Vital F1 - Mal GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mal GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton

Just like in Australia, McLaren's Lewis Hamilton appeared to be the quickest throughout the weekend.

But once again that speed in practice and qualifying couldn't be converted into a race victory, with Hamilton once again finishing third.

On Friday, Hamilton topped both first and second practice and on Saturday, he took his second pole position of the season ahead of team-mate Jenson Button, giving McLaren their second one-two finish in qualifying in 2012.

ďQualifying is an intense experience and, as drivers, we all put a huge amount of pressure on ourselves, but itís probably the part of the race weekend I most enjoy. On my quickest lap in Q3, I lost a little time in the final cornerĖ maybe a tenth and a half - so itís massively encouraging to still be in the position Iím in. Itís great for the team to have another one-two, too: thatís a huge achievement from everybody, but we just need to make sure we keep pushing because the guys behind us wonít give up. Hamilton told formula1.com on Saturday evening.

Unlike in Australia, Hamilton got a good start in the dampening conditions, getting better traction away from the grid and beating team-mate Jenson Button into the first turn.

Perhaps in dry conditions Hamilton could have dominated the race, but with the conditions ever changing, the track first got wetter, then the race was put on hold, first under the safety car and then under the red flag.

Once the race got back under way again behind the safety car, some drivers were already considering when to switch tyres from the full wets to inters.

But despite getting ahead of his team-mate, the pit-stop calls yet again proved to be decisive and unfortunately for the 2008 Formula One World Champion, his pit-stops once again put him on the back foot.

In Australia, Button dictated when he wanted to pit, maximising the most out of his tyres to get the advantage.

In Malaysia, that call was Hamilton's to make as he was leading and yet, it was Button getting the call right again, pitting a lap earlier than Hamilton. Then in the pits, Alonso leapfrogged Hamilton into the lead where the Spaniard stayed for the remainder of the race.

After collecting his second trophy of the season on the podium, Hamilton spoke positively: ďThis was a tough but fascinating race - firstly, I want to offer my congratulations to Fernando and Sergio - they both drove great races and did a fantastic job. It was pretty eventful race: it was difficult trying to judge the best time to change from Extreme Wets to Intermediates, and we were probably a little late on that - but thatís how it goes sometimes. Today wasnít perfect - making the call for slicks is always a risk, and the others went a bit earlier than us. In general, we lost some time in the pitstops and I was pushed out of the fight somewhat. But, all in all, itís been a positive weekend and Iím not too frustrated.'

Hamilton's 15 points in Malaysia leaves him second in the championship, 5 points behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, but 5 points ahead of team-mate Jenson Button.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 27 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Canadian GP?
Hamilton 52%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 12%
Raikkonen 12%
Bottas 12%
Massa 0%
Someone else 12%