Vital F1 | Horner & Boullier question in-season testing
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Horner & Boullier question in-season testing

Red bull team principal Christian Horner and Lotus team principal Eric Boullier have both spoken out against Formula One's recent in-season testing session.

Last week all the Formula One teams with the exception of HRT all travelled to the Italian track of Mugello, the circuit owned by Ferrari, hosted three days of tests, which saw the teams complete hundreds of miles of testing.

Some teams gave test drivers the chance to get some time behind the wheel of the car, others used it to test new developments and upgrade packages for their cars.

It was the first time since 2008 that in-season testing was allowed, but was it a success?

The drivers in the main appeared to enjoy it going by their comments, but what about the men at the top?

Well Red Bull and Lotus team principals Horner and Boullier were not convinced by its merits.

'Any test time you have is useful, but whether it is the right thing for F1 to be testing in-season is probably a bigger topic.

'When you look at the cost of running here, we will have done three times the mileage of a grand prix weekend. In many respects would it have been better to have another grand prix weekend than to go testing?'
Red Bull team principal Christian Horner told Autosport Magazine.

He continued: 'If you look at the focus on cost saving, this test hasn't achieved that for any team. Moving forward we should look at whether or not in-season testing is the right thing to be doing.'

Lotus team principal Eric Boullier appeared to agree with Horner's evaluation of the test.

Like Horner, Boullier could see the benefits of holding the test, especially for the teams struggling to compete with their rivals, but overall, he doesn't see the benefit for Formula One in an era of cutting costs.

'We would have liked to avoid this one, When you are struggling it is different and I'm sure Ferrari is happy to have this test.

'In general we are not in favour of this. We would prefer to have had all the testing in February, like last year, but it depends on your position, I'm sure some teams will vote in favour because they need track time to develop their car faster, but the teams with good cars don't need it.'









Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 8 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1088
2. DJ 1040
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 557
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 182
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Verstappen 41%
Ricciardo 24%
Rosberg 10%
Hamilton 5%
Vettel 2%
Raikkonen 13%
Someone else 5%