Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

FOTA set for talks following withdrawals

The Formula One Teams Association are set to meet later today following the withdrawal of two of the biggest teams in F1 over the past couple of days.

FOTA had previously represented 11 out of the 12 teams in Formula One, with only HRT not included in the association.

However it has now emerged that Red Bull Racing and Ferrari have both resigned from the organisation in recent days, leaving FOTA in a state of limbo.

The teams had been playing politics for a number of months regarding negotiations over a new Resource Restriction Agreement (RRA) and there had been internal rows and accusations that some teams were not sticking to the agreed financial budgets that had been put in place with the previous agreement.

There had been a number of rumours in the paddock that the latest rows amongst the teams could see the break-up of FOTA and while Ferrari and Red Bull's withdrawal clearly leaves it weaker, some people believe it could enable the organisation to rebuild.

'It could now be easier to make some positive decisions, rather than there being this log jam with things constantly being blocked by teams rowing with each other, So let's see where we stand after the meeting.' one unnamed team principal told Autosport Magazine.

There was also some positive remarks from Mercedes team CEO Nick Fry, who was still very keen to work with FOTA and continue negotiations regarding a new RRA, he told Sky Sports: 'It's obviously quite a difficult time at the moment and clearly we, Mercedes AMG, are very supportive of cost control in Formula One, It's a difficult thing to achieve when everyone is so competitive but we certainly will work with others to try and fulfil the aim of an RRA.

'I think even though Ferrari have withdrawn at the moment they also are intent on finding a solution to this.

'We've certainly hit a bump in the road but I believe that work will continue in the background to try and resolve this and we will do whatever we can to support that.'


Of course the whole thing could just be more gamesmanship from Red Bull and Ferrari, both have to serve a two-month notice period, which gives time for both teams to reverse their decision should they choose too.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday December 6 2011

Time: 2:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Articles

McLaren target race wins (Thursday April 24 2014)

Red Bull play down driver row (Tuesday April 22 2014)

McLaren & Red Bull row over Fallows (Tuesday April 22 2014)

2014 - China - Race (Sunday April 20 2014)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 20 2014)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - Qualifying (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP3 (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP2 (Friday April 18 2014)

2014 - China - FP1 (Friday April 18 2014)

Hass might join F1 grid in 2016 (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Red Bull lose appeal (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Brawn to return to Ferrari? (Tuesday April 15 2014)

Domenicali quits (Monday April 14 2014)

Red Bull appeal begins (Monday April 14 2014)

Who will win the Chinese GP? (Sunday April 13 2014)

Mercedes hit out at Ferrari (Saturday April 12 2014)

Perez nearly quit F1 (Friday April 11 2014)

Mercedes stay on top in Bahrain (Thursday April 10 2014)

Red Bull & McLaren in legal row (Thursday April 10 2014)

Blog: The Battle of Mercedes (Thursday April 10 2014)

Mercedes on top in first test (Wednesday April 9 2014)

Formula One should celebrate new era (Wednesday April 9 2014)

F1 cost cap plan abandoned (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Two new teams to join Formula One? (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Maldonado punished (Monday April 7 2014)

Formula One puts on a showcase (Monday April 7 2014)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 7 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Race (Sunday April 6 2014)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP3 (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP2 (Friday April 4 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP1 (Friday April 4 2014)

Cautious optimism for Schumacher (Friday April 4 2014)

Williams resolve team orders row (Friday April 4 2014)

Hamilton & Rosberg on par (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber have identified their issues (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber & Caterham make driver changes (Wednesday April 2 2014)

Alonso finds the positives (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Fuel-gate rumbles on (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Red Bull are closing the gap (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Who will win the Bahrain GP? (Monday March 31 2014)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Sunday March 30 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Race (Sunday March 30 2014)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP3 (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP2 (Friday March 28 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP1 (Friday March 28 2014)

Sutil unhappy with weight issues (Thursday March 27 2014)

Video Feature: Malaysia Preview (Wednesday March 26 2014)

McLaren pushing hard (Wednesday March 26 2014)

Red Bull owner slams F1 (Tuesday March 25 2014)

Lotus hoping for improvement (Monday March 24 2014)

Date set for Red Bull's appeal (Monday March 24 2014)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Saturday March 22 2014)

Red Bull looking to improve (Friday March 21 2014)

F1's new sound (Thursday March 20 2014)

Williams delighted with Bottas drive (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Lotus problems down to MGU-K component (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Perfect debut for Magnussen (Tuesday March 18 2014)

Disappointing weekend for Red Bull (Monday March 17 2014)

Bittersweet weekend for Mercedes (Monday March 17 2014)

F1 Blog: Australian GP: New dawn (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Race (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Qualifying (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP3 (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP2 (Friday March 14 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP1 (Friday March 14 2014)

Stewards to be lenient in Australia (Thursday March 13 2014)

Chilton targets maiden point (Thursday March 13 2014)

Video: Ferrari's internal battle (Thursday March 13 2014)

F1 Blog: The Braces Are Off (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Lotus depending on Renault improvements (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Ecclestone targets Azerbaijan (Tuesday March 11 2014)

No change for Schumacher (Tuesday March 11 2014)

Qualifying tweaks confirmed (Monday March 10 2014)

Lotus will recover (Saturday March 8 2014)

Archived Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 998
2. DJ 856
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 559
6. Druss_the_Legend 510
7. Push The Button 426
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 138

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Are Mercedes catchable this season?
Yes 38%
No 50%
Unsure 12%