Vital F1 | Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton won his third race of the 2011 season in Abu Dhabi beating Fernando Alonso to the chequered flag.

Hamilton had shown all weekend that he had the pace and form to win the race and once back-to-back World Champion Sebastian Vettel was forced to retire with a puncture, Hamilton commanded the race in style.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso did his best to match Hamilton's pace, keeping the gap to around the three to five seconds mark, but it turned out that Hamilton was simply pacing himself to look after his tyres.

Once the final pit-stops were made and Alonso missed out on any chance of leapfrogging Hamilton to create an exciting finish, the game was up for Ferrari as they simply had nothing to offer Hamilton.

Hamilton's McLaren team-mate Jenson Button unfortunately didn't have such a comfortable run, starting from third on the grid he lost out to Alonso and was then forced into a battle with Red Bull's Mark Webber after his KERS had failed on lap 12.

The two diced for the position with Webber taking the spot under the first DRS zone, only for Button to regain the position on the second DRS Zone.

At least it was an improvement on last season when overtaking in Abu Dhabi was virtually impossible, but it did all feel a bit forced and PlayStation like, which was one of the initial fears when introducing DRS to Formula One this season.

The action felt like it was manufactured rather than the racing being truly competitive. Something that Abu Dhabi will have to re-think as currently it is one of the dullest races on the calender despite its wonderful setting.

In the end Webber gave up on the hopes of overtaking him on the track and attempted to leapfrog Button by switching to three stops instead of two, but despite putting in some impressive lap times, he couldn't make up the time needed and he eventually surrendered the position when he pitted on the final lap for the harder compound tyre which the regulations required to be used.

Massa had a race on his own to come fifth, he flirted for a while with Button and Webber and could have taken fourth from Webber, but in the end he made an unforced error by spinning off, which ended any hopes of improving his position.

Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher, Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta all finished in the same order they started [in fact all the top nine did, moving up one place following Vettel's retirement].

Kamui Kobayashi beat Sauber team-mate Sergio Perez to the final World Championship point, while Rubens Barrichello will have enjoyed his day battling from last on the grid to 12th.

Pastor Maldonado also had good pace for Williams, but he eventually finished 14th ahead of Jaime Alguersuari following a drive-thru penalty for ignoring blue flags. [Maldonado and Alguersuari are also under investigation for another incident which involved ignoring blue flags.]








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday November 13 2011

Time: 3:29PM

Your Comments

doesn't that hotel look something else though with the illuminated blue mesh!
merlin
the whole place looks stunning! Not the best, not the worst of races would be my deep insight!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1100
2. DJ 1074
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 568
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 192
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix?
Rosberg 30%
Hamilton 35%
Ricciardo 21%
Verstappen 0%
Vettel 7%
Raikkonen 7%
Someone else 0%