Vital F1 | Horner & Boullier question in-season testing
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Horner & Boullier question in-season testing

Red bull team principal Christian Horner and Lotus team principal Eric Boullier have both spoken out against Formula One's recent in-season testing session.

Last week all the Formula One teams with the exception of HRT all travelled to the Italian track of Mugello, the circuit owned by Ferrari, hosted three days of tests, which saw the teams complete hundreds of miles of testing.

Some teams gave test drivers the chance to get some time behind the wheel of the car, others used it to test new developments and upgrade packages for their cars.

It was the first time since 2008 that in-season testing was allowed, but was it a success?

The drivers in the main appeared to enjoy it going by their comments, but what about the men at the top?

Well Red Bull and Lotus team principals Horner and Boullier were not convinced by its merits.

'Any test time you have is useful, but whether it is the right thing for F1 to be testing in-season is probably a bigger topic.

'When you look at the cost of running here, we will have done three times the mileage of a grand prix weekend. In many respects would it have been better to have another grand prix weekend than to go testing?'
Red Bull team principal Christian Horner told Autosport Magazine.

He continued: 'If you look at the focus on cost saving, this test hasn't achieved that for any team. Moving forward we should look at whether or not in-season testing is the right thing to be doing.'

Lotus team principal Eric Boullier appeared to agree with Horner's evaluation of the test.

Like Horner, Boullier could see the benefits of holding the test, especially for the teams struggling to compete with their rivals, but overall, he doesn't see the benefit for Formula One in an era of cutting costs.

'We would have liked to avoid this one, When you are struggling it is different and I'm sure Ferrari is happy to have this test.

'In general we are not in favour of this. We would prefer to have had all the testing in February, like last year, but it depends on your position, I'm sure some teams will vote in favour because they need track time to develop their car faster, but the teams with good cars don't need it.'









Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 8 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 204
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%