Vital F1 | Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton won his third race of the 2011 season in Abu Dhabi beating Fernando Alonso to the chequered flag.

Hamilton had shown all weekend that he had the pace and form to win the race and once back-to-back World Champion Sebastian Vettel was forced to retire with a puncture, Hamilton commanded the race in style.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso did his best to match Hamilton's pace, keeping the gap to around the three to five seconds mark, but it turned out that Hamilton was simply pacing himself to look after his tyres.

Once the final pit-stops were made and Alonso missed out on any chance of leapfrogging Hamilton to create an exciting finish, the game was up for Ferrari as they simply had nothing to offer Hamilton.

Hamilton's McLaren team-mate Jenson Button unfortunately didn't have such a comfortable run, starting from third on the grid he lost out to Alonso and was then forced into a battle with Red Bull's Mark Webber after his KERS had failed on lap 12.

The two diced for the position with Webber taking the spot under the first DRS zone, only for Button to regain the position on the second DRS Zone.

At least it was an improvement on last season when overtaking in Abu Dhabi was virtually impossible, but it did all feel a bit forced and PlayStation like, which was one of the initial fears when introducing DRS to Formula One this season.

The action felt like it was manufactured rather than the racing being truly competitive. Something that Abu Dhabi will have to re-think as currently it is one of the dullest races on the calender despite its wonderful setting.

In the end Webber gave up on the hopes of overtaking him on the track and attempted to leapfrog Button by switching to three stops instead of two, but despite putting in some impressive lap times, he couldn't make up the time needed and he eventually surrendered the position when he pitted on the final lap for the harder compound tyre which the regulations required to be used.

Massa had a race on his own to come fifth, he flirted for a while with Button and Webber and could have taken fourth from Webber, but in the end he made an unforced error by spinning off, which ended any hopes of improving his position.

Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher, Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta all finished in the same order they started [in fact all the top nine did, moving up one place following Vettel's retirement].

Kamui Kobayashi beat Sauber team-mate Sergio Perez to the final World Championship point, while Rubens Barrichello will have enjoyed his day battling from last on the grid to 12th.

Pastor Maldonado also had good pace for Williams, but he eventually finished 14th ahead of Jaime Alguersuari following a drive-thru penalty for ignoring blue flags. [Maldonado and Alguersuari are also under investigation for another incident which involved ignoring blue flags.]








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday November 13 2011

Time: 3:29PM

Your Comments

doesn't that hotel look something else though with the illuminated blue mesh!
merlin
the whole place looks stunning! Not the best, not the worst of races would be my deep insight!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1160
2. Red5 1120
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 590
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 211
10. VanGisbergen2013 168

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Hamilton right to move over for Bottas?
No 9%
Yes - It was a team order 30%
Yes - But naive team order 61%