Vital F1 - First Barcelona test ends
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

First Barcelona test ends

The second Formula One test of the winter has come to a close and some teams will be a lot happier than others.

The first test was a couple of weeks ago in Jerez and while the teams obviously will have learned a lot from those days running around the 2.75mile circuit in Andalusia, Spain, there wasn't a whole lot for us to go on.

In fact the biggest talking point was probably still the look of the new noses and when Mercedes unveiled their new 2012 challenger for the first time, complete with the stepped nose design that the whole field [except McLaren] have gone with, that sparked off that particular conversation again.

On track, the top teams like Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari had already ran their 2012 car, so Mercedes were immediately one step behind, but the team were generally happy with how their running had gone with their new car.

Ferrari again were a little bit disappointed, but Fernando Alonso was quick to point out that even if they are further behind in their development than Red Bull and McLaren, there was still plenty of time to make it up.

Lotus however had a terrible opening day testing in Barcelona, so much so that they didn't even return for the remaining days.

Romain Grosjean reported 'strange' feelings from his Lotus and after just seven laps the team were packing up to go home after discovering a major chassis problem, that could be so serious that the team are now racing against time to be ready for the Australian Grand Prix.

Caterham also experienced a trackrod problem, but the team were able to fix it and get Heikki Kovalainen before the day ended.

Marussia rookie Charles Pic had his first experience of Formula One in last seasons Virgin car, but while his times were the slowest over the four days, he did complete 229 laps of Barcelona's Catalunya circuit, which equates to over 650 miles of running [around three Grand Prix distances] which will be invaluable experience for the former GP2 driver, he would have had even more on track time if it wasn't for a suspension failure on Friday.

At the other end of the timing sheets there was an unfamiliar look to proceedings with Kobayashi's Sauber setting the fastest time over the first four days.

Sauber did however admit to the team working on qualifying setup at the time, which of course meant the Sauber was running on soft tyres, lighter fuel loads and qualifying set ups.

'Before lunch Kamui did qualifying runs. Qualifying was actually a weakness of ours in the last two seasons and we have to resolve this. This obviously requires proper practice. Kamui started with the medium compound before he used two sets of soft tyres, and in the end he got his first taste of the 2012 super soft compound.' Sauber's Head of Track Engineering Giampaolo Dall'Ara told Sky Sports.

'[Kobayashi] did his fastest lap on the second set of softs. This lap time now stands as the overall fastest for this week, but of course this doesn't mean much because proper comparisons are never possible during testing with each team running different programmes. In the afternoon we did longer runs for race preparation.' he concluded.

Another surprise was in store for the second fastest driver over the four days as this was Maldonado for Williams, Pastor Maldonado did indeed run the super-soft tyre compound for this run, but Williams did not dismiss their times as qualifying runs and looked consistently quick on the final two days of testing.

Hulkenberg's Force India was third fastest ahead of the second Sauber driver Perez.

Defending Formula One World Champion Vettel was fifth fastest, but was the quickest of more likely contenders once the teams get to Australia.

The second Barcelona test gets under way at the end of the week.

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday February 27 2012

Time: 1:02PM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Ecclestone expects F1 to be sold (Wednesday October 7 2015)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday October 5 2015)

Manor secure Mercedes power for 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Button to stay at McLaren in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Grosjean to join Haas in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Letter of intent signed for Lotus buy-out (Tuesday September 29 2015)

Where were Mercedes in Japan? (Monday September 28 2015)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday September 27 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Race (Sunday September 27 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP- FP3 (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP2 (Friday September 25 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP1 (Friday September 25 2015)

Perez to stay with Force India (Thursday September 24 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday September 24 2015)

McLaren ready for financial shortfall (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Button expected to announce retirement (Wednesday September 23 2015)

It's Ferrari or Bust for Red Bull Racing (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Maldonado to stay, Grosjean to leave? (Tuesday September 22 2015)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 21 2015)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 21 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 20 2015)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015- Singapore GP - FP3 (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 18 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 18 2015)

Rosberg will keep believing (Friday September 18 2015)

Merhi & Rossi to share Manor Marussia seat (Thursday September 17 2015)

Another new deal for Melbourne (Thursday September 17 2015)

It's over says Renault (Thursday September 17 2015)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Who will win in Singpore? (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Williams may not take Mercedes upgrade (Tuesday September 15 2015)

Big hopes for Ferrari in 2016 (Friday September 11 2015)

Button's wait nearly over? (Thursday September 10 2015)

Webber slams pay drivers (Wednesday September 9 2015)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 8 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday September 6 2015)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 6 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday September 4 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday September 4 2015)

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1062
2. DJ 980
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 544
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 170
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Russian GP?
Hamilton 80%
Rosberg 5%
Vettel 15%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 0%