Vital F1 - Lotus & Caterham hit problems in Barcelona
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Lotus & Caterham hit problems in Barcelona

The second test of the winter started in Barcelona on Tuesday, but Lotus and Caterham both hit problems.

The Caterham team were unable to test for the majority of the day after Heikki Kovalainen broke down on the track after just 9 laps.

The technical fault was in stark contrast to the first test in Jerez where the Caterham team had completed more miles than any of the teams who were at the test.

After an investigation the team discovered that Kovalainen had suffered a a rear track-rod failure and the team were able to fix the problem to complete a further 22 laps.

'As soon as we had the car back in the garage we identified the issue and managed to fix it on site, and we have more parts coming out tonight to make sure we don't have the same problem again.' Caterham technical chief Mike Gascoyne told Sky Sports on Tuesday evening.

'We know that this car is fundamentally reliable, so the aim for the next three days is to complete the plan for this test and put ourselves back on schedule.' he added.

Unfortunately for Lotus though, their problems were not as easily resolved.

After just 7 laps around Barcelona's Circuit de Catalunya, the Lotus team identified a chassis problem which was not previously noticed at the Jerez test.

Lotus have not revealed the exact problem with the car, but they have pulled out of the first test in Barcelona.

'we have quickly identified the issue with the chassis and our design office has already devised a solution. We will be present at next week's test in Barcelona.' Lotus team boss Eric Boullier told the BBC.

But many people in the paddock believe that Lotus are actually playing down the issues that they have found.

BBC F1 technical analyst Gary Anderson, who also writes for Autosport magazine believes that Lotus may even require a new chassis, which puts them in a race against time to be ready for the opening race at the Australian Grand Prix: 'you can't make a chassis overnight - you could probably compress it into three weeks if you really pushed it. If it is that serious, that could mean one new car for one driver in Melbourne and the other driving one that is patched up as well as possible.'

The reason behind the team not previously discovering the fault during the Jerez test could be explained by the higher aerodynamic loads that the car us put under in Barcelona in direct comparison to Jerez.

Cars behave differently under different conditions and tracks and the team have spotted what could prove to be a major fault for the team.

Lotus driver Romain Grosjean who completed the 7 laps told Autosport Magazine: 'It felt quite strange on the steering wheel, Both myself and the team picked up the problem at the same time.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday February 22 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Canadian GP?
Hamilton 56%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 11%
Raikkonen 11%
Bottas 11%
Massa 0%
Someone else 11%