Vital F1 | Pirelli's like raw eggs says Schumacher
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli's like raw eggs says Schumacher

It's a fair assumption to make that seven-time Formula One World Champion Michael Schumacher is not a fan of Pirelli's Formula One tyres.



It's not clear if he's just not a fan of this years rubber compounds or if he felt this way last season as well, but the German driver, now racing in a competitive Mercedes, has left it pretty clear where he stands on the tyres in recent weeks.

Speaking after the race in Bahrain Schumacher believed that Pirelli have created tyres that do not allow a driver to race at the limits of the drivers ability or car.

He said: 'The main thing I feel unhappy about is everyone has to drive well below a driver's, and in particular, the car's limits to maintain the tyres,'

'I just question whether the tyres should play such a big importance, or whether they should last a bit longer, and that you can drive at normal racing car speed and not cruise around like we have a safety car.


Since Pirelli returned to Formula One as the sports official tyre supplier, the Italian tyre manufacturer has been working to a brief set by Formula One, to make the racing more exciting, by re-introducing tyre strategy to F1 racing.

Last season there was a lot of talk about the tyre degradation, which obviously suited more drivers better than others. Those with a smooth style of racing such as a Vettel, Perez or Button were able to get the most out of their tyres in comparison to Webber or Hamilton.

But generally it was thought by most in the paddock that Pirelli had contributed to a entertaining Formula One season in 2011.

For 2012 Pirelli have altered the design of their tyres slightly to close the gap between tyre compounds. In Malaysia and Bahrain, teams were split between making two or three tyre stops to race at the cars optimum race pace.

With around a second a lap difference between the tyres pace and then different windows to make the stops, some teams struggled to get the most out of their car, including Mercedes.

Formula One teams are heard talking more and more about the sweet spot at a race weekend, the point where they can make the tyres run to their optimum performance, if they manage it they can go on to glory, ironically like team-mate Nico Rosberg did at the Chinese Grand Prix, if they can't find it, they are likely to be uncompetitive.

Schumacher told CNN ahead of the Spanish Grand Prix: 'I just think that they're playing a much too big effect because they are so peaky and so special that they don't put our cars or ourselves to the limit.

'We drive like on raw eggs and I don't want to stress the tyres at all. Otherwise you just overdo it and you go nowhere.'


However it would seem it's a view that Schumacher holds, but isn't shared by team-mate Rosberg: 'I don't think it is an issue, I think it's good.

'It's a challenge - it's a different challenge, about tyre management. It's very interesting; it makes the racing fantastic also, a lot of overtaking thanks to that as well.'
Rosberg told Sky Sports.

So a clear divide in the Mercedes garage in regards to the tyres, but whose view holds the most weight? A one-time race winner, or a seven-time World drivers champion?








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday May 9 2012

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

doesn't hold back there does he really! He was moaning about them when interviewed on Sky as well.
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1068
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 565
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 190
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Italy?
Hamilton 100%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Verstappen 0%
Someone else 0%