Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

De la Rosa confident HRT can qualify

Veteran driver Pedro de la Rosa is hopeful he can start his first race for HRT this Sunday.

In Australia neither de la Rosa, who signed a two-year-contract with HRT at the end of last season, or team-mate Narain Karthikeyan could get inside the 107% time in Q1 to qualify for the race.

HRT didn't have the aid of a working DRS system in Australia, which drivers can obviously use around the whole circuit during qualifying. This put them at a big disadvantage ignoring all the other issues that a lack of testing time brings a team.

But for the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend, HRT believe they have solved their DRS issue and have also made other improvements.

'It is not only the fact that we will have DRS here, which we didn't in Australia, We seem to have found the issues with the power steering, which is massively important. And the whole team has had one more week to build the cars with more attention to detail really, so I am more confident than Australia.' Pedro De La Rosa told Autosport Magazine.

'DRS itself is approximately nine tenths to one second, so it is quite a big help especially where we are, and what we need to qualify. That extra second could make a difference.'

'it was tough to not qualify in Australia, because of the mechanics and engineers who made such a super effort to be there,'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday March 22 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Speculation bores Vettel (Friday September 5 2014)

Could Mercedes drop Rosberg or Hamilton (Friday September 5 2014)

Hass seal Ferrari deal (Thursday September 4 2014)

Renault join calls for engine freeze lift (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Ferrari frustration for Fernando (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Hamilton will not give up (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Rosberg finally takes responsibility (Monday September 1 2014)

Ferrari boss attempts to buy time (Monday September 1 2014)

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1021
2. DJ 884
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 520
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 148
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Singapore?
Rosberg 1%
Hamilton 66%
Ricciardo 33%
Vettel 0%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 0%