Vital F1 | First Barcelona test ends
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

First Barcelona test ends

The second Formula One test of the winter has come to a close and some teams will be a lot happier than others.

The first test was a couple of weeks ago in Jerez and while the teams obviously will have learned a lot from those days running around the 2.75mile circuit in Andalusia, Spain, there wasn't a whole lot for us to go on.

In fact the biggest talking point was probably still the look of the new noses and when Mercedes unveiled their new 2012 challenger for the first time, complete with the stepped nose design that the whole field [except McLaren] have gone with, that sparked off that particular conversation again.

On track, the top teams like Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari had already ran their 2012 car, so Mercedes were immediately one step behind, but the team were generally happy with how their running had gone with their new car.

Ferrari again were a little bit disappointed, but Fernando Alonso was quick to point out that even if they are further behind in their development than Red Bull and McLaren, there was still plenty of time to make it up.

Lotus however had a terrible opening day testing in Barcelona, so much so that they didn't even return for the remaining days.

Romain Grosjean reported 'strange' feelings from his Lotus and after just seven laps the team were packing up to go home after discovering a major chassis problem, that could be so serious that the team are now racing against time to be ready for the Australian Grand Prix.

Caterham also experienced a trackrod problem, but the team were able to fix it and get Heikki Kovalainen before the day ended.

Marussia rookie Charles Pic had his first experience of Formula One in last seasons Virgin car, but while his times were the slowest over the four days, he did complete 229 laps of Barcelona's Catalunya circuit, which equates to over 650 miles of running [around three Grand Prix distances] which will be invaluable experience for the former GP2 driver, he would have had even more on track time if it wasn't for a suspension failure on Friday.

At the other end of the timing sheets there was an unfamiliar look to proceedings with Kobayashi's Sauber setting the fastest time over the first four days.

Sauber did however admit to the team working on qualifying setup at the time, which of course meant the Sauber was running on soft tyres, lighter fuel loads and qualifying set ups.

'Before lunch Kamui did qualifying runs. Qualifying was actually a weakness of ours in the last two seasons and we have to resolve this. This obviously requires proper practice. Kamui started with the medium compound before he used two sets of soft tyres, and in the end he got his first taste of the 2012 super soft compound.' Sauber's Head of Track Engineering Giampaolo Dall'Ara told Sky Sports.

'[Kobayashi] did his fastest lap on the second set of softs. This lap time now stands as the overall fastest for this week, but of course this doesn't mean much because proper comparisons are never possible during testing with each team running different programmes. In the afternoon we did longer runs for race preparation.' he concluded.

Another surprise was in store for the second fastest driver over the four days as this was Maldonado for Williams, Pastor Maldonado did indeed run the super-soft tyre compound for this run, but Williams did not dismiss their times as qualifying runs and looked consistently quick on the final two days of testing.

Hulkenberg's Force India was third fastest ahead of the second Sauber driver Perez.

Defending Formula One World Champion Vettel was fifth fastest, but was the quickest of more likely contenders once the teams get to Australia.

The second Barcelona test gets under way at the end of the week.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday February 27 2012

Time: 1:02PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel's future is clear (Wednesday December 7 2016)

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 592
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 45%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 55%