Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mal GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton

Just like in Australia, McLaren's Lewis Hamilton appeared to be the quickest throughout the weekend.

But once again that speed in practice and qualifying couldn't be converted into a race victory, with Hamilton once again finishing third.

On Friday, Hamilton topped both first and second practice and on Saturday, he took his second pole position of the season ahead of team-mate Jenson Button, giving McLaren their second one-two finish in qualifying in 2012.

ďQualifying is an intense experience and, as drivers, we all put a huge amount of pressure on ourselves, but itís probably the part of the race weekend I most enjoy. On my quickest lap in Q3, I lost a little time in the final cornerĖ maybe a tenth and a half - so itís massively encouraging to still be in the position Iím in. Itís great for the team to have another one-two, too: thatís a huge achievement from everybody, but we just need to make sure we keep pushing because the guys behind us wonít give up. Hamilton told formula1.com on Saturday evening.

Unlike in Australia, Hamilton got a good start in the dampening conditions, getting better traction away from the grid and beating team-mate Jenson Button into the first turn.

Perhaps in dry conditions Hamilton could have dominated the race, but with the conditions ever changing, the track first got wetter, then the race was put on hold, first under the safety car and then under the red flag.

Once the race got back under way again behind the safety car, some drivers were already considering when to switch tyres from the full wets to inters.

But despite getting ahead of his team-mate, the pit-stop calls yet again proved to be decisive and unfortunately for the 2008 Formula One World Champion, his pit-stops once again put him on the back foot.

In Australia, Button dictated when he wanted to pit, maximising the most out of his tyres to get the advantage.

In Malaysia, that call was Hamilton's to make as he was leading and yet, it was Button getting the call right again, pitting a lap earlier than Hamilton. Then in the pits, Alonso leapfrogged Hamilton into the lead where the Spaniard stayed for the remainder of the race.

After collecting his second trophy of the season on the podium, Hamilton spoke positively: ďThis was a tough but fascinating race - firstly, I want to offer my congratulations to Fernando and Sergio - they both drove great races and did a fantastic job. It was pretty eventful race: it was difficult trying to judge the best time to change from Extreme Wets to Intermediates, and we were probably a little late on that - but thatís how it goes sometimes. Today wasnít perfect - making the call for slicks is always a risk, and the others went a bit earlier than us. In general, we lost some time in the pitstops and I was pushed out of the fight somewhat. But, all in all, itís been a positive weekend and Iím not too frustrated.'

Hamilton's 15 points in Malaysia leaves him second in the championship, 5 points behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, but 5 points ahead of team-mate Jenson Button.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 27 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1016
2. DJ 879
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 146
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Hamilton have moved over for Rosberg?
No way! They're fighting for the title 86%
Yes, it was team orders 14%
Tough call, don't know 0%