Vital F1 | Lotus & Caterham hit problems in Barcelona
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Lotus & Caterham hit problems in Barcelona

The second test of the winter started in Barcelona on Tuesday, but Lotus and Caterham both hit problems.

The Caterham team were unable to test for the majority of the day after Heikki Kovalainen broke down on the track after just 9 laps.

The technical fault was in stark contrast to the first test in Jerez where the Caterham team had completed more miles than any of the teams who were at the test.

After an investigation the team discovered that Kovalainen had suffered a a rear track-rod failure and the team were able to fix the problem to complete a further 22 laps.

'As soon as we had the car back in the garage we identified the issue and managed to fix it on site, and we have more parts coming out tonight to make sure we don't have the same problem again.' Caterham technical chief Mike Gascoyne told Sky Sports on Tuesday evening.

'We know that this car is fundamentally reliable, so the aim for the next three days is to complete the plan for this test and put ourselves back on schedule.' he added.

Unfortunately for Lotus though, their problems were not as easily resolved.

After just 7 laps around Barcelona's Circuit de Catalunya, the Lotus team identified a chassis problem which was not previously noticed at the Jerez test.

Lotus have not revealed the exact problem with the car, but they have pulled out of the first test in Barcelona.

'we have quickly identified the issue with the chassis and our design office has already devised a solution. We will be present at next week's test in Barcelona.' Lotus team boss Eric Boullier told the BBC.

But many people in the paddock believe that Lotus are actually playing down the issues that they have found.

BBC F1 technical analyst Gary Anderson, who also writes for Autosport magazine believes that Lotus may even require a new chassis, which puts them in a race against time to be ready for the opening race at the Australian Grand Prix: 'you can't make a chassis overnight - you could probably compress it into three weeks if you really pushed it. If it is that serious, that could mean one new car for one driver in Melbourne and the other driving one that is patched up as well as possible.'

The reason behind the team not previously discovering the fault during the Jerez test could be explained by the higher aerodynamic loads that the car us put under in Barcelona in direct comparison to Jerez.

Cars behave differently under different conditions and tracks and the team have spotted what could prove to be a major fault for the team.

Lotus driver Romain Grosjean who completed the 7 laps told Autosport Magazine: 'It felt quite strange on the steering wheel, Both myself and the team picked up the problem at the same time.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday February 22 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1091
2. DJ 1050
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 559
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 184
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Are radio restrictions to tight?
Yes 78%
No 22%
No idea 0%