Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes launch 2012 car

Mercedes have now officially unveiled their 2012 car, ahead of Barcelona testing this week.

Eagled eyed watchers got a sneak peak of the new Mercedes W03 at Silverstone on Thursday when Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg drove the car for the first time on a filming day, Mercedes were allowed to run 200km as they only took part in three of the four days at the first test session of the season in Jerez at the beginning of the month.

The first thing people will notice is that Mercedes have joined the revolution and have a stepped nose at the front of the car.

The Mercedes nose appears to be even steeper than some of the competition, but appears less blocky with curved edges.

'The nose is the most discussed issue. It's a stepped nose as some have seen. It's a very nice solution really and a very dynamic one.' Mercedes motorsport vice-president Norbert Haug told Autosport Magazine.

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn believes that the the teams evolution from its earlier seasons to now with a stronger technical department with the introductions of Bob Bell, Geoff Willis and Aldo Costa means that Mercedes are now confident to regularly battle Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari for podium finishes in 2012.

'We are definitely ready to go for podiums. Any team that has not won the world championship has to look at how it can improve, how it can strengthen and how it can achieve better results. Even if you win the world championship you still look at that.

'And if you are not winning races and not winning a championship then perhaps you have to look at even stronger improvements. But the key is not to ruin what you already have to build something stronger, and that is what we have been very focused on.

'We have some great people in the team already and I was comfortable in adding Geoff [Willis], Aldo [Costa] and Bob [Bell] because they are people I know would fit in with the existing structure, but also enhance the structure and make it stronger.'


After missing the first test in Jerez, Mercedes will be on the back foot from the off during this first pre season test in Barcelona.

The other teams will have completed various installation laps and gone through a number of setting changes, while also collecting data on their new machines and the new Pirelli tyres.

Mercedes have only been able to analyse the new Pirelli tyres from running their old car earlier this month, so expect them to be a little off the pace during the opening day or so of testing at Circuit de Catalunya.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday February 21 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Hamilton will not give up (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Rosberg finally takes responsibility (Monday September 1 2014)

Ferrari boss attempts to buy time (Monday September 1 2014)

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1018
2. DJ 881
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 147
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Rosberg face a penalty for failing to avoid Hamilton collision?
Yes - He has confessed! 77%
No 23%