bit forced and PlayStation like, which was one of the initial fears when introducing DRS to Formula One this season.

The action felt like it was manufactured rather than the racing being truly competitive. Something that Abu Dhabi will have to re-think as currently it is one of the dullest races on the calender despite its wonderful setting.

In the end Webber gave up on the hopes of overtaking him on the track and attempted to leapfrog Button by switching to three stops instead of two, but despite putting in some impressive lap times, he couldn't make up the time needed and he eventually surrendered the position when he pitted on the final lap for the harder compound tyre which the regulations required to be used.

Massa had a race on his own to come fifth, he flirted for a while with Button and Webber and could have taken fourth from Webber, but in the end he made an unforced error by spinning off, which ended any hopes of improving his position.

Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher, Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta all finished in the same order they started [in fact all the top nine did, moving up one place following Vettel's retirement].

Kamui Kobayashi beat Sauber team-mate Sergio Perez to the final World Championship point, while Rubens Barrichello will have enjoyed his day battling from last on the grid to 12th.

Pastor Maldonado also had good pace for Williams, but he eventually finished 14th ahead of Jaime Alguersuari following a drive-thru penalty for ignoring blue flags. [Maldonado and Alguersuari are also under investigation for another incident which involved ignoring blue flags.]








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday November 13 2011

Time: 3:29PM

Your Comments

doesn't that hotel look something else though with the illuminated blue mesh!
merlin
the whole place looks stunning! Not the best, not the worst of races would be my deep insight!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Brawn becomes F1 director (Thursday February 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 32%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 14%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 10%