Vital F1 - Was going ahead with Bahrain right?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Was going ahead with Bahrain right?

As more and more details emerged about the incident involving four members of the Force India team, more questions were obviously going to be asked about the staging of this race.

Before the teams arrived in Bahrain, everyone involved in Formula One knew that there were still political protests ongoing in the country, with regular violent flair ups occurring in and around the countries capital of Manama.

Force India were the first team to encounter problems while travelling back to their hotel from the track.

A petrol-bomb attack took place on the streets, with protesters and police throwing object towards each other, with the road becoming a battle line.

The Force India team were not the target, they were just one of forty vehicles caught up in the incident and initial reports stated that their car escaped unharmed within minutes of the incident taking place.

Later reports however revealed that petrol bombs had actually been thrown over their vehicle, while some tear gas fired by the local police entered the car. The teams driver managed to drive out of danger through a gap in the flames on the road.

Not exactly ideal preparation ahead of a race weekend and quite understandably, some members of the team asked to return home.

'We shouldn't have been put in this position,' Force India driver Nico Hulkenberg told the BBC.

'It is obviously not right that that sort of stuff happens, We are here to race. The F1 business is about entertainment and these sort of things should not really be happening to us.

'Whether it is right or not I don't really know. It's difficult to say. I am not a politician, I am a formula 1 driver, but it should not really be happening should it?

'It is not good that we have to worry about it: that is the way it is now and let's see and hope that the rest of the weekend is good and calm.'

It is believed that Hulkenberg's thoughts are echoed up and down the pitlane with many drivers and team members uncomfortable with the situation, with McLaren's Jenson Button refusing to comment on anything outside of the events on the track.

'I'm not going to get into the details of it. You're here interviewing me as a driver, and that's exactly what I'm going to talk about - motor racing.

'The outside issues I'm not going to talk about because it's not what I'm here to do.'

On Thursday evening, the UK's shadow home secretary Yvette Cooper joined the debate on the BBC's Question Time programme and she stated: 'It shouldn't go ahead, I don't think British drivers should go. I think the Formula One should not go ahead in Bahrain.'

Sky Sports F1 commentator Martin Brundle however believes that hosting the race was the right thing to do for Formula One.

'In many ways, I've never seen Bahrain looking better. Clearly, there is some trouble out there, but I've not seen any of it. Some journalists have gone looking for it and unfortunately the trouble found Force India,' he told their website.

'My view is this: F1 can't run away from this. The race is scheduled and it would be weak of F1 to do that and it [running away] would create problems in other parts of the world we go to. If I were in charge of F1, I would have made the same decision to come here and race. I think we're doing the right thing.'

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday April 20 2012

Time: 12:00PM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2015 - Russian GP - FP2 (Friday October 9 2015)

2015 - Russian GP - FP1 (Friday October 9 2015)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Thursday October 8 2015)

Ecclestone expects F1 to be sold (Wednesday October 7 2015)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday October 5 2015)

Manor secure Mercedes power for 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Button to stay at McLaren in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Grosjean to join Haas in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Letter of intent signed for Lotus buy-out (Tuesday September 29 2015)

Where were Mercedes in Japan? (Monday September 28 2015)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday September 27 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Race (Sunday September 27 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP- FP3 (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP2 (Friday September 25 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP1 (Friday September 25 2015)

Perez to stay with Force India (Thursday September 24 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday September 24 2015)

McLaren ready for financial shortfall (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Button expected to announce retirement (Wednesday September 23 2015)

It's Ferrari or Bust for Red Bull Racing (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Maldonado to stay, Grosjean to leave? (Tuesday September 22 2015)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 21 2015)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 21 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 20 2015)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015- Singapore GP - FP3 (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 18 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 18 2015)

Rosberg will keep believing (Friday September 18 2015)

Merhi & Rossi to share Manor Marussia seat (Thursday September 17 2015)

Another new deal for Melbourne (Thursday September 17 2015)

It's over says Renault (Thursday September 17 2015)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Who will win in Singpore? (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Williams may not take Mercedes upgrade (Tuesday September 15 2015)

Big hopes for Ferrari in 2016 (Friday September 11 2015)

Button's wait nearly over? (Thursday September 10 2015)

Webber slams pay drivers (Wednesday September 9 2015)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 8 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday September 6 2015)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 6 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday September 4 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday September 4 2015)

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1062
2. DJ 980
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 544
7. Push The Button 465
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 171
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Russian GP?
Hamilton 78%
Rosberg 4%
Vettel 18%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 0%