Vital F1 | Mal GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mal GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton

Just like in Australia, McLaren's Lewis Hamilton appeared to be the quickest throughout the weekend.

But once again that speed in practice and qualifying couldn't be converted into a race victory, with Hamilton once again finishing third.

On Friday, Hamilton topped both first and second practice and on Saturday, he took his second pole position of the season ahead of team-mate Jenson Button, giving McLaren their second one-two finish in qualifying in 2012.

ďQualifying is an intense experience and, as drivers, we all put a huge amount of pressure on ourselves, but itís probably the part of the race weekend I most enjoy. On my quickest lap in Q3, I lost a little time in the final cornerĖ maybe a tenth and a half - so itís massively encouraging to still be in the position Iím in. Itís great for the team to have another one-two, too: thatís a huge achievement from everybody, but we just need to make sure we keep pushing because the guys behind us wonít give up. Hamilton told formula1.com on Saturday evening.

Unlike in Australia, Hamilton got a good start in the dampening conditions, getting better traction away from the grid and beating team-mate Jenson Button into the first turn.

Perhaps in dry conditions Hamilton could have dominated the race, but with the conditions ever changing, the track first got wetter, then the race was put on hold, first under the safety car and then under the red flag.

Once the race got back under way again behind the safety car, some drivers were already considering when to switch tyres from the full wets to inters.

But despite getting ahead of his team-mate, the pit-stop calls yet again proved to be decisive and unfortunately for the 2008 Formula One World Champion, his pit-stops once again put him on the back foot.

In Australia, Button dictated when he wanted to pit, maximising the most out of his tyres to get the advantage.

In Malaysia, that call was Hamilton's to make as he was leading and yet, it was Button getting the call right again, pitting a lap earlier than Hamilton. Then in the pits, Alonso leapfrogged Hamilton into the lead where the Spaniard stayed for the remainder of the race.

After collecting his second trophy of the season on the podium, Hamilton spoke positively: ďThis was a tough but fascinating race - firstly, I want to offer my congratulations to Fernando and Sergio - they both drove great races and did a fantastic job. It was pretty eventful race: it was difficult trying to judge the best time to change from Extreme Wets to Intermediates, and we were probably a little late on that - but thatís how it goes sometimes. Today wasnít perfect - making the call for slicks is always a risk, and the others went a bit earlier than us. In general, we lost some time in the pitstops and I was pushed out of the fight somewhat. But, all in all, itís been a positive weekend and Iím not too frustrated.'

Hamilton's 15 points in Malaysia leaves him second in the championship, 5 points behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, but 5 points ahead of team-mate Jenson Button.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 27 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 40%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 60%