Vital F1 | FIA clarifies driving regulations for 2012
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

FIA clarifies driving regulations for 2012

The FIA have moved to clarify the change in the regulations which was announced last month.

The regulation changes which were reported on VitalF1.com in December have brought in a three-day test session during the season and a number of other technical rule changes, a change to tyre rules and changes to the race regulations.

The main area for clarification has come from the altered regulation in regards to drivers defending their position and the rule for lapped drivers behind a safety car.

The initial alteration regarding defending stated that drivers who make a move to defend their position away from the racing line would be prevented from returning to it before the corner.

This was announced due to a number of drivers returning to the racing line after defending the inside of the corner and ultimately being able to block the attacking driver twice.

The most notable incident of last season was between Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton in Italy.

Schumacher's Mercedes was clearly slower than the McLaren of Hamilton, but for a number of laps Schumacher continually blocked Hamilton, once on the inside of the corner and again on the racing line.

On one occasion Schumacher even forced Hamilton on to the grass to avoid a collision, while the Mercedes team received a number of warnings from race director Charlie Whiting for the incident, which eventually cost Hamilton a position to team-mate Jenson Button, Schumacher was not penalised.

However the new alterations and clarification of the rule from the FIA looks likely to have cleared up the problems of last year.

'More than one change of direction to defend a position is not permitted. Any driver moving back towards the racing line, having earlier defended his position off-line, should leave at least one car width between his own car and the edge of the track on the approach to the corner,'

We will have to wait and see how the race stewards implement the latest rules and see if it creates more or less penalties for drivers who are trying to be aggressive and overtake.

The rule for lapped cars during a safety car period was also clarified.

Under the new safety car rules, lapped drivers will be able to unlap themselves and rejoin the queue behind the safety car at the back of the line, this will then enable the lead drivers to race for position as soon as the safety car pulls back into the pits and the race resumes.

Lapped cars will have to wait for clearance to do this, with the new rules stating clearly when drivers are able and are not able to pass the lead cars and safety car: 'If the clerk of the course considers it safe to do so, and the message 'LAPPED CARS MAY NOW OVERTAKE' is shown on the timing monitors, any cars that have been lapped by the leader will be required to pass the cars on the lead lap and the safety car,' the rules state.

'This will only apply to cars that were lapped at the time they crossed the Line at the end of the lap during which they crossed the first Safety Car line for the second time after the safety car was deployed.

'Having overtaken the cars on the lead lap and the safety car these cars should then proceed around the track at an appropriate speed, without overtaking, and take up position at the back of the line of cars behind the safety car. Whilst they are overtaking, and in order to ensure this may be carried out safely, the cars on the lead lap must always stay on the racing line unless deviating from it is unavoidable.

'If the clerk of the course considers track conditions are unsuitable for overtaking the message 'OVERTAKING WILL NOT BE PERMITTED' will be shown on the timing monitors.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday January 5 2012

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

I'll worry about this nearer the new season I think!!!!!!!!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel's future is clear (Wednesday December 7 2016)

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 592
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 43%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 57%