Vital F1 - Ecclestone calls for cost cuts
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ecclestone calls for cost cuts

Bernie Ecclestone the boss of Formula One, wants further spending cuts in the sport and calls for the big teams to stop looking through rose-tinted specs.

To be competitive in Formula One you have always needed money, lots of it. The difference between the spend of the teams at the back of the grid such as HRT and Marussia, compared to the likes of Red Bull and Ferrari is not millions, its tens of millions of pounds.

'There are still too many people in Formula One running around with rose-tinted glasses. They obviously like to see the world as they want it to be - wonderful, the sun is shining, isnít life delightful - and not how it is. The downside of these glasses is that they blind you to reality.'

'Change the colour of your glasses and tighten your belts. Stop spending more than you need to.'
Ecclestone told

The recent arguments around the Resource Restriction Agreement [generally referred too as the RRA] has virtually brought FOTA [Formula One Teams Association] to its knees with a number of teams withdrawing from the organisation over the winter.

The teams of course know they must work together and so very little in reality has changed since their high profile withdrawals. Teams like McLaren and Lotus who remain in FOTA are still talking to teams like Red Bull and Ferrari who have withdrawn, they are still making appearances at FOTA fan events and negotiations continue, they have too because this year a new Concorde Agreement also has to be reviewed and agreed.

It's all about politics, something the general fan would love to avoid, but unfortunately is critical for the sport as it shapes its future over the next few years.

Especially when money and team budgets are firmly on the agenda.

Bernie continued: 'The teams have to learn to be competitive without tonnes of money. They have to refocus again on the basics - on racing, spending on the sport - and not on baronial motorhomes and all kinds of entertainment.

'it is very difficult to find a consensus between all the parties involved. Take everyday life - it is already difficult to find consent between two people. Then try that with 12 team principals! Coming to FIA, we see the FIA representatives in the light blue shirts at every race, donít we? So they are not invisible at all. Believe me, I am working very hard to balance all these different parties and their needs.

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday March 14 2012

Time: 10:00AM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Russia? (Monday October 5 2015)

Manor secure Mercedes power for 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Button to stay at McLaren in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Grosjean to join Haas in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Letter of intent signed for Lotus buy-out (Tuesday September 29 2015)

Where were Mercedes in Japan? (Monday September 28 2015)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday September 27 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Race (Sunday September 27 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP- FP3 (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP2 (Friday September 25 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP1 (Friday September 25 2015)

Perez to stay with Force India (Thursday September 24 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday September 24 2015)

McLaren ready for financial shortfall (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Button expected to announce retirement (Wednesday September 23 2015)

It's Ferrari or Bust for Red Bull Racing (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Maldonado to stay, Grosjean to leave? (Tuesday September 22 2015)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 21 2015)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 21 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 20 2015)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015- Singapore GP - FP3 (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 18 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 18 2015)

Rosberg will keep believing (Friday September 18 2015)

Merhi & Rossi to share Manor Marussia seat (Thursday September 17 2015)

Another new deal for Melbourne (Thursday September 17 2015)

It's over says Renault (Thursday September 17 2015)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Who will win in Singpore? (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Williams may not take Mercedes upgrade (Tuesday September 15 2015)

Big hopes for Ferrari in 2016 (Friday September 11 2015)

Button's wait nearly over? (Thursday September 10 2015)

Webber slams pay drivers (Wednesday September 9 2015)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 8 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday September 6 2015)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 6 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday September 4 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday September 4 2015)

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1062
2. DJ 980
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 544
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 170
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Russian GP?
Hamilton 79%
Rosberg 5%
Vettel 16%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 0%