Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Coulthard to stay with the BBC

The BBC have confirmed that commentator David Coulthard will stay with the BBC Formula One team alongside presenter Jake Humphrey and pit lane reporter Lee McKenzie.

The news follows the announcement that Martin Brundle would be leaving the BBC for Sky Sports for the 2012 season.

There has yet to be an announcement regarding analyst Eddie Jordan or pit lane reporter Ted Kravitz, while BBC Radio 5 Live's lead commentator David Croft has been linked with a move to join Brundle on Sky Sports.

Next season the BBC will only be showing 10 events from the Formula One calendar live after an agreement with Sky Sports was agreed to share the television rights in the UK.

BBC head of Formula One coverage Ben Gallop told the press: 'We're really looking forward to 2012 and what promises to be another great year of Formula One on the BBC. With presentation from the track at every race, we'll be there every step of the way to tell the story of the season.

'Through a mix of live coverage and extended highlights, we'll have the best of the action from both on and off the track, plus all the news, analysis and big-name interviews.'


He also added that the race selections for the BBC and Sky came after various negotiations: 'Just to be clear, it wasn't the case that the BBC was simply able to select its preferred ten races to cover live - under the terms of our rights agreement, the allocation was decided through a negotiation with Sky, with each broadcaster able to prioritise specific choices within certain parameters.'

The BBC will show practice, qualifying and the race live from China, Spain, Monaco, Valencia, Silverstone, Belgium, Singapore, Korea, Abu Dhabi and Brazil.

The other events will be shown on the BBC via highlights packages.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday December 4 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

Eddie Jordan was interviewed about four weeks ago Rivera Radio, the local Monaco radio station and I'm told that off air he said he's staying
Villaininthemerde
Been told that Eddie Jordan told Rivera radio that the brundle deal was done some four weeks ago
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1016
2. DJ 879
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 146
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Hamilton have moved over for Rosberg?
No way! They're fighting for the title 92%
Yes, it was team orders 8%
Tough call, don't know 0%