Vital F1 | Shadow foreign secretary wants Bahrain cancelled
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Shadow foreign secretary wants Bahrain cancelled

Formula One is set to return to Bahrain over the next few days for the first time in over two years.

Last seasons event which had been originally scheduled to be the seasons opener was at first postponed and then eventually cancelled due to political unrest in Bahrain.

This years event has been the subject of a lot of media coverage. Last week this built up to the position when FOTA [Formula One Teams Association] released a press statement stating that it was the decision of the FIA to decide if a race shouldn't take place.

FOTA was virtually pushed into that position by mounting media speculation that some of the teams were not happy about the prospect of racing in a country with ongoing human rights issues.

Ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix the FIA announced that the Bahrain Grand Prix would go ahead this weekend, Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone held a brief meeting with the teams in Shanghai informing all the team bosses that the race would be going ahead. Reportedly there were no questions, no complaints and the meeting was wrapped up very quickly.

Ecclestone hoped that would draw a line under it and Formula One could head into the weekend with no further complaints, while the Bahrain International Circuit chairman Zayed R Alzayani insisted that holding the event was not a gamble.

He told Sky Sports: 'We've been in Formula One for seven years and we will be in it for much longer than that, We wouldn't take a decision on a gamble. But it's a calculated decision, we've weighed up our options and we are committed to the Grand Prix and to its success.

'I don't think anything drastic will happen. It's not Syria or Afghanistan.'


But while Formula One appears content with the decision, Amnesty International have said that the crisis in the country is not over.

'With the world's eyes on Bahrain as it prepares to host the Grand Prix, no one should be under any illusions that the country's human rights crisis is over,' said Amnesty's Middle East and North Africa deputy director Hassiba Hadj Sahraoui told Sky News.

This has led to Shadow foreign secretary Douglas Alexander calling for the event to be called off.

'The authorities are trying to portray the country as being on the road to reform, but we continue to receive reports of torture and use of unnecessary and excessive force against protests.'

'To go ahead at present risks sending the wrong signal at a time when the authorities in Bahrain should be focused on delivering real reform,'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday April 17 2012

Time: 10:00AM

Your Comments

Alexander would say that in the certain knowledge that hes not going to make a governmental decision, he just muddies waters more. Interestingly an international tennis tournament ended there last week. Hardly a peak from the media
Villaininthemerde
would still rather it wasn't going to be honest.
The Fear
Agree fear but its money that turns the engine in the FIA
Villaininthemerde
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Formula One going soft (Thursday November 23 2017)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Thursday November 23 2017)

Force India name change hits the buffers (Wednesday November 22 2017)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1129
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 513
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 221
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 23%
Hamilton 42%
Verstappen 14%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 7%
Someone else 7%