Vital F1 | De la Rosa confident HRT can qualify
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

De la Rosa confident HRT can qualify

Veteran driver Pedro de la Rosa is hopeful he can start his first race for HRT this Sunday.

In Australia neither de la Rosa, who signed a two-year-contract with HRT at the end of last season, or team-mate Narain Karthikeyan could get inside the 107% time in Q1 to qualify for the race.

HRT didn't have the aid of a working DRS system in Australia, which drivers can obviously use around the whole circuit during qualifying. This put them at a big disadvantage ignoring all the other issues that a lack of testing time brings a team.

But for the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend, HRT believe they have solved their DRS issue and have also made other improvements.

'It is not only the fact that we will have DRS here, which we didn't in Australia, We seem to have found the issues with the power steering, which is massively important. And the whole team has had one more week to build the cars with more attention to detail really, so I am more confident than Australia.' Pedro De La Rosa told Autosport Magazine.

'DRS itself is approximately nine tenths to one second, so it is quite a big help especially where we are, and what we need to qualify. That extra second could make a difference.'

'it was tough to not qualify in Australia, because of the mechanics and engineers who made such a super effort to be there,'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday March 22 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1088
2. DJ 1039
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 182
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Verstappen 43%
Ricciardo 20%
Rosberg 11%
Hamilton 5%
Vettel 2%
Raikkonen 14%
Someone else 5%