Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Shadow foreign secretary wants Bahrain cancelled

Formula One is set to return to Bahrain over the next few days for the first time in over two years.

Last seasons event which had been originally scheduled to be the seasons opener was at first postponed and then eventually cancelled due to political unrest in Bahrain.

This years event has been the subject of a lot of media coverage. Last week this built up to the position when FOTA [Formula One Teams Association] released a press statement stating that it was the decision of the FIA to decide if a race shouldn't take place.

FOTA was virtually pushed into that position by mounting media speculation that some of the teams were not happy about the prospect of racing in a country with ongoing human rights issues.

Ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix the FIA announced that the Bahrain Grand Prix would go ahead this weekend, Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone held a brief meeting with the teams in Shanghai informing all the team bosses that the race would be going ahead. Reportedly there were no questions, no complaints and the meeting was wrapped up very quickly.

Ecclestone hoped that would draw a line under it and Formula One could head into the weekend with no further complaints, while the Bahrain International Circuit chairman Zayed R Alzayani insisted that holding the event was not a gamble.

He told Sky Sports: 'We've been in Formula One for seven years and we will be in it for much longer than that, We wouldn't take a decision on a gamble. But it's a calculated decision, we've weighed up our options and we are committed to the Grand Prix and to its success.

'I don't think anything drastic will happen. It's not Syria or Afghanistan.'


But while Formula One appears content with the decision, Amnesty International have said that the crisis in the country is not over.

'With the world's eyes on Bahrain as it prepares to host the Grand Prix, no one should be under any illusions that the country's human rights crisis is over,' said Amnesty's Middle East and North Africa deputy director Hassiba Hadj Sahraoui told Sky News.

This has led to Shadow foreign secretary Douglas Alexander calling for the event to be called off.

'The authorities are trying to portray the country as being on the road to reform, but we continue to receive reports of torture and use of unnecessary and excessive force against protests.'

'To go ahead at present risks sending the wrong signal at a time when the authorities in Bahrain should be focused on delivering real reform,'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday April 17 2012

Time: 10:00AM

Your Comments

Alexander would say that in the certain knowledge that hes not going to make a governmental decision, he just muddies waters more. Interestingly an international tennis tournament ended there last week. Hardly a peak from the media
Villaininthemerde
would still rather it wasn't going to be honest.
The Fear
Agree fear but its money that turns the engine in the FIA
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Articles

Red Bull play down driver row (Tuesday April 22 2014)

McLaren & Red Bull row over Fallows (Tuesday April 22 2014)

2014 - China - Race (Sunday April 20 2014)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 20 2014)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - Qualifying (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP3 (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP2 (Friday April 18 2014)

2014 - China - FP1 (Friday April 18 2014)

Hass might join F1 grid in 2016 (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Red Bull lose appeal (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Brawn to return to Ferrari? (Tuesday April 15 2014)

Domenicali quits (Monday April 14 2014)

Red Bull appeal begins (Monday April 14 2014)

Who will win the Chinese GP? (Sunday April 13 2014)

Mercedes hit out at Ferrari (Saturday April 12 2014)

Perez nearly quit F1 (Friday April 11 2014)

Mercedes stay on top in Bahrain (Thursday April 10 2014)

Red Bull & McLaren in legal row (Thursday April 10 2014)

Blog: The Battle of Mercedes (Thursday April 10 2014)

Mercedes on top in first test (Wednesday April 9 2014)

Formula One should celebrate new era (Wednesday April 9 2014)

F1 cost cap plan abandoned (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Two new teams to join Formula One? (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Maldonado punished (Monday April 7 2014)

Formula One puts on a showcase (Monday April 7 2014)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 7 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Race (Sunday April 6 2014)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP3 (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP2 (Friday April 4 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP1 (Friday April 4 2014)

Cautious optimism for Schumacher (Friday April 4 2014)

Williams resolve team orders row (Friday April 4 2014)

Hamilton & Rosberg on par (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber have identified their issues (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber & Caterham make driver changes (Wednesday April 2 2014)

Alonso finds the positives (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Fuel-gate rumbles on (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Red Bull are closing the gap (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Who will win the Bahrain GP? (Monday March 31 2014)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Sunday March 30 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Race (Sunday March 30 2014)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP3 (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP2 (Friday March 28 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP1 (Friday March 28 2014)

Sutil unhappy with weight issues (Thursday March 27 2014)

Video Feature: Malaysia Preview (Wednesday March 26 2014)

McLaren pushing hard (Wednesday March 26 2014)

Red Bull owner slams F1 (Tuesday March 25 2014)

Lotus hoping for improvement (Monday March 24 2014)

Date set for Red Bull's appeal (Monday March 24 2014)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Saturday March 22 2014)

Red Bull looking to improve (Friday March 21 2014)

F1's new sound (Thursday March 20 2014)

Williams delighted with Bottas drive (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Lotus problems down to MGU-K component (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Perfect debut for Magnussen (Tuesday March 18 2014)

Disappointing weekend for Red Bull (Monday March 17 2014)

Bittersweet weekend for Mercedes (Monday March 17 2014)

F1 Blog: Australian GP: New dawn (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Race (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Qualifying (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP3 (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP2 (Friday March 14 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP1 (Friday March 14 2014)

Stewards to be lenient in Australia (Thursday March 13 2014)

Chilton targets maiden point (Thursday March 13 2014)

Video: Ferrari's internal battle (Thursday March 13 2014)

F1 Blog: The Braces Are Off (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Lotus depending on Renault improvements (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Ecclestone targets Azerbaijan (Tuesday March 11 2014)

No change for Schumacher (Tuesday March 11 2014)

Qualifying tweaks confirmed (Monday March 10 2014)

Lotus will recover (Saturday March 8 2014)

Archived Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 998
2. DJ 856
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 559
6. Druss_the_Legend 510
7. Push The Button 426
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 138

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Are Mercedes catchable this season?
Yes 29%
No 57%
Unsure 14%