Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton wins in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton won his third race of the 2011 season in Abu Dhabi beating Fernando Alonso to the chequered flag.

Hamilton had shown all weekend that he had the pace and form to win the race and once back-to-back World Champion Sebastian Vettel was forced to retire with a puncture, Hamilton commanded the race in style.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso did his best to match Hamilton's pace, keeping the gap to around the three to five seconds mark, but it turned out that Hamilton was simply pacing himself to look after his tyres.

Once the final pit-stops were made and Alonso missed out on any chance of leapfrogging Hamilton to create an exciting finish, the game was up for Ferrari as they simply had nothing to offer Hamilton.

Hamilton's McLaren team-mate Jenson Button unfortunately didn't have such a comfortable run, starting from third on the grid he lost out to Alonso and was then forced into a battle with Red Bull's Mark Webber after his KERS had failed on lap 12.

The two diced for the position with Webber taking the spot under the first DRS zone, only for Button to regain the position on the second DRS Zone.

At least it was an improvement on last season when overtaking in Abu Dhabi was virtually impossible, but it did all feel a bit forced and PlayStation like, which was one of the initial fears when introducing DRS to Formula One this season.

The action felt like it was manufactured rather than the racing being truly competitive. Something that Abu Dhabi will have to re-think as currently it is one of the dullest races on the calender despite its wonderful setting.

In the end Webber gave up on the hopes of overtaking him on the track and attempted to leapfrog Button by switching to three stops instead of two, but despite putting in some impressive lap times, he couldn't make up the time needed and he eventually surrendered the position when he pitted on the final lap for the harder compound tyre which the regulations required to be used.

Massa had a race on his own to come fifth, he flirted for a while with Button and Webber and could have taken fourth from Webber, but in the end he made an unforced error by spinning off, which ended any hopes of improving his position.

Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher, Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta all finished in the same order they started [in fact all the top nine did, moving up one place following Vettel's retirement].

Kamui Kobayashi beat Sauber team-mate Sergio Perez to the final World Championship point, while Rubens Barrichello will have enjoyed his day battling from last on the grid to 12th.

Pastor Maldonado also had good pace for Williams, but he eventually finished 14th ahead of Jaime Alguersuari following a drive-thru penalty for ignoring blue flags. [Maldonado and Alguersuari are also under investigation for another incident which involved ignoring blue flags.]








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday November 13 2011

Time: 3:29PM

Club Execution error : spV3GetArticleFeedback 619,0,0 [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Could not find stored procedure 'spV3GetArticleFeedback'.

Your Comments (oldest first)

Change to most recent first
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Bernie wants one wish (Friday January 30 2015)

Could F1 lose German Grand Prix? (Tuesday January 27 2015)

New engines attract new fans (Friday January 23 2015)

Vettel's big gamble at Ferrari (Wednesday January 21 2015)

Honda allowed to make in-season changes (Tuesday January 20 2015)

Qatar bid for F1 scuppered? (Monday January 19 2015)

More aggressive tyre strategy in 2015 (Wednesday January 14 2015)

Robson swaps McLaren for Williams (Friday January 9 2015)

2015 Formula One Calendar (Thursday January 8 2015)

All change at Sauber (Thursday January 8 2015)

F1 teams to exploit engine rule loophole (Wednesday January 7 2015)

Korea dropped for 2015 (Wednesday January 7 2015)

Podromou is McLaren's master (Friday January 2 2015)

Long recovery for Ferrari (Thursday January 1 2015)

Red Bull Racing retain Buemi (Wednesday December 31 2014)

Talks to save Caterham continue (Tuesday December 30 2014)

Vettel had a great run at Red Bull (Friday December 26 2014)

Hamilton reflects on Rosberg rivalry (Wednesday December 24 2014)

Vergne joins Ferrari (Tuesday December 23 2014)

Trio depart Ferrari (Friday December 19 2014)

Ecclestone to propose v8 return (Thursday December 18 2014)

20 stolen Red Bull trophies recovered (Wednesday December 17 2014)

Gutierrez joins Ferrari (Tuesday December 16 2014)

Hamilton wins SPOTY (Monday December 15 2014)

McLaren confirm Alonso return (Thursday December 11 2014)

McLaren confirm Button on multi-year deal (Thursday December 11 2014)

Button stays at McLaren (Thursday December 11 2014)

Ricciardo surprised himself (Wednesday December 10 2014)

Red Bull factory ram-raided (Monday December 8 2014)

McLaren board meeting fails to decide (Friday December 5 2014)

2015 - Formula One's biggest season yet (Thursday December 4 2014)

FIA file report on Bianchi crash (Thursday December 4 2014)

Virtual Safety Car to get debut in 2015 (Wednesday December 3 2014)

Vettel completes first day at Ferrari (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Caterham could run old cars in 2015 (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Toro Rosso announce Sainz Jr for 2015 (Monday December 1 2014)

Formula One scrap double points round (Friday November 28 2014)

Problems for McLaren Honda continue (Thursday November 27 2014)

Successful season for Williams (Wednesday November 26 2014)

McLaren Honda manage 3 laps (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Caterham takeover complete 'in weeks' (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Audio: Abu Dhabi Recap (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Force India confirm Perez place (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Wolff praises Mercedes team-mates (Monday November 24 2014)

Greatest day for Hamilton (Monday November 24 2014)

Rosberg wins friends in defeat (Monday November 24 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Sunday November 23 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Race (Sunday November 23 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

Red Bull DQ'd from Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP3 (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP2 (Friday November 21 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP1 (Friday November 21 2014)

Audio: Hamilton v Rosberg - The Decider (Friday November 21 2014)

Caterham receive helping hand from Bernie (Thursday November 20 2014)

Grosjean to remain with Lotus (Thursday November 20 2014)

Bianchi 'out of coma' (Wednesday November 19 2014)

McLaren delay line-up announcement (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Ecclestone to hold talks with teams (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Force India hands Palmer chance to impress (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Chilton to join Caterham? (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Carlos Sainz Jr to test for Red Bull (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Kobayashi retains seat for Abu Dhabi (Monday November 17 2014)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 17 2014)

Caterham will return in Abu Dhabi (Friday November 14 2014)

Wolff plays down engine war fears (Friday November 14 2014)

Honda to debut new engine (Friday November 14 2014)

Ericsson terminates Caterham deal (Thursday November 13 2014)

Button not chasing big bucks (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Horner threatens engine war (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Alonso to sign 25million deal (Tuesday November 11 2014)

Record setting day for Mercedes (Monday November 10 2014)

Hamilton reflective (Monday November 10 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1029
2. DJ 907
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 573
6. Druss_the_Legend 528
7. Push The Button 441
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 155
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who holds the best driver pairing in 2015?
Mercedes: Hamilton & Rosberg 46%
Red Bull: Ricciardo & Kvyat 4%
Ferrari: Vettel & Raikkonen 16%
McLaren: Alonso & Button 29%
Williams: Massa & Bottas 5%